february 2019 Best Picture Books

Updated Apr. 25, 2019
Princess Angelica, Part-Time Lion Trainer book
#37
Princess Angelica, Part-Time Lion Trainer
Written by Monique Polak and illustrated by Jane Heinrichs
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-8

Our favorite pretend princess, Angelica, aka Jelly, is back! A case of mistaken identity, a wild imagination and a love of storytelling leads Jelly to tell her friend Joon and the new kid she’s just met, Leo, that she’s a part-time lion trainer at the local animal rescue center. Her inventiveness has them completely convinced, but things get a bit more complicated when the resident lioness, Mwezi, escapes from her enclosure and the kids look to Jelly’s “expertise” to save the day.

Hedy Lamarr's Double Life book
#38
Hedy Lamarr's Double Life
Written by Laurie Wallmark and illustrated by Katy Wu
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-10

To her adoring public, Hedy Lamarr was a glamorous movie star. But in private, she was something more: a brilliant inventor. Now Laurie Wallmark and Katy Wu, who collaborated on Sterling's critically acclaimed picture-book biography Grace Hopper: Queen of Computer Code, tell the inspiring story of how, during World War Two, Lamarr developed a groundbreaking communications system that still remains essential to the security of today's technology.

On the Playground book
#39
On the Playground
Written by Jillian Roberts and illustrated by Jane Heinrichs
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-8

On the Playground: Our First Talk About Prejudice focuses on introducing children to the complex topic of prejudice. Crafted around a narrative between a gradeschool-aged child and an adult, this inquiry-focused book will help children shape their understanding of diversity so they are better prepared to understand, and question, prejudice witnessed around them in their day-to-day lives and in the media. Dr. Jillian Roberts discusses types of discrimination children notice, what prejudice means, why it’s not okay, how to stand up against it and how kids can spread a message of inclusion and acceptance in the world around them.

The Road Not Taken book
#40
The Road Not Taken
Written by Robert Frost and illustrated by Vivian Mineker
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

For all of life's adventures comes this beautifully illustrated companion inspired by Robert Frost's perennial poem "The Road Not Taken." Heartwarming illustrations of a young boy journeying through a yellow wood accompany the original text of the poem. When a fork in the road arises for the boy, so too does the first of life's many choices. And as the poem progresses, so does the boy's life: college, career, marriage, family, loss, and, by journey's end, the sweet satisfaction of a life fully lived. The first children's book ever made of Frost's famous poem, this moving presentation makes an inspiring gift for graduation, marriage, career moves, and all of life's exciting roads.

Camp Tiger book
#41
Camp Tiger
Written by Susan Choi and illustrated by John Rocco
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-6

A talking tiger approaches a family during their annual end-of-summer camping trip and is befriended by the youngest, a boy who does not feel ready for first grade.

The Amazing Idea of You book
#42
The Amazing Idea of You
Written by Charlotte Sullivan Wild and illustrated by Mary Lundquist
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

Fans of Emily Winfield Martin will delight in this loving, gorgeously illustrated story that celebrates new life. Hidden inside every living thing is an idea. That idea can sprout, sing, wriggle, take wing . . . into something amazing! Exploring beginnings both small and great, The Amazing Idea of You bonds the human and natural worlds in a lyrical burst of celebration. So dig deep, fly high, look around, and find the extraordinary inside everything . . . including YOU!

Croc & Turtle book
#43
Croc & Turtle
Written and illustrated by Mike Wohnoutka
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

For fans of Penguin and Pinecone, this adorable new duo will warm your heart and tickle your funny bone. Meet Croc! He is the strongest and fastest crocodile around. Meet Turtle! He agrees that Croc is the strongest and fastest. But what happens when Elephant lifts that heavy rock with ease? And when Cheetah speeds on by? Croc and Turtle might not be the strongest or the fastest, but they're definitely the best at something even more important . . . Introducing an utterly charming new duo, this humorous and heartwarming adventure will delight readers of all ages.

Click, Clack, Peep! book
#44
Click, Clack, Peep!
Written by Doreen Cronin and illustrated by Betsy Lewin
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-7

New York Times bestselling duo Doreen Cronin and Betsy Lewin’s beloved story about a noisy duckling is now available as a Level 2 Ready-to-Read! There’s more trouble on the farm, but Duck has nothing to do with it, for once. This time the trouble is a four-ounce puff of fluff who just won’t go to sleep, and whose play-with-me “peeps” are keeping the whole barnyard awake with him. Peep! Peep! Peep! How do you get a baby duck to hit the hay? Poor Farmer Brown will find out—and Duck might just find himself in trouble after all…

Everybunny Dream! book
#45
Everybunny Dream!
Written and illustrated by Ellie Sandall
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

It’s time for bed! Bunnies and foxes cozy up after a busy day in this fun, colorful picture book that is perfect for bedtime from the author of Everybunny Count! and Everybunny Dance! Cuddle up And snuggle tight, And close your eyes, And say goodnight. It’s time for the bunnies to brush their teeth, clean their paws, and comb their tail. And before they fall asleep, they’ll have time to curl up for one last hug, and one last story shared with some unexpected friends. Everybunny is welcome to join in this bright and cheery bedtime tale before dozing off into sweet dreams.

Spencer And Vincent, The Jellyfish Brothers book
#46
Spencer And Vincent, The Jellyfish Brothers
Written by Tony Johnston and illustrated by Emily Dove
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

When two jellyfish brothers are separated at sea it takes all of the ocean’s creatures to help them reunite in this heartwarming tale of brotherly love. Spencer and Vincent are jellyfish brothers who live together in the sea, their wet and shining home. They invented a little song which went like this: My brother, my brother, he’s sweet, not smelly. I love him from down in my jelly belly. One day a wave of superior magnitude separates them! The brothers know they have to do whatever it takes to find each other again. And they’ll need some help along the way… Sometimes friends can really make a the difference. Spencer and Vincent is a story of adventures and the bond of family.

Fear The Bunny book
#47
Fear The Bunny
Written by Richard T. Morris and illustrated by Priscilla Burris
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Bunnies—not tigers—rule the forest in this adorable take on William Blake’s classic poem. Bunnies, bunnies, burning bright In the forests of the night— Wait, bunnies?! Yes, bunnies. Tigers may be the most feared animal in some forests, but in this one, they fear the bunny. One hapless tiger finds this idea preposterous—what are they going to do? Nibble on his tail? Bop him on the head? Cute him to death? Fear the bunny—HA! Make no mistake, though: Richard Morris’ reimagining of William Blake’s famous poem turns the tables, and teaches one testy tiger a little rabbit-respect!

From Tree To Sea book
#48
From Tree To Sea
Written by Shelley Moore Thomas and illustrated by Christopher Silas Neal
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

From a child’s point of view, this lyrical picture book looks at the relationship of nature to the human world and the place we call home. From the edge of the sea to a high mountain top, everything has its place in the world and all living things are connected. The world around us has a lot to tell us if we take the time to look and listen. This tender and comforting picture book celebrates the wisdom in many of the things great and small that make up our wonderful world.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected] with your book and list suggestion.