An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Jamie's Want To Read List

Share this list
Boats on the Bay book
6.8
Add to list
Boats on the Bay
Written by Jeanne Walker Harvey & illustrated by Grady McFerrin
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

Illustrations and easy to read text portray a variety of vessels, from houseboats to dredgers, through the course of a busy day on the bay.

Buy book
$17.95
Bookshop
$15.26
Amazon
$13.79
Used $2.44
Prices as of Jan 25
Let's Dive: Into the Ocean book
5.8
Add to list
Let's Dive: Into the Ocean
Written by Timothy Knapman & illustrated by Wesley Robins
board book
Recommend Ages: 6-8

Search, find, and swim under the sea with this nonfiction adventure! Dive deep into the ocean in a fun, layered seek-and-find! Visit a colorful coral reef, explore shipwreck, and swim to the deepest parts of the ocean with this nonfiction treasure. Turn the pages and learn all about different ocean habitats as you search for fun surprises on every spread. This interactive undersea adventure will keep you informed and entertained!

Buy book
$15.99
Bookshop
$13.59
Amazon
$15.99
Used $3.55
Prices as of Jan 25
Add to list
A Wish in the Dark
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-11
A boy on the run. A girl determined to find him. A compelling fantasy looks at issues of privilege, protest, and justice.

All light in Chattana is created by one man – the Governor, who appeared after the Great Fire to bring peace and order to the city. For Pong, who was born in Namwon Prison, the magical lights represent freedom, and he dreams of the day he will be able to walk among them. But when Pong escapes from prison, he realizes that the world outside is no fairer than the one behind bars. The wealthy dine and dance under bright orb light, while the poor toil away in darkness. Worst of all, Pong’s prison tattoo marks him as a fugitive who can never be truly free.

Nok, the prison warden’s perfect daughter, is bent on tracking Pong down and restoring her family’s good name. But as Nok hunts Pong through the alleys and canals of Chattana, she uncovers secrets that make her question the truths she has always held dear. Set in a Thai-inspired fantasy world, Christina Soontornvat’s twist on Victor Hugo’s <i>Les Misérables </i>is a dazzling, fast-paced adventure that explores the difference between law and justice – and asks whether one child can shine a light in the dark.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$15.99
Used $13.48
Prices as of Jan 25
Over and Under the Rainforest book
5.5
Add to list
Over and Under the Rainforest
Written by Kate Messner & illustrated by Christopher Silas Neal
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-9
Part of the critically acclaimed Over and Under series!
Buy book
$18.99
Bookshop
$16.14
Amazon
$12.99
Used $7.85
Prices as of Jan 25
Turtle Walk book
5.8
Add to list
Turtle Walk
Written & illustrated by Matt Phelan
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8
Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$15.69
Used $11.08
Prices as of Jan 25
Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe book
5.3
Add to list
Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
Written by & illustrated by Joey Chou
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-4

A gentle retelling of C.S. Lewis's classic bestseller, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, perfect for storytime with the tiniest readers!

Buy book
$9.99
Bookshop
$8.49
Amazon
$9.99
Used $9.99
Prices as of Jan 25
On Account of the Gum book
5.9
Add to list
On Account of the Gum
Written & illustrated by Adam Rex
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7
<em>On Account of the Gum </em>is a book about how the best intentions lead to some of the worst (and funniest) ideas!
Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$14.47
Used $8.50
Prices as of Jan 25
The Boy Whose Head Was Filled with Stars: A Story about Edwin Hubble book
5.8
Add to list
The Boy Whose Head Was Filled with Stars: A Story about Edwin Hubble
Written by Isabelle Marinov & illustrated by Deborah Marcero
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-10

This is the story of Edwin Hubble, a boy fascinated by the stars who surmounted many hurdles to follow his dreams of becoming an astronomer. Using the insights of great mathematicians and endlessly observing the sky, he succeeded in confirming two things that altered human life forever: that there are more galaxies than our own, and that the universe is always expanding. Hubble’s message to us is to find peace in the vastness of the mystery surrounding us, and to be curious. “We do now know why we are born into the world,” he said, “but we can try to find out what sort of world it is.”

Buy book
$17.95
Bookshop
$15.26
Amazon
$17.95
Used $17.95
Prices as of Jan 25
Ada's Violin book
5.7
Add to list
Ada's Violin
Written by Susan Hood & illustrated by Sally Wern Comport
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

A town built on a landfill. A community in need of hope. A girl with a dream. A man with a vision. An ingenious idea.

