january 2019 Best Chapter Books

Updated Jun. 17, 2019
Ada Twist and the Perilous Pants book
#1
Ada Twist and the Perilous Pants
Written by Andrea Beaty and illustrated by David Roberts
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

In Ada Twist and the Perilous Pants, Ada must rely on her curious mind, her brave spirit, and her best pals Rosie Revere and Iggy Peck to solve a mystery in her own backyard. Ada Twist is full of questions. A scientist to her very core, Ada asks why again and again. One question always leads to another until she’s off on a journey of discovery! When Rosie Revere’s Uncle Ned gets a little carried away wearing his famous helium pants, it’s up to Ada and friends to chase him down. As Uncle Ned floats farther and farther away, Ada starts asking lots of questions: How high can a balloon float? Is it possible for Uncle Ned to float into outer space? And what’s the best plan for getting him down?

Watch That Witch! book
#2
Watch That Witch!
Written by Nancy Krulik and illustrated by Ben Balistreri
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-8

Princess Pulverizer may not be a knight yet, but she won't let that stop her from saving the day! When Princess Pulverizer comes across two identical witches--one good and one bad--it's the evil one she finds most enchanting. That's because the impatient princess is ready to end her Quest of Kindness and finally become a knight, which is just what the bad witch offers. Can Princess Pulverizer's friends break the spell that seems to have taken hold of her?

Sleepover Scientist book
#3
Sleepover Scientist
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-8

Jada Jones is back for the third book of this popular, celebrated series perfect for STEM fans! Jada is hosting her first sleepover, and she has lots of cool scientific activities planned: kitchen chemistry, creating invisible ink, and even making slime! But when her friends get tired of the lessons and just want to hang out, can Jada figure out the formula for fun and save the sleepover? Praise for Jada Jones: Rock Star "Fast-paced, with supersimple vocabulary and a smattering of earth science to spark interest in young rock collectors everywhere."--Kirkus Reviews "Readers who love "Ivy and Bean" or "Katie Woo" will want to meet Jada Jones."--School Library Journal

The Great Louweezie book
#4
The Great Louweezie
Written by Erica S Perl and illustrated by Chris Chatterton
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-8

Prepare to be amazed as Louise (AKA The Great Louweezie) predicts the future in the first book of this easy-to-read series! Arnold is a large black bear. His best friend, Louise, is a small chipmunk. But one day, Louise insists she is NOT Louise--she's the Great Louweezie, and she can predict the future! But when the Great Louweezie's demands begin to test Arnold's patience, the game feels much less fun. What will happen if friendship isn't in their future?

Lost and Found Perl book
#5
Lost and Found Perl
Written by Erica S Perl and illustrated by Chris Chatterton
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-8

Unlikely best friends Arnold and Louise--a big bear and a chatty chipmunk--are back in this easy-to-read chapter book series! When Louise borrows Arnold's newly found treasure, he's sure he'll never see it again. After all, she loses just about everything he lends her. Louise swears she hasn't lost it, but to get it back, she sends Arnold on a treasure hunt of her own--or is it a wild goose chase?

Gondola to Danger: A Miss Mallard Mystery book
#6
Gondola to Danger: A Miss Mallard Mystery
Written and illustrated by Robert Quackenbush
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

World-famous duck-tective Miss Mallard tries to track down a missing masterpiece in this engaging Aladdin QUIX mystery. Miss Mallard finds herself chasing a stolen masterpiece through Venice’s maze of canals while attending an opera festival.

The Terrible Two's Last Laugh book
#7
The Terrible Two's Last Laugh
Written by Mac Barnett, Jory John and illustrated by Kevin Cornell
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Everyone's favorite pranksters are back in the Terrible Two's series finale. It's Miles and Niles's last year at Yawnee Valley Science and Letters Academy, and Miles gets some worrisome news from his mom: After he graduates, they're moving back home, to their old apartment, in a little town by the sea. She thinks this is good news, but Miles knows it is Terrible. As the Terrible Two face the end of their time in Yawnee Valley, they're determined to pull a prank that changes the town forever.

