An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Easy Readers for New Readers

Curated by LibraryMom
Easy Readers are transitional books that help emergent readers build literacy skills. This genre is packed with wonderful books, but they range greatly in their reading level, so it is often difficult to identify which one is best for your budding reader. Each publisher uses their own assessment to designate which book is a Level 1 Reader vs. Level 2 Reader, etc. so unfortunately there is no real consistently. For this reason, I put together a list of a few books that really are easy to read and will hopefully help new readers build important skills. When choosing an Easy Reader for your child, here are a few things to look for: - Rhyming or repetitive word patterns - Simple sentences - Pictures that give visual clues to help explain what words mean - New words added slowly in the story and repeated often Enjoy the books!
Share this list
Today I Will Fly! book
7.0
Add to list
Today I Will Fly!
Written & illustrated by Mo Willems
Thoughts from LibraryMom
With twenty-five books, which include two that won a Theodor Seuss Geisel medal and five that won honors for the best beginning reader of the year, it is clear that Mo Willems’ Elephant and Piggie series is a huge success. It is almost impossible not to love the buoyant Piggie and the fretful Gerald. With the perfect mix of humor and charm, these books were constantly checked out from my library from students in Prek-K all the way to third grade.
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-8

Gerald is careful. Piggie is not. Piggie cannot help smiling. Gerald can. Gerald worries so that Piggie does not have to.

Gerald and Piggie are best friends. Today, I Will Fly! is the funny introduction to the characters. Piggie is determined to fly. But Gerald the elephant knows that’s impossible–isn’t it?

Buy book
$9.99
Bookshop
$8.49
Amazon
$9.99
Used $9.99
Prices as of May 8
Duck, Duck, Porcupine! book
5.8
Add to list
Duck, Duck, Porcupine!
Written by Salina Yoon
Thoughts from LibraryMom
In this Theodore Seuss Geisel Honor-winning series, readers meet a trio of adorable animals who share amusing exploits in three short stories. Since one of the characters, Little Duck, doesn’t speak, children refine their visual literacy and inference skills observing Little Duck’s actions and expressions. Colorful, bold pictures fill the pages while the stories are told through speech bubbles displaying simple text and accessible plot lines. These sweet books have just the right amount of humor and cuteness to make them a good choice for beginning reader collections.
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-7

Meet Big Duck, Little Duck, and Porcupine, stars of the Geisel Honor-winning early reader series perfect for fans of Elephant & Piggie and Ballet Cat.

Buy book
$5.99
Bookshop
$5.09
Amazon
$5.99
Used $5.99
Prices as of May 8
See Otto book
5.8
Add to list
See Otto
Written & illustrated by David Milgrim
Thoughts from LibraryMom
These delightful books star a robot named Otto. They are full of action and comical illustrations that not only provide clues to the more difficult words in the text, but also make my son laugh out loud. The simple text is mostly made up of site words and new vocabulary is added slowly and repeated often.
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Otto runs, runs, runs in this Pre-level 1 Ready-to-Read by <i>New York Times </i>bestselling author/illustrator, David Milgrim. This is part of the award-winning, star-reviewed The Adventures of Otto series. <p/>Meet Otto, an excitable robot who seeks adventure–and finds it–when he falls off his spaceship and lands on Earth, directly in front of a very cranky rhinoceros. Otto runs, but the rhino runs faster…Run, Otto, run! <p/>This Pre-level 1 Ready-to-Read with bright illustrations and minimal text is perfect for the true emergent reader.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$16.99
Used $16.99
Prices as of May 8
Mr. Monkey Bakes a Cake book
5.8
Add to list
Mr. Monkey Bakes a Cake
Written & illustrated by Jeff Mack
Thoughts from LibraryMom
The Mr. Monkey series repeats words often and slowly introduces new vocabulary all while using visual clues from the comical illustrations. While Mr. Monkey can be pretty clumsy and silly at times, he also demonstrates resilience and always tries his best, attributes that I try to reinforce in my own children. The action-packed illustrations are full of physical comedy and had my children laughing out loud.
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Mr. Monkey bakes a cake. He can’t wait to win a ribbon! But first he has to carry it to the contest. What could possibly go wrong?

Buy book
$8.99
Bookshop
$7.64
Amazon
$8.99
Used $8.99
Prices as of May 8
We Are Growing! book
5.5
Add to list
We Are Growing!
Written & illustrated by Mo Willems and Laurie Keller
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-8

Walt and his friends are growing up fast! Everyone is the something-est. But . . . what about Walt? He is not the tallest, or the curliest, or the silliest. He is not the anything-est! As a BIG surprise inches closer, Walt discovers something special of his own!

