january 2019 Best Board Books

Updated Jan. 18, 2019
The Animals of Chinese New Year book
#1
The Animals of Chinese New Year
Written by Jen Sookfong Lee
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Drawing on the myth of the Chinese zodiac, The Animals of Chinese New Year follows twelve animals as they speed across a river, competing to represent the imminent new year in a race held by the Jade Emperor,the most powerful Chinese god. Each animal competes in its own unique way.The ox works hard, the tiger is brave, the dog smiles kindly, but who will win? Bright photographs of babies demonstrating the same traits as the animals in the text, complemented by traditional Chinese graphic elements, accompany Sookfong Lee’s lively text. Orca Book Publishers is pleased to offer this book as a dual-language (English/Simplified Chinese) edition.

Robotics for Babies book
#2
Robotics for Babies
Written and illustrated by Chris Ferrie
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Help your future genius become the smartest baby in the room by introducing them to robotics with the next installment of the Baby University board book series! Set the children in your life on a lifelong path to learning with the next installment of the Baby University board book series. Full of scientific and mathematical information from an expert, this is the perfect book to teach complex concepts in a simple, engaging way. Robotics for Babies is a colorful, simple introduction to the technology behind robots. It's never too early to become a scientist!

ABCs of Engineering book
#3
ABCs of Engineering
Written and illustrated by Chris Ferrie
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

A new book in the bestselling series with simple explanations of complex ideas for your future genius! It only takes a small spark to ignite a child's mind! The ABCs of Engineering introduces babies (and grown-ups!) to a new engineering concept for every letter of the alphabet - including entries for various aspects of engineering like mechanical, architectural, and beyond. With a tongue-in-cheek approach that adults will love, this installment of the Baby University board book series is the perfect way to introduce basic concepts to even the youngest mathematicians.

The Shy Little Kitten's New Friends book
#4
The Shy Little Kitten's New Friends
Written by Golden Books and illustrated by Sue DiCicco, Golden Books
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

The shy little kitten, a character cherished by generations, is spending the day making brand-new friends in this endearing board book featuring tabs for the tiniest of hands. Join Shy as she meets a puppy, a squirrel, a frog, and more in this colorful, fun-filled friendship adventure.

Good Night Taj Mahal book
#5
Good Night Taj Mahal
Written and illustrated by Nitya Mohan Khemka, Kavita Singh Kale
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

This delightful and educational board book tours little explorers around the magical city of Agra. Children will discover all of their favorite landmarks and attractions, including Taj Mahal, Mehtab Bagh Gardens, Agra Fort, Jama Masjid, Kinari bazaar, Tomb of Itimad-ud-Daulah, Rambagh Gardens, Sadar Bazaar, Sikandra, Fatehpur Sikri and more. This book is part of the bestselling Good Night Our World series, which includes hundreds of titles exploring iconic locations and exciting, child-friendly themes. Many of India's most beloved regions are artfully celebrated in these board books designed to soothe children before bedtime while instilling an early appreciation for India's natural and cultural wonders. Each book stars a multicultural group of people visiting the featured area's attractions as rhythmic language guides children through the passage of both a single day and the four seasons while saluting the iconic aspects of each place.

Vehicles book
#6
Vehicles
Written and illustrated by Chieri Degregorio, Steve Degregorio
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Hop into the driver's seat with your little driver! The Kids' Picture Show books, inspired by the hugely popular YouTube channel, introduce young readers to first words in cool 8-bit style. This sturdy board book, packed with images of vehicles, is the perfect introduction to things that zoom, fly, and rumble for babies and toddlers. The 8-bit illustration style makes the book even more fun and accessible for young children, and it will also appeal to parents, grandparents, and anyone who has played classic video arcade games.

Catch That Egg! book
#7
Catch That Egg!
Written by Lucy Rowland and illustrated by Anna Chernyshova
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Hop along and enjoy the bouncy rhymes of this lovely Easter story, perfect for fans of Duck & Goose and Little Blue Truck! Floppit's farmyard friends have had enough of his enormous bunny feet causing chaos! But his big clumsy feet might just save the day when Chicken's egg rolls away . . . Join bunny Floppit and all the favorite barnyard animals for an adventure told in an upbeat rhyme that's just as bouncy as Floppit's giant feet. With soft, adorable illustrations and a reassuring story about acceptance and fitting in, this book is perfect for Easter baskets and spring celebrations.

Hello, Cat! book
#8
Hello, Cat!
Written by Susie Linn and illustrated by Zhanna Ovocheva
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

What can Cat spy with her little eye? Peek-a-boo! Turn the pages to discover the cute animal characters that are hiding in every window. Delicate touch-and-feel textures cut into the board pages add to the sensory story time fun.

Hello, Dog! book
#9
Hello, Dog!
Written by Susie Linn and illustrated by Zhanna Ovocheva
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Dog wants to play. Peek-a-boo! Turn the pages to discover the cute animal characters who want to play too and are hiding in every window. Delicate touch-and-feel textures cut into the board pages add to the sensory story time fun.

Puppy Talk book
#10
Puppy Talk
Written and illustrated by J C Coates
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Ten playful puppies teach little ones about opposites in this cutely photographed concept book. Max the Boston terrier and his friends show the difference between near and far, awake and asleep, dry and wet, and more. Full color.

Count with Me book
#11
Count with Me
Written and illustrated by Ana Palmero Cáceres
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Young readers learn their first numbers one to ten. Beautiful designs inspired by the basket weaving of the Ye’kuana people of southern Venezuela who live along the Orinoco River illustrate a variety of animals such as jaguar, snake, armadillo, monkey, scorpion, and bat.

Baby Shoes (padded board book) book
#12
Baby Shoes (padded board book)
Written by Dashka Slater and illustrated by Hiroe Nakata
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-5

Rediscover acclaimed author Dashka Slater's joyful picture book about a baby on the go--now in a padded book form! Baby loves his brand-new white shoes, taking them all over the neighborhood while his frantic mom chases behind him. But he just can't resist stomping through puddles, squishing fallen plums, and dancing in fresh paint. It isn't long before those white, high-jumping, fast-running shoes are speckled and spotted with every color of the rainbow. Dashka Slater's delightful, rhythmic text and Hiroe Nakata's sweet, jaunty illustrations are the perfect match for this playful tale of fun, sun, and fabulous shoes!

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected] with your book and list suggestion.