An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

STEM Favorites

Share this list
Rosie Revere, Engineer book
7.0
Add to list
Rosie Revere, Engineer
Written by Andrea Beaty & illustrated by David Roberts
Thoughts from Children's Lit Love
While this whole series is also wonderful, Rosie Revere, Engineer earns a place on my growth mindset list thanks to Rosie’s great-great-aunt Rose. A young girl full of ideas, Rosie always loved inventing new gadgets and gizmos, until one day, one of her inventions was received with laughter. Worried about future failures, Rosie vows that she’ll never create again, until Aunt Rose shows up for a visit and an idea lodges in Rosie’s head. Aunt Rose’s response to Rosie’s failure is worth memorizing and repeating endlessly to both ourselves and our young ones: “You did it! Hooray! It’s the perfect first try! / This great flop is over. It’s time for the next! // Yes!” said her great aunt. “It crashed. That is true. / But first it did just what it needed to do. / Before it crashed, Rosie… before that… it flew! Your brilliant first flop was a raging success! Come on, let’s get busy and on to the next!” May we all have our own great-great-aunt Roses in our corner to remind us of our learning opportunities that come through failures! Ages 5-8.
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

Rosie may seem quiet during the day, but at night she’s a brilliant inventor of gizmos and gadgets who dreams of becoming a great engineer. When her great-great-aunt Rose (Rosie the Riveter) comes for a visit and mentions her one unfinished goal—to fly—Rosie sets to work building a contraption to make her aunt’s dream come true. But when her contraption doesn’t fly but rather hovers for a moment and then crashes, Rosie deems the invention a failure. On the contrary, Aunt Rose insists that Rosie’s contraption was a raging success: you can only truly fail, she explains, if you quit. From the powerhouse author-illustrator team of Iggy Peck, Architect comes Rosie Revere, Engineer, another charming, witty picture book about believing in yourself and pursuing your passion. Ada Twist, Scientist, the companion picture book featuring the next kid from Iggy Peck’s class, is available in September 2016.

Buy book
$18.99
Bookshop
$16.14
Amazon
$12.56
Used $2.50
Prices as of Jan 17
Cece Loves Science book
5.5
Add to list
Cece Loves Science
Written by Kimberly Derting and Shelli R. Johannes & illustrated by Vashti Harrison
Thoughts from Children's Lit Love
The first book in the series, Cece Loves Science, features Cece, a spunky young scientist with her own lab where she works out answers to questions such as “Why?”, “How?”, and “What if?” Tasked by her teacher to pick a scientific question to investigate, Cece and her best friend, Isaac, decide to study in the field of zoology, eventually landing on “Do dogs eat vegetables?” As they work through the scientific process of building their experiment and coming to a conclusion, Harrion’s illustrations show their progress on “Ms. Curie’s Science Project Worksheet,” which introduces readers to terms like observations, variables, and data. Budding scientists will delight in the fact that Cece’s teacher is named Ms. Curie and her dog is Einstein (Derting and Johannes also include Caroline Herschel, George Washington Carver, Thomas Edison, and Jane Goodall in the story if you need more conversation starters about scientists and their accomplishments). Back matter includes a spread of “Cece’s Science Facts,” a glossary of scientific terms and people presented throughout the story. The whole series is wonderfully diverse, featuring interracial families, highlighting women in science, and celebrating friendships between boys and girls. My girls love the stories themselves, and I am delighted by how much science they learn (without even realizing it) and are inspired to do themselves (we’ve got grand plans to do all 4 experiments outlined in Libby Loves Science over the next few weeks). Though Derting is an accomplished author, she did major in biology, and her deep understanding of scientific processes shines in each book.
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Cece loves science! In this STEM-themed picture book, Cece asks one of life’s most pressing questions: Do dogs eat vegetables? Cece and her best friend, Isaac, head to the lab to find out.

This picture book is perfect for fans of Ada Twist, Scientist, and anyone who enjoys asking questions.

