Discover

Company

june 2019 Best Picture Books

Spider-Man: Far From Home: Spider-Man Swings Through Europe book
#1
Spider-Man: Far From Home: Spider-Man Swings Through Europe
Written by Calliope Glass and illustrated by Andrew Kolb
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Swing alongside Spider-Man as he travels through Europe! Whether he's riding in a gondola through the Venice canals or breaking out all his best moves to get a reaction from the Queen's Guard in London, Spider-Man is determined to have the best vacation ever. Full of vibrant and hilarious original art, this picture book shows off the various European locations seen in Spider-Man: Far From Home, and is told from Peter Parker's unique point of view. Perfect for curious young readers who love Super Heroes, the book also has hidden characters and details from Spidey's world. You never know what-or who-you might find!

Go for the Moon book
#2
Go for the Moon
Written and illustrated by Chris Gall
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-10

For the 50th anniversary of the moon landing, a step-by-step explanation of how the Apollo 11 spacecraft worked as told by a young enthusiast.The Apollo 11 astronauts have prepared carefully for their attempt to be the first men to land on the moon. The young narrator of this book has prepared carefully, too: he explains the design of the spacecraft, the flight from the earth to the moon, and the drama of touching down - while shadowing the astronaut's voyage with one of his own. Go for the Moon! captures the fascinating detail and inspiring adventure of the moon landing. It is a captivating celebration of one of humankind's greatest technical achievements and most extraordinary feats of exploration.

Can Cat and Bird Be Friends? book
#3
Can Cat and Bird Be Friends?
Written and illustrated by Coll Muir
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Cats and birds can’t be friends! They have absolutely nothing in common. After all, cats are supposed to eat birds, not play with them! But there’s something special about this prey-and-predator pair…and they may just find that it’s our differences that bring us closer together. In a delightful picture book filled with pleasing banter and hilarious quips, rising talent Coll Muir creates the perfect unlikely friendship between unexpected creatures. Perfect for fans of Jon Klassen’s I Want My Hat Back, This Is Not My Hat, and We Found a Hat.

Be Kind book
#4
Be Kind
Written by Naomi Shulman and illustrated by Hsinping Pan
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-18

In a world where people spend more time engaging through screens than in real-life interaction, showing basic human kindness can feel like a lost art. Be Kind offers children aged 5 and up simple, actionable things they can do in their daily lives that help them cultivate kindness toward others and grow into people with the capacity to make the world a kinder place. In Be Kind, kids learn that kindness is a quality that can be expressed in ways other than merely being “nice,” including standing up for someone or something, engaging in a community, showing compassion toward other beings, and expressing gratitude. With joyful illustrations and kid-friendly writing, this idea book serves as a delightful, easy-to-read collection of 125 concrete activities kids and their families can pick and choose from and act out in their daily lives, whether it’s being the first person to say good morning, offering compliments, shoveling an elderly neighbor’s driveway, learning to say hello in different languages, or sending a card to someone — no special occasion required. On every page, Be Kind empowers kids to make the world a better, kinder place, one action at a time.

What Will I Do When I Grow Up? book
#5
What Will I Do When I Grow Up?
Written and illustrated by Margherita Borin
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Let's take a walk down High Street and discover the variety of jobs that grown-ups do. We will pop into each building to see what they wear, what tools they use and what they make and do. What will I do when I grow up? invites children to discover the diversity of occupations including teachers, chefs, builders and scientists.

  1. Little Feminist Picture Book - Celebrate 25 amazing women throughout history with Mudpuppy's Little Feminist Picture Book. With easy to process words by Yelena Moroz Alpert and colorful illustrations by Lydia Ortiz and Patrick Rafanan, this book is the perfect way to introduce young children to these inspiring women. Features artists, scientists, politicians, athletes and much more! - 52 pages - Book Trim: 9.25 x 9.25'' - Hardcover with soft-touch finish

  2. Max Attacks - Fish and birds and lizards and socks…is there anything Max won’t attack? Watch your ankles and find out in this clever, rhyming picture book about a very naughty kitty cat. Max is a cat. He attacks. From socks to strings to many a fish, attacking, for Max, is most de-lish. But how many of these things can he actually catch? Well, let’s just say it’s no even match.

  3. Bilal Cooks Daal - Six-year-old Bilal introduces his friends to his favorite dish—daal!—in this charming picture book that showcases the value of patience, teamwork, community, and sharing. Six-year-old Bilal is excited to help his dad make his favorite food of all-time: daal! The slow-cooked lentil dish from South Asia requires lots of ingredients and a whole lot of waiting. Bilal wants to introduce his friends to daal. They’ve never tried it! As the day goes on, the daal continues to simmer, and more kids join Bilal and his family, waiting to try the tasty dish. And as time passes, Bilal begins to wonder: Will his friends like it as much as he does? This debut picture book by Aisha Saeed, with charming illustrations by Anoosha Syed, uses food as a means of bringing a community together to share in each other’s family traditions.

  4. When I'm Feeling Angry - The Feelings Series are beautifully produced picture books that cover different emotional concepts for young children. The Feeling series is especially designed to help children better understand their feelings and how to identify, manage and express those feelings in an appropriate and acceptable way, both to themselves and others. These books provide an invaluable tool to help build confidence, self-esteem and contribute to a healthy emotional foundation upon which children can thrive.

Great Kiwi 123 Book book
#10
Great Kiwi 123 Book
Written and illustrated by Donovan Bixley
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Here is a counting book like you’ve never seen, featuring Donovan Bixley’s most popular characters from his uniquely Kiwi Wheels on the Bus and Old MacDonald’s Farm. Look out for the milkshake-making cow, the All Black lambs, the cute pink ski-bunny, and the colossal squid and many more of Donovan’s vibrant, amusing illustrations. Fun for the kids—and fun for the adults!

The Hair of Zoe Fleefenbacher Goes to School book
#11
The Hair of Zoe Fleefenbacher Goes to School
Written by Laurie Halse Anderson and illustrated by Ard Hoyt
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Acclaimed author Laurie Halse Anderson and vibrant illustrator Ard Hoyt style a hair-raising story that is sure to be a ‘do! Zoe Fleefenbacher has one blue eye and one green eye and bright red hair that goes on...forever. Her hair has always been unruly, but now she is in first grade and according to her teacher, Ms. Trisk, “first grade has rules.” It takes countless barrettes and scrunchies to finally hold Zoe’s hair. But when it can help with an uncooperative science lesson, will Ms. Trisk let Zoe’s hair free?

Where Do Speedboats Sleep at Night? book
#12
Where Do Speedboats Sleep at Night?
Written by Brianna Caplan Sayres and illustrated by Christian Slade
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Illustrations and rhyming text reveal what sailboats, cruise ships, canoes, and other vessels do to get ready for bed after a hard day's work.

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did we miss one of your favorites? Let us know in the comments below!