Discover

Company

january 2019 Best Children's Books

Robotics for Babies book
#37
Robotics for Babies
Written and illustrated by Chris Ferrie
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Help your future genius become the smartest baby in the room by introducing them to robotics with the next installment of the Baby University board book series! Set the children in your life on a lifelong path to learning with the next installment of the Baby University board book series. Full of scientific and mathematical information from an expert, this is the perfect book to teach complex concepts in a simple, engaging way. Robotics for Babies is a colorful, simple introduction to the technology behind robots. It's never too early to become a scientist!

Babysitting Nightmares: The Phantom Hour book
#38
Babysitting Nightmares: The Phantom Hour
Written by Kat Shepherd
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

The supernatural never sleeps in the second book of this spooky middle grade series! Clio has already had one brush with the paranormal, and she’s dead set on making it her last. But her new babysitting job is in a haunted house! At first, Clio’s excited to work at the historical Victorian mansion in town—until doors start closing behind her, objects move on their own, and messages appear from beyond the grave. Clio enlists the help of her three best friends, Tanya, Maggie, and Rebecca, to uncover long-buried secrets from the past. Can Clio face her fear and solve the mystery of the haunted mansion?

The Wishbreaker book
#39
The Wishbreaker
Written by Tyler Whitesides
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Ace and Ridge are back to save their friend—and the world—in this sequel to The Wishmakers. Being a Wishmaker may be more trouble than it’s worth. Sure, you get a genie who can grant an unlimited number of wishes, but for each one you make you have to accept an awful consequence in return. Not to mention that you’re also given an impossible quest and only seven days to fulfill it! Despite all that, Ace and his genie, Ridge, managed to complete their last mission—but they couldn’t save their friend Tina from being abducted by a rogue genie who’s bent on using his limitless power to rule the world. To rescue her, Ace must reunite with Ridge to become a Wishmaker once more, and they’ll need to team up with the unlikeliest of new allies. It’s not every day you get a second chance to save the world, so Ace is determined to learn from his past mistakes and wish for the best, literally. Perfect for fans of Max Brailler, Adam Gidwitz, and Dan Gutman, this middle grade series is a wonderful mix of unpredictable magic, zany humor, and daring adventure. “An ingenious premise” raved Kirkus in a starred review!

Funny Kid #3: Prank Wars book
#40
Funny Kid #3: Prank Wars
Written by Matt Stanton
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Big Nate meets Timmy Failure in Funny Kid #3: Prank War, the third book in the uproarious highly illustrated middle grade series by Matt Stanton, Australia’s bestselling children’s book author. Max is the Funny Kid and, given the choice, he’d always rather laugh than fight. But when a prank war breaks out just before the big overnight class trip, Max has no choice but to pull off the funniest prank ever! Gunker dragons, duck smugglings, stolen suitcases, lethal super-beans, and the greatest prank ever played are just some of the hilarious antics in store. Paired with hilarious black-and-white illustrations from the author, Max’s mishaps will leave even the most reluctant reader laughing out loud. Matt Stanton again brings his bestselling children’s book chops to the hilarious Funny Kid series, perfect for early middle grade readers looking for side-splitting laughs and lovable, relatable characters!

The Terrible Two's Last Laugh book
#41
The Terrible Two's Last Laugh
Written by Mac Barnett, Jory John and illustrated by Kevin Cornell
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Everyone's favorite pranksters are back in the Terrible Two's series finale. It's Miles and Niles's last year at Yawnee Valley Science and Letters Academy, and Miles gets some worrisome news from his mom: After he graduates, they're moving back home, to their old apartment, in a little town by the sea. She thinks this is good news, but Miles knows it is Terrible. As the Terrible Two face the end of their time in Yawnee Valley, they're determined to pull a prank that changes the town forever.

  1. Watch That Witch! #5 (Princess Pulverizer) - Princess Pulverizer may not be a knight yet, but she won't let that stop her from saving the day! When Princess Pulverizer comes across two identical witches--one good and one bad--it's the evil one she finds most enchanting. That's because the impatient princess is ready to end her Quest of Kindness and finally become a knight, which is just what the bad witch offers. Can Princess Pulverizer's friends break the spell that seems to have taken hold of her?

  2. Sleepover Scientist - Jada Jones is back for the third book of this popular, celebrated series perfect for STEM fans! Jada is hosting her first sleepover, and she has lots of cool scientific activities planned: kitchen chemistry, creating invisible ink, and even making slime! But when her friends get tired of the lessons and just want to hang out, can Jada figure out the formula for fun and save the sleepover? Praise for Jada Jones: Rock Star "Fast-paced, with supersimple vocabulary and a smattering of earth science to spark interest in young rock collectors everywhere."--Kirkus Reviews "Readers who love "Ivy and Bean" or "Katie Woo" will want to meet Jada Jones."--School Library Journal

  3. Sleepover Scientist #3 - Jada Jones is back for the third book of this popular, celebrated series perfect for STEM fans! Jada is hosting her first sleepover, and she has lots of cool scientific activities planned: kitchen chemistry, creating invisible ink, and even making slime! But when her friends get tired of the lessons and just want to hang out, can Jada figure out the formula for fun and save the sleepover?

  4. Under My Hijab - Grandma's hijab clasps under her chin. Auntie pins hers up with a whimsical brooch. Jenna puts a sun hat over hers when she hikes. Iman wears a sports hijab for tae kwon do. As a young girl observes the women in her life and how each covers her hair a different way, she dreams of the possibilities in her own future and how she might express her personality through her hijab. With cheerful rhyming text by acclaimed author Hena Khan, and charming illustrations from talented newcomer Aaliya Jaleel, Under My Hijab provides a friendly introduction to hijabs for all readers, and celebrates the many Muslim women and girls who choose to wear them.

Flight of the Bluebird (the Unintentional Adventures of the Bland Sisters Book 3) book
#46
Flight of the Bluebird (the Unintentional Adventures of the Bland Sisters Book 3)
Written by Kara LaReau and illustrated by Jen Hill
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Sisters Jaundice and Kale Bland are flown to Egypt, where they are reunited with their parents, whose real identities they learn, and seek to uncover the mysteries of a magical scarab.

Lost and Found Perl book
#47
Lost and Found Perl
Written by Erica S Perl and illustrated by Chris Chatterton
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-8

Unlikely best friends Arnold and Louise--a big bear and a chatty chipmunk--are back in this easy-to-read chapter book series! When Louise borrows Arnold's newly found treasure, he's sure he'll never see it again. After all, she loses just about everything he lends her. Louise swears she hasn't lost it, but to get it back, she sends Arnold on a treasure hunt of her own--or is it a wild goose chase?

Death by Airship book
#48
Death by Airship
Written and illustrated by Arthur Slade
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

Prince Conn will never be king. And that’s just fine with him. He’s ninth in line for the pirate throne and is quite happy to sail the skies in his airship with his crew of cheery misfits, plundering as they go. But one by one his siblings are being murdered, in tragic fires, violent cannon attacks or mysterious poisonings. Soon all fingers are pointing toward Conn as the mastermind. To prove his innocence, Conn must make his way to Skull Island, navigating his airship through a gauntlet of villains, explosions and betrayals. Can he reach his father’s kingdom before it’s too late? Or will he suffer the same fate as the rest of his family?

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did we miss one of your favorites? Let us know in the comments below!