Buy book
$9.99
Bookshop
$8.49
Amazon
$9.99
Used $9.99
Prices as of May 8
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
  • Snail and Worm All Day: Three Stories about Two Friends - LibraryMom -

    With its engaging illustrations, this sweet easy reader series is perfect for growing readers or for sharing as a read aloud. Told through three short chapters, readers will delight in the amusing antics of snail and worm as they navigate friendship and life as small creatures in a big world. Each story is clever, quirky, and perfect for kids. The characters’ comical facial expressions are not only hilarious, but they also help guide new readers on the tone to use when reading the dialogue.

  • Hi! Fly Guy - LibraryMom -

    The funny story of a boy named Buzz and his pet fly is a go-to for teachers and librarians for reluctant new readers. There are almost twenty books in this series and my son has enjoyed every one. The stories are usually full of imagination, silly antics, and loyal friendship between a boy and his pet.

  • Flubby Is Not a Good Pet! - LibraryMom -

    Flubby is a lovable, lazy cat who prefers to do things her own way. When her owner attempts to teach her tricks, they both discover that there is more to being a good pet than following directions. The simple sentences are perfectly paired with amusing illustrations that skillfully capture Flubby’s comical expressions.

  • A Pig, a Fox, and a Box - LibraryMom -

    This Theodore Seuss Geisel Honor book stars a mischievous fox whose clever jokes on his friend, Pig, backfire with humorous results. Readers with a quirky sense of humor will enjoy this funny rhyming book

Up, Tall and High book
5.3
Add to list
Up, Tall and High
Written & illustrated by Ethan Long
Thoughts from LibraryMom
It is easy to see why this book won the Geisel Award for the best Early Reader the year it was published. Simple phrases such as “I am tall” are repeated, but the illustrations help move the story along. For example, the first chapter features a small bird stating, “I am tall.” Then a bigger bird comes along and claims, “I am tall.” Using a fun lift-the-flap feature, another bird is revealed to be the tallest, but wearing stilts. There are three short stories in all that follow the same type of clever humor that should make children giggle while they build confidence by repeating mostly simple one syllable words.
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

2013 Recipient of the Theodor Seuss Geisel Award!

Three side-splitting stories in one great picture book!

In three laugh-out-loud situations, an irresistible cast of colorful birds illustrate the concepts of “up,” “tall” and “high.” First, a short peacock proves that he may not be tall, but he definitely isn’t small. Then, a resourceful bird helps his penguin friend find a way to fly. Finally, two birds want to live in the same tree, but what goes up must come down! Each short story features a flap that reveals a surprise twist.

With fun fold-outs, easy-to-read text, and a hilarious cast of characters, these stories beg preschoolers and emerging readers to act them out again and again.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Cat the Cat, Who Is That? book
5.0
Add to list
Cat the Cat, Who Is That?
Written & illustrated by Mo Willems
Thoughts from LibraryMom
Using large, bolded text along with speech bubbles, an exuberant cat introduces the reader to her friends: a mouse, a duck, and a fish. When the cat comes across a strange looking alien-like creature, the narrator asks the question repeated throughout the book, “Cat the Cat, who is THAT?”, which the cat responds, “I have no idea.” After some deliberation, the cat shouts, “It’s a NEW friend!” A great start to a series for children who can’t yet read Elephant and Piggie on their own, but crave a similar type of humor.
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

Cat the Cat sure likes her friends. You will too! Join this spunky feline as she introduces the very youngest readers to her world, where a surprise is waiting in every book!

Buy book
$10.99
Bookshop
$9.34
Amazon
$7.99
Used $1.42
Prices as of May 8
Biscuit book
4.8
Add to list
Biscuit
Written by Alyssa Satin Capucilli & illustrated by Pat Schories
Thoughts from LibraryMom
Biscuit is an adorable yellow puppy getting ready for bedtime in this first installment of a very popular series of books that help children practice their reading skills. The storylines of the Biscuit books are simple, but there are many repeating words presented in different ways throughout the books to keep them interesting to new readers. This series is over twenty years old, but new books are still being published due to its popularity. It is a must have for the kindergarten classrooms in my school.
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

Snuggle up at bedtime or anytime with Biscuit, the very first book about everyone’s favorite little yellow puppy. It’s time for bed, but Biscuit doesn’t want to sleep! Before Biscuit gets into bed he wants one more snack, one more story, one more kiss. Will he ever go to sleep? Woof, woof! This familiar bedtime drama is perfect for shared reading at bedtime and makes for a lovely gift to new parents. Children love the warmth of the Biscuit stories, which have helped introduce generations of boys and girls to the joy of reading.

Buy book
$4.99
Bookshop
$4.24
Amazon
$4.99
Used $4.99
Prices as of May 8