Buy book
$18.99
Bookshop
$16.14
Amazon
$14.99
Used $7.81
Prices as of Jan 25
Add to list
Color Train
Written & illustrated by David Miles
board book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

All aboard the Color Train! This adorable two-in-one board book featuring 18 world famous artists unfolds into a 56” train bursting with color and art.

Buy book
$12.99
Bookshop
$11.04
Amazon
$12.99
Used $12.99
Prices as of Jan 25
Add to list
Ada's Ideas
Written & illustrated by Fiona Robinson
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

Ada Lovelace (1815–1852) was the daughter of Lord Byron, a poet, and Anna Isabella Milbanke, a mathematician. Her parents separated when she was young, and her mother insisted on a logic-focused education, rejecting Byron’s “mad” love of poetry. But Ada remained fascinated with her father and considered mathematics “poetical science.” Via her friendship with inventor Charles Babbage, she became involved in “programming” his Analytical Engine, a precursor to the computer, thus becoming the world’s first computer programmer. This picture book biography of Ada Lovelace is a compelling portrait of a woman who saw the potential for numbers to make art.

Buy book
$17.95
Bookshop
$15.26
Amazon
$11.79
Used $2.00
Prices as of Jan 25
Add to list
She Made a Monster: How Mary Shelley Created Frankenstein
Written by Lynn Fulton & illustrated by Felicita Sala
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

A 2018 New York Times/New York Public Library Best Illustrated Children’s Books

On the bicentennial of Frankenstein, join Mary Shelley on the night she created the most frightening monster the world has ever seen.

On a stormy night two hundred years ago, a young woman sat in a dark house and dreamed of her life as a writer. She longed to follow the path her own mother, Mary Wollstonecraft, had started down, but young Mary Shelley had yet to be inspired.

As the night wore on, Mary grew more anxious. The next day was the deadline that her friend, the poet Lord Byron, had set for writing the best ghost story. After much talk of science and the secrets of life, Mary had gone to bed exhausted and frustrated that nothing she could think of was scary enough. But as she drifted off to sleep, she dreamed of a man that was not a man. He was a monster.

This fascinating story gives readers insight into the tale behind one of the world’s most celebrated novels and the creation of an indelible figure that is recognizable to readers of all ages.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$14.46
Used $5.06
Prices as of Jan 25
Add to list
The Wright Brothers: Nose-Diving into History
Written by Ben Thompson and Erik Slader & illustrated by Tim Foley
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

A hilarious nonfiction look at two of history’s most epic “failures”: the Wright brothers, whose countless crashes and biggest failures led to ultimate success. Although the Wright Brothers are now celebrated as heroes for their groundbreaking contributions to science and engineering as the first men to successfully manage powered, piloted flight, their eventual success was built on the back of a lot of nosedives. It took the self-taught engineers years of work and countless crashes before they managed to remain airborne for a mere twelve seconds! In this hilarious first installment of the Epic Fails series, Ben Thompson and Erik Slader take readers through the the Wright Brothers’ many failed attempts at flight before achieving their groundbreaking success, laying the foundation for aviation as we know it today.

Buy book
$6.99
Bookshop
$5.94
Amazon
$6.99
Used $6.99
Prices as of Jan 25
Add to list
The Shape of the World: A Portrait of Frank Lloyd Wright
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

A little boy who loves to find shapes in nature grows up to be one of America’s greatest architects in this inspiring biography of Frank Lloyd Wright.

When Frank Lloyd Wright was a baby, his mother dreamed that he would become a great architect. She gave him blocks to play with and he learned that shapes are made up of many other shapes. As he grew up, he loved finding shapes in nature. Wright went on to study architecture and create buildings that were one with the natural world around them. He became known as one of the greatest American architects of all time.

Buy book
$18.99
Bookshop
$16.14
Amazon
$9.99
Used $2.14
Prices as of Jan 25
Add to list
Only Woman in the Photo: Frances Perkins & Her New Deal for America
Written by Kathleen Krull & illustrated by Alexandra Bye
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8
Discover the incredible life of Frances Perkins, the first woman to serve in a presidential cabinet and the mastermind behind Franklin D. Roosevelt's New Deal, in this fascinating picture book biography that's perfect for fans of I Dissent.
Buy book
$18.99
Bookshop
$16.14
Amazon
$12.99
Used $7.59
Prices as of Jan 25


Join Our Kids Book Club
Learn More