Flight of the Bluebird (the Unintentional Adventures of the Bland Sisters Book 3) book
#8
Flight of the Bluebird (the Unintentional Adventures of the Bland Sisters Book 3)
Written by Kara LaReau and illustrated by Jen Hill
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Sisters Jaundice and Kale Bland are flown to Egypt, where they are reunited with their parents, whose real identities they learn, and seek to uncover the mysteries of a magical scarab.

The Mystery of Ireland's Eye book
#9
The Mystery of Ireland's Eye
Written and illustrated by Shane Peacock
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

Dylan is twelve years old and embarking on his first ocean kayaking trip with his parents. He has spent the last year convincing them that he is ready for the challenging--and very dangerous--adventure. In fact, he has been determined to go ever since he heard about the destination: Ireland's Eye. The small island off the coast of Newfoundland is the easternmost settlement in Canada. Or it was. It is now hauntingly empty, a ghost town clinging to the edge of the unforgiving Atlantic. What is it about Ireland's Eye that so captivates Dylan he is willing to take such risks to get there? Does the ghost town have anything to do with the dreams Dylan keeps having of his favourite grandfather who has just passed away? And why does the old man on St. John's docks grimly whisper, "Don't go to Ireland's Eye" when he hears of Dylan's plans?

Miles to Go book
#10
Miles to Go
Written and illustrated by Beryl Young
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

A powerful and poignant story of two young girls' friendship, family, loss, and loyalty, set in 1940s Saskatchewan. "Beryl Young's novel Miles to Go is sparse, poetic and, at times, perfectly heart wrenching. It subtly captures the coming of age of two young prairie girls. The beauty of this story is in the little things, the life things. In short: it's wonderful."--Arthur Slade, Governor General's Award-winning author of Dust "This is a tender story about two friends dealing with tragic personal loss. Beryl Young captures a snapshot of small town life in the 1940s. Lovingly told, realistic, sad, and, like life, often very funny."--Harriet Zaidman, teacher-librarian and writer, Winnipeg, Manitoba Miles to Go is the story of a friendship between two twelve-year-old girls in a small Saskatchewan town. In the spring of 1948, each girl faces a heavy personal loss and challenges that threaten their friendship. Through a hard few months the girls learn the meaning of loyalty and the value of keeping a promise. Loosely based on the author's own experiences of growing up in rural Saskatchewan, this book's timeless themes and authentic emotion will speak to young readers.

The Secret of the Silver Mines book
#11
The Secret of the Silver Mines
Written and illustrated by Shane Peacock
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

Just when Dylan Maples is settling down after last summer's trip to Ireland's Eye, the parental units are at it again--planning another family adventure. Only this time, it's not a summer vacation, but an extended trip way up north to Cobalt, Ontario, in the middle of a bitter winter. Once a thriving silver mining community, all that's left of the town's rich history are the long abandoned mines. A Toronto millionaire has hired Dylan's dad to retrieve a fortune in silver allegedly stolen from his grandfather back in the early part of the twentieth century. But was the fortune really stolen? And if so, where has it been hidden? The answers to these questions reside with one man--Theobald T. Larocque, Cobalt's oldest citizen. But no one has seen him in years. And no one seems at all eager to help Dylan's dad locate him--except, of course, his devoted son Dylan, and Dylan's newfound friend and accomplice, Wynona Dixon.

Shai & Emmie Star in To the Rescue! book
#12
Shai & Emmie Star in To the Rescue!
Written by Quvenzhané Wallis, Nancy Ohlin and illustrated by Sharee Miller
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-10

Best friends Shai and Emmie, two third graders destined for superstardom, plan a benefit concert to help stray animals in this third novel in the Shai & Emmie series from Academy Award–nominated actress Quvenzhané Wallis. Shai, Emmie, and the rest of the student orchestra are busy preparing for a benefit concert to help stray pets—a cause near and dear to Shai’s heart. So when she finds a tiny bunny alone in her backyard, Shai is determined to do what her mom would do: rescue the bunny and find it a good home! But the bunny rescue project is far more work than she imagined, and soon Shai doesn’t have any time left to practice for the benefit concert…

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected]!