Newbery Medal Books

Winners from 1922 to 2020

What's the Newbery Medal

The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Information from the American Library Association.

2020 Newbery Medal Winners

Add to list
New Kid
Written & illustrated by Jerry Craft
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft.

Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade.

As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds—and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

Add to list
Other Words for Home
Written by Jasmine Warga
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed. Jude never thought she’d be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives. At first, everything in America seems too fast and too loud. The American movies that Jude has always loved haven’t quite prepared her for starting school in the US—and her new label of “Middle Eastern,” an identity she’s never known before. But this life also brings unexpected surprises—there are new friends, a whole new family, and a school musical that Jude might just try out for. Maybe America, too, is a place where Jude can be seen as she really is. This lyrical, life-affirming story is about losing and finding home and, most importantly, finding yourself.

Add to list
Genesis Begins Again
Written & illustrated by Alicia D. Williams
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-13

This deeply sensitive and powerful debut novel tells the story of a thirteen-year-old who must overcome internalized racism and a verbally abusive family to finally learn to love herself.

There are ninety-six things Genesis hates about herself. She knows the exact number because she keeps a list. Like #95: Because her skin is so dark, people call her charcoal and eggplant—even her own family. And #61: Because her family is always being put out of their house, belongings laid out on the sidewalk for the world to see. When your dad is a gambling addict and loses the rent money every month, eviction is a regular occurrence.

What’s not so regular is that this time they all don’t have a place to crash, so Genesis and her mom have to stay with her grandma. It’s not that Genesis doesn’t like her grandma, but she and Mom always fight—Grandma haranguing Mom to leave Dad, that she should have gone back to school, that if she’d married a lighter skinned man none of this would be happening, and on and on and on. But things aren’t all bad. Genesis actually likes her new school; she’s made a couple friends, her choir teacher says she has real talent, and she even encourages Genesis to join the talent show.

But how can Genesis believe anything her teacher says when her dad tells her the exact opposite? How can she stand up in front of all those people with her dark, dark skin knowing even her own family thinks lesser of her because of it? Why, why, why won’t the lemon or yogurt or fancy creams lighten her skin like they’re supposed to? And when Genesis reaches #100 on the list of things she hates about herself, will she continue on, or can she find the strength to begin again?

Add to list
Scary Stories for Young Foxes
Written by Christian McKay Heidicker & illustrated by Junyi Wu
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

Christian McKay Heidicker draws inspiration from Bram Stoker, H. P. Lovecraft and Edgar Allen Poe for his debut middle-grade novel, a thrilling portrait of survival and an unforgettable tale of friendship. The haunted season has arrived in the Antler Wood. No fox kit is safe. When Mia and Uly are separated from their litters, they discover a dangerous world full of monsters. In order to find a den to call home, they must venture through field and forest, facing unspeakable things that dwell in the darkness: a zombie who hungers for their flesh, a witch who tries to steal their skins, a ghost who hunts them through the snow . . . and other things too scary to mention. Featuring eight interconnected stories and sixteen hauntingly beautiful illustrations, Scary Stories for Young Foxes contains the kinds of adventures and thrills you love to listen to beside a campfire in the dark of night. Fans of Neil Gaiman, Jonathan Auxier, and R. L. Stine have found their next favorite book.

Add to list
The Undefeated
Written by Kwame Alexander & illustrated by Kadir Nelson
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

The Newbery Award-winning author of THE CROSSOVER pens an ode to black American triumph and tribulation, with art from a two-time Caldecott Honoree.

Originally performed for ESPN’s The Undefeated, this poem is a love letter to black life in the United States. It highlights the unspeakable trauma of slavery, the faith and fire of the civil rights movement, and the grit, passion, and perseverance of some of the world’s greatest heroes. The text is also peppered with references to the words of Martin Luther King, Jr., Langston Hughes, Gwendolyn Brooks, and others, offering deeper insights into the accomplishments of the past, while bringing stark attention to the endurance and spirit of those surviving and thriving in the present. Robust back matter at the end provides valuable historical context and additional detail for those wishing to learn more.

    All Newbery Medal Winners

    Multiple Award Winners

    The Inquisitor's Tale book
    Adam Gidwitz, Hatem Aly
    Chapter book
    Add to list
    The Graveyard Book book
    Neil Gaiman, Dave McKean
    Chapter book
    7.0
    Add to list
    Criss Cross book
    Lynne Rae Perkins
    Chapter book
    Add to list
    The Tale of Despereaux book
    Kate DiCamillo, Timothy Basil Ering
    Chapter book
    5.9
    Add to list
    The View from Saturday book
    E.L. Konigsburg
    Chapter book
    5.8
    Add to list
    Joyful Noise book
    Paul Fleischman, Eric Beddows
    Chapter book
    Add to list
    The Hero and the Crown book
    Robin McKinley
    Chapter book
    Add to list
    Dear Mr. Henshaw book
    Beverly Cleary, Paul O. Zelinsky
    Chapter book
    Add to list
    A Visit to William Blake's Inn book
    Nancy Willard, Alice Provensen, Martin Provensen
    Picture book
    4.8
    Add to list
    The Westing Game book
    Ellen Raskin
    Chapter book
    Add to list
    Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of Nimh book
    Robert C. O'Brien
    Chapter book
    4.5
    Add to list
    The High King book
    Lloyd Alexander
    Chapter book
    Add to list
    Shadow of a Bull book
    Maia Wojciechowska
    Chapter book
    Add to list
    Onion John book
    Joseph Krumgold, Symeon Shimin
    Chapter book
    Add to list
    The Wheel on the School book
    Meindert DeJong, Maurice Sendak
    Chapter book
    7.0
    Add to list
    Secret of the Andes book
    Ann Nolan Clark
    Chapter book
    Add to list
    Ginger Pye book
    Eleanor Estes, Edward Ardizzone
    Chapter book
    Add to list
    Amos Fortune, Free Man book
    Elizabeth Yates
    Chapter book
    Add to list
    King of the Wind book
    Marguerite Henry, Wesley Dennis
    Chapter book
    Add to list
    Miss Hickory book
    Carolyn Sherwin Bailey
    Chapter book
    Add to list
    Rabbit Hill book
    Robert Lawson
    Chapter book
    Add to list
    Adam of the Road  book
    Elizabeth Janet Gray
    Chapter book
    Add to list
    Daniel Boone book
    James Daugherty
    Chapter book
    Add to list
    Mr. Popper's Penguins book
    Richard Atwater, Florence Atwater
    Chapter book
    Add to list
    The White Stag book
    Kate Seredy
    Chapter book
    Add to list
    Dobry book
    Monica Shannon
    Chapter book
    Add to list
    Waterless Mountain book
    Laura Adams Armer, Sidney Armer
    Chapter book
    Add to list
    Hitty: Her First Hundred Years book
    Rachel Field, Dorothy P Lathrop
    Chapter book
    Add to list
    The Trumpeter of Krakow book
    Eric P Kelly, Janina Domanska
    Chapter book
    Add to list
    Gay Neck: The Story of a Pigeon book
    Dhan Gopal Mukerji, Boris Artzybasheff
    Chapter book
    Add to list
    Smoky the Cowhorse book
    Will James
    Chapter book
    Add to list
    Shen Of The Sea: Chinese Stories for Children book
    Arthur Bowie Chrisman
    Chapter book
    Add to list
    Tales from Silver Lands book
    Charles J Finger, Paul Honore
    Chapter book
    Add to list
    The Dark Frigate book
    Charles Boardman Hawes, Warren Chappell
    Chapter book
    Add to list
    The Story of Mankind book
     
    Chapter book
    Add to list

    Suggested Links