Discover

Company

june 2019 Best Board Books

Bear's Scare book
#1
Bear's Scare
Written and illustrated by Jacob Grant
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

This adorable, quirky board book features a charming odd-couple friendship and is perfect for fans of Peter Brown and Greg Pizzoli. Bear likes to keep his house clean and tidy. In fact, the only thing Bear loves more than cleaning is taking care of his small stuffed friend, Ursa. Then Bear sees a sticky spiderweb . . . and where there's a web there is certainly a spider! The messy guest must be found, but what Bear and Ursa finally discover might just be an unlikely friend.

A Pocket for Corduroy book
#2
A Pocket for Corduroy
Written and illustrated by Don Freeman
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

This much-beloved classic is now available as a lap board book! Don Freeman's classic character, Corduroy, is even more popular today than he was when he first came on the scene nearly fifty years ago. And now, the story of a teddy bear's overnight laundromat adventures and the girl who loves him will inspire even more readers in this new format. With unabridged text and sturdy pages, this lap board book edition is perfect for family sharing.

Squishy Squashy Lion book
#3
Squishy Squashy Lion
Written and illustrated by Jenny Copper
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Squish and squash the lion as you read the rhyming story and discover all the things that Lion loves to do. Perfect for interactive play, for shared reading or for reading alone, these delightful, touchable books are full of fun!

Future Astronaut book
#4
Future Astronaut
Written by Lori Alexander and illustrated by Allison Black
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Ground Control to Major Baby: Could you be an astronaut? Does baby have what it takes to become an astronaut? That's an affirmative, Houston! Discover all the incredible ways that prove baby already has what it takes to become an astronaut -- from growing healthy teeth to eating from plastic packs to working in small spaces. Includes lots of fun astronaut facts to help prepare little ones for takeoff! Future Baby is an adorable new board book series that takes a playful peek into an assortment of powerful careers and shows little ones how their current skills match up with the job at hand. With Future Baby, babies can be anything!

Look!: Babies Head to Toe book
#5
Look!: Babies Head to Toe
Written by Robie H. Harris and illustrated by Anoosha Syed
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

An adorable book introducing the youngest readers to the names of their body parts, from head to toe! Look! Babies Head to Toe is an exuberant introduction to the parts of the body and the senses. Filled with fun, repetitive sounds and a melodic voice, this book will captivate babies and toddlers. It's the perfect follow-up to Harris's first board book, Who?: A Celebration of Babies.

  1. Born in the Wild - What do grizzly bear cubs eat? Where do baby raccoons sleep? And how does a baby otter learn to swim? Every baby mammal, from a tiny harvest mouse "pinky" to a fierce lion cub, needs food, shelter, love, and a family. Filled with illustrations of some of the most adorable babies in the kingdom, this awww-inspiring book looks at the traits that all baby mammals share and proves that, even though they're born in the wild, they're not so very different from us, after all!

  2. Merbaby's Lullaby - From New York Times bestselling author Jane Yolen comes a lilting lullaby from the bottom of the sea. Hush, foam rocker, sleep, wave breaker. Close your eyes and dream, tide breaker. A hush-filled bedtime rhyme for parents to share with their newborns, Merbaby’s Lullaby is an underwater cradlesong written by Jane Yolen and illustrated by Elizabeth O. Dulemba. Join a mermaid as she helps her merbaby to sleep, rocking with the gentle waves, singing with the whispering whales, and settling in with sea stars lighting the way to sweet dreams.

  3. Kissed by the Moon - May you, my baby, sleep softly at night, and when dawn lights the world, may you wake up to birdsong. Part poem, part lullaby, this gentle story celebrates a baby’s wonder at our beautiful world. From Australia’s favorite picture-book creator, Alison Lester, comes a timeless book to share and to treasure.

  4. Swim with Little Fish!: Bath Book - Whether in the bath, at the table, or on the go, the youngest sea explorers are sure to love visiting Little Fish with this alluring waterproof edition that's soft, squishy, and sturdy--ideal for babies and toddlers at bath time, high-chair time, or anytime. Full color. Consumable.able.

Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True book
#10
Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True
Written by Amy Krouse Rosenthal and illustrated by Brigette Barrager
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Brigette Barrager reunite to bring us a sparkly, magical sequel to Uni the Unicorn! The Land of Unicorns is in trouble -- it has been raining and raining for what seems like forever. This is a big problem because there are only three ways that unicorns can get their magic: from the golden sun, from magnificent rainbows, and from the sparkle of believing. Luckily, Uni the Unicorn has always always always believed...that little girls are REAL. Join this very special unicorn and the little girl who believes right back as they finally meet and work together to save a magical land and all who live there! Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Brigette Barrager reunite to revive this world glowing with possibility and hope that is the stuff of childhood fantasies.

Woodstock, Baby! book
#11
Woodstock, Baby!
Written and illustrated by Spencer Wilson
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

A far-out counting board book celebrating the 50th anniversary of Woodstock! On August 15, 1969, one of the greatest events in rock history took place . . . Woodstock! Now, a rhyming text and groovy illustrations combine to create a bright and lively counting board book commemorating the 50th anniversary. Little rockers will love counting everything from peace signs and guitars to bell bottoms and bands. This out-of-sight adventure is perfect for flower children of all ages. Peace, love, and board books, baby!

First Words - Mandarin book
#12
First Words - Mandarin
Written and illustrated by Lonely Planet Kids
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-6

Perfect for introducing very young children to the Mandarin language, this colourful board book features 12 words to learn – from ‘sun’ and ‘shoes’ to ‘beach’ and ‘bed’. Each word is accompanied by an illustration and pronunciation guide that make the vocabulary easy to learn. From Lonely Planet Kids, First Words Mandarin is a great learning resource for families planning a trip or practicing a new language at home. Our dedicated First Words website features a free audio pronunciation guide where you can hear each word spoken out loud.

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did we miss one of your favorites? Let us know in the comments below!