march 2019 Best Picture Books

The Crayon Man book
#1
The Crayon Man
Written by Natascha Biebow and illustrated by Steven Salerno
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

Celebrating the inventor of the Crayola crayon! This gloriously illustrated picture book biography tells the inspiring story of Edwin Binney, the inventor of one of the world's most beloved toys. A perfect fit among favorites like The Day the Crayons Quit and Balloons Over Broadway. purple mountains’ majesty, mauvelous, jungle green, razzmatazz… What child doesn't love to hold a crayon in their hands? But children didn't always have such magical boxes of crayons. Before Edwin Binney set out to change things, children couldn't really even draw in color. Here’s the true story of an inventor who so loved nature’s vibrant colors that he found a way to bring the outside world to children – in a bright green box for only a nickel! With experimentation, and a special knack for listening, Edwin Binney and his dynamic team at Crayola created one of the world’s most enduring, best-loved childhood toys – empowering children to dream in COLOR!

The Nature Girls book
#2
The Nature Girls
Written and illustrated by Aki
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Aki's The Nature Girls is a picture book starring an adorable troupe of girls exploring different biomes—the ocean, the desert, the tundra, the grasslands, the forest—and meeting all the cute animals that inhabit them.

When Grandma Gives You a Lemon Tree book
#3
When Grandma Gives You a Lemon Tree
Written by Jamie L. B. Deenihan and illustrated by Lorraine Rocha
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-8

"When life gives you lemons, make lemonade." In this imaginative take on that popular saying, a child is surprised to receive a lemon tree from Grandma for her birthday. After all, she DID ask for a new gadget! But when she follows the narrator's careful--and funny--instructions, she discovers that the tree might be exactly what she wanted after all.

Just Read! book
#4
Just Read!
Written by Lori Degman and illustrated by Victoria Tentler-Krylov
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

These kids all love to read--and every time they open a book, they open up a whole new world! This exuberant story celebrates reading as it follows a diverse group of children who read wherever and whenever they can. Sometimes, they even read together, in a special fort they've built. Victoria Tentler-Krylov's fanciful art and Lori Degman's rollicking text will get every child excited about reading!

You Are My Happy book
#5
You Are My Happy
Written by Hoda Kotb and illustrated by Suzie Mason
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

A #1 New York Times bestseller! An Amazon Best Books of the Year So Far 2019 Selection! From Hoda Kotb, the Today show co-anchor and the #1 New York Times bestselling author of I’ve Loved You Since Forever, comes a book about gratitude for the things in life—both big and small—that bring us happiness. As mama bear and her cub cuddle together before closing their eyes for a good night’s sleep, they reflect on the everyday wonders of life that make them happy. Inspired by her own nighttime routine with her daughter, Haley Joy, Kotb creates another beautiful treasure for parents and children to enjoy together. With charming and lush illustrations from bestselling artist Suzie Mason, this soothing yet playful lullaby explores the simple joy of taking a moment to be grateful. Perfect for fans of Ainsley Earhardt, Kelly Clarkson, Jamie Lee Curtis, and Jimmy Fallon’s books for children.

  1. Circle - Multi-award-winning, New York Times best-selling duo Mac Barnett and Jon Klassen deliver the final wry and resonant tale about Triangle, Square, and Circle. This book is about Circle. This book is also about Circle's friends, Triangle and Square. Also it is about a rule that Circle makes, and how she has to rescue Triangle when he breaks that rule. With their usual pitch-perfect pacing and subtle, sharp wit, Mac Barnett and Jon Klassen come full circle in the third and final chapter of their clever shapes trilogy.

  2. Captain Marvel What Makes a Hero - Introduce the young reader in your life to the inimitable, expectation-destroying, glass ceiling-shattering, world-saving female Super Heroes of the Marvel Cinematic Universe, from Captain Marvel and Shuri to Gamora, Black Widow, Nebula, and more, in this beautifully-illustrated picture book aimed at the young reader set. Fans of all ages will be thrilled by this adventure that celebrates the strength, intelligence, and ingenuity of the women who are vital to MCU's best stories, distilled into a child-friendly package.

  3. A Little Chicken - Dot is a small chick who's scared of lots of things: wolves, bears, the occasional lawn ornament. But when an egg rolls out of her mother's nest, Dot must pluck up her courage to save the day--and her new sibling! Perfect for kids who need some encouragement to face the challenging world, this story proves that sometimes a big hero is just a little chicken.

  4. Because - Mo Willems, a number one New York Times best-selling author and illustrator, composes a powerful symphony of chance, discovery, persistence, and magic in this moving tale of a young girl's journey to center stage. Illustrator Amber Ren brings Willems' music to life, conducting a stunning picture book debut.

As We Grow book
#10
As We Grow
Written and illustrated by Libby Walden
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

In this stunning picture book, lyrical text and enchanting illustrations beautifully depict each stage of life and the journey of transformation that we experience as we grow up.

The Second Sky book
#11
The Second Sky
Written by Patrick Guest and illustrated by Jonathan Bentley
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

An inspiring story about finding your true element Ever since he first hatched, Gilbert has wanted to fly. But with his big, clumsy feet and small, fluffy wings, learning to fly is a bigger challenge than Gilbert anticipated. His fellow penguins tell him to give up, but Gilbert is sure that if he keeps trying, he’ll be able to soar… Young readers will fall in love with this sweet, motivating story about overcoming obstacles and discovering your hidden talents.

A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood book
#12
A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood
Written by Fred Rogers and illustrated by Luke Flowers
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-8

For the first time ever, 75 beloved songs from Mister Rogers' Neighborhood and The Children's Corner are collected in this charmingly illustrated treasury, sure to be cherished by generations of children as well as the millions of adults who grew up with Mister Rogers. It's you I like. It's not the things you wear, It's not the way you do your hair-- But it's you I like. From funny to sweet, silly to sincere, the lyrics of Mister Rogers explore such universal topics as feelings, new siblings, everyday life, imagination, and more. Through these songs--as well as endearing puppets and honest conversations--Mister Rogers instilled in his young viewers the values of kindness, self-awareness, and self-esteem. But most of all, he taught children that they are loved, just as they are. Perfect for bedtime, sing-along, or quiet time alone, this beautiful book of meaningful poetry is for every child--including the child inside of every one of us.

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did we miss one of your favorites? Let us know in the comments below!