Cece’s parents say she was born curious. She asks: Why? How? What if? When her teacher, Ms. Curie, assigns a science project, Cece knows just what to ask—do dogs eat vegetables? She teams up with her best friend, Isaac, and her dog, Einstein, to discover the answer. They investigate, research, collect data, and analyze, using Einstein as their case study. Their final conclusion is surprising, and a lot of fun!

Illustrated by Vashti Harrison, whose Little Leaders: Bold Women in Black History is a New York Times bestseller and an NAACP Image Award winner. Cece Loves Science is just right for fans of Rosie Revere, Engineer; What Do You Do with an Idea?; and anyone who loves learning.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$17.99
Used $17.99
Prices as of Jan 17
Libby Loves Science book
5.3
Add to list
Libby Loves Science
Written by Kimberly Derting and Shelli R. Johannes & illustrated by Joelle Murray
Thoughts from Children's Lit Love
The “Loves Science” series grew earlier this summer when Libby Loves Science was published in June. Libby also loves science, but rather than zoology, her passion lies in chemistry (mostly through cooking!). She loves to mix, pour, measure, and stir to see what she can create. As a member of the science club, Libby and her friends Finn and Rosa volunteer to run the science booth at the school’s fall festival. They set up materials needed for students to run three fun experiments (giant bubbles, fluffy slime, and a rocket launch), and Derting and Johannes were thoughtful enough to include materials and instructions for each as a part of the narrative. Though their booth isn’t as successful as they’d like, Libby learns a few important lessons along the way, such as “mistakes can lead to discoveries,” celebrating others’ victories over your own, and looking for the positive when you’re feeling down about your performance. Even so, the story never reads as didactic and is instead purely entertaining. Back matter once again includes “Libby’s Science Facts,” a glossary of scientists and science/chemistry terms introduced in the book. The whole series is wonderfully diverse, featuring interracial families, highlighting women in science, and celebrating friendships between boys and girls. My girls love the stories themselves, and I am delighted by how much science they learn (without even realizing it) and are inspired to do themselves (we’ve got grand plans to do all 4 experiments outlined in Libby Loves Science over the next few weeks). Though Derting is an accomplished author, she did major in biology, and her deep understanding of scientific processes shines in each book.
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Libby and her friends volunteer to run the science booth at their school fair and have some great ideas, but Libby does not always follow directions precisely. Includes a worksheet for each experiment mentioned.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$14.89
Used $11.04
Prices as of Jan 17
Cece Loves Science: Push and Pull book
5.0
Add to list
Cece Loves Science: Push and Pull
Written by Kimberly Derting and Shelli R. Johannes & illustrated by Vashti Harrison
Thoughts from Children's Lit Love
Derting and Johannes have also authored one early reader for the series, and it looks like more are coming our way in the next year! For those readers just breaking into reading longer books on their own, Cece Loves Science: Push and Pull is written with good accessibility (the text is more spread out and easy to follow than in the picture books, but the scientific information is still strong. Derting and Johannes also include two experiments studying the forces of push and pull, as well as a small glossary of scientific terms at the back. The whole series is wonderfully diverse, featuring interracial families, highlighting women in science, and celebrating friendships between boys and girls. My girls love the stories themselves, and I am delighted by how much science they learn (without even realizing it) and are inspired to do themselves (we’ve got grand plans to do all 4 experiments outlined in Libby Loves Science over the next few weeks). Though Derting is an accomplished author, she did major in biology, and her deep understanding of scientific processes shines in each book.
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Cece loves science! In this STEM-themed Level 3 I Can Read! title, Cece and her friend Isaac learn about the opposite forces of push and pull, and use their new knowledge to create a treat dispenser for Cece's dog, Einstein. Perfect for aspiring scientists, emerging readers, and fans of Andrea Beaty's Ada Twist, Scientist. This I Can Read book is an excellent choice to share during homeschooling, in particular for children ages 5 to 7 who are ready to read independently. It's a fun way to keep your child engaged and as a supplement for activity books for children.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$7.99
Used $3.01
Prices as of Jan 17