Discover

Company

february 2019 Best Picture Books

My Perfect Pet book
#37
My Perfect Pet
Written and illustrated by Adam Hargreaves
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

The irresistible new series by the author-illustrator of Mr. Men Little Miss. Molly wants a pet. A big pet. But with Molly, mischief is never far away! In this first book of a new series, Molly decides that an elephant would be a perfect pet. When she brings one home, she quickly learns that "perfect" isn't quite the right word. Elephants are big. Tigers are fierce. Giraffes are tall. Will Molly ever find the perfect pet? A laugh-out-loud story for sharing, with bold, fun illustrations, this book celebrates a larger-than-life little girl learning a valuable lesson in appreciating what you've already got (unless he's your younger brother!).

What If ... ? Then We ... book
#38
What If ... ? Then We ...
Written by Rebecca Kai Dotlich and illustrated by Fred Koehler
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-9

Two polar bear friends have a thrilling adventure as they imagine solutions to a variety of possible situations; their story will show readers how to create their own tales in response to the question "What if...?" in this ingenious picture book. "What if . . . we got lost far, far, far away, and couldn't find our way home? Then we would become the bravest explorers in the world." So begin the adventures of two intrepid polar bears. Traveling on a ship imagined from an iceberg, the bears encounter magnificent sights and scary situations. When a city made of crayons melts, the bears use pencils to create a beautiful gray world. When all the words in the universe disappear, the bears invent their own language. When something really big and really scary happens, they whistle and hold hands until it's not as big or scary anymore. And when they find their way back home, they're ready to imagine a thousand more possibilities. This companion title to the Boston Globe-Horn Book Honor Book One Day, The End. is ultimately a book about imagination, friendship, and finding possibilities in the smallest moments.

Pancakes to Parathas book
#39
Pancakes to Parathas
Written by Alice B. McGinty and illustrated by Tomoko Suzuki
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Breakfast varies from country to country, but it's how all children begin their day. Explore the meals of twelve countries in this playful approach to the world! From Australia to India to the USA, come travel around the world at dawn. Children everywhere are waking up to breakfast. In Japan, students eat soured soybeans called natto. In Brazil, even kids drink coffee--with lots of milk! With rhythm and rhymes and bold, graphic art, Pancakes to Parathas invites young readers to explore the world through the most important meal of the day.

Ten Rules of the Birthday Wish book
#40
Ten Rules of the Birthday Wish
Written by Beth Ferry and illustrated by Tom Lichtenheld
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

A joyful picture book that celebrates every kid's favorite day of the year, full of adorable art from the illustrator of Goodnight Goodnight Construction Site and I Wish You More. The most important rule is #1: It must be your birthday. After that's been established, a crew of hilarious animals help picture book pros Tom Lichtenheld and Beth Ferry take readers through a joyous romp that covers the most important elements of every year's most essential holiday, including singing; closing your eyes and making a wish; blowing out candles on a cake, then settling into bed and dreaming of your wish coming true.

The Amazing Idea of You book
#41
The Amazing Idea of You
Written by Charlotte Sullivan Wild and illustrated by Mary Lundquist
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

Fans of Emily Winfield Martin will delight in this loving, gorgeously illustrated story that celebrates new life. Hidden inside every living thing is an idea. That idea can sprout, sing, wriggle, take wing . . . into something amazing! Exploring beginnings both small and great, The Amazing Idea of You bonds the human and natural worlds in a lyrical burst of celebration. So dig deep, fly high, look around, and find the extraordinary inside everything . . . including YOU!

  1. Happy Birthday from the Very Hungry Caterpillar - This gorgeous little gift book from The Very Hungry Caterpillar is the perfect way to say "Happy Birthday!" Join The Very Hungry Caterpillar for a celebration of everyone's special day. This beautiful book features Eric Carle's bright, colorful artwork of birthday surprises--from presents to balloons, and of course, cake--with The Very Hungry Caterpillar making an appearance alongside each one. This book is the perfect birthday gift for readers young and old.

  2. Croc & Turtle - For fans of Penguin and Pinecone, this adorable new duo will warm your heart and tickle your funny bone. Meet Croc! He is the strongest and fastest crocodile around. Meet Turtle! He agrees that Croc is the strongest and fastest. But what happens when Elephant lifts that heavy rock with ease? And when Cheetah speeds on by? Croc and Turtle might not be the strongest or the fastest, but they're definitely the best at something even more important . . . Introducing an utterly charming new duo, this humorous and heartwarming adventure will delight readers of all ages.

  3. The New Neighbors - New neighbors have moved into the ground floor of a bustling apartment building. The bunnies upstairs are excited, but what will the other residents think? Sarah McIntyre's funny, light-hearted tale reveals there's no room for prejudice. The bunnies upstairs are thrilled to find out that rats have moved into the first-floor apartment. But when other neighbors discover the news, excitement soon turns to jitters, panic, and worse! As the residents descend the stairs to investigate, the rats prepare a yummy dessert. Will all of the animals make the rats leave, or can fear be conquered with delicious, homemade cake?

  4. The Home Builders - Various woodland creatures make their homes and prepare for their young.

Goldilocks book
#46
Goldilocks
Written by Jeanne Willis and illustrated by Tony Ross
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-8

Everyone loves Goldilocks' hilarious online videos, but in her quest to get more likes, more laughs and more hits, she tries something a little more daring: stealing porridge #pipinghot, breaking chairs #fun, and using someone else's bed #sleep. What will Daddy Bear do when he sees that online? A hilarious cautionary tale for a new generation of internet-users from the prize-winning partnership of Jeanne Willis and Tony Ross.

Which One Doesn't Belong? book
#47
Which One Doesn't Belong?
Written and illustrated by Christopher Danielson
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

This is not your typical shapes book. This introducti on to geometry and mathemati cal thinking will excite young readers and make math a part of their everyday lives. Celebrated math educator Christopher Danielson encourages inquiry and criti cal thinking and sparks memorable mathematical conversati ons by asking which shape in each group does not belong. There’s no one right answer—the important thing is to have a reason why. Kids might describe the shapes as squished, smooshed, dented, or even goofy. But when they justi fy their thinking, they’re talking math!

Bearnard's Book book
#48
Bearnard's Book
Written by Deborah Underwood and illustrated by Misa Saburi
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Bearnard's Book by writer Deborah Underwood and illustrator Misa Saburi is a charming picture book about a bear who discovers that to shine in his own story, he just needs to be himself.

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did we miss one of your favorites? Let us know in the comments below!