An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

The Best Arthurian Kids Books

Looking for the best Arthurian books?
Share this list
Add to list
A Tail of Camelot
Written by Julie Leung & illustrated by Lindsey Carr
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

An epic new middle grade series in the tradition of Redwall and Poppy, based on Arthurian legend and told from the perspective of Camelot’s most humble creatures: mice Young mouse Calib Christopher aspires to be a Knight of the Round Table. For generations, his family has valiantly led the mice who live just out of sight of the humans, defending Camelot from enemies both big and small. But when a new threat arises—one that could catch even the Two-Leggers off guard—it’s up to Calib and his friend Cecily to unmask the real enemy, unite their forces, and save the castle they all call home. With the sweeping adventure of New York Times bestselling series like Wings of Fire and Warriors, Mice of the Round Table brings to life a legendary world of animals and magic that kids will want to return to again and again.

Buy book
$6.99
Bookshop
$5.94
Amazon
$6.99
Used $6.99
Prices as of Jan 22
Add to list
Merlin's Last Quest
Written by Julie Leung & illustrated by Lindsey Carr
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

The thrilling conclusion to the epic middle grade fantasy series that Booklist called "a charming blend of Arthurian legend and Brian Jacques' Redwall series."

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$13.59
Used $4.24
Prices as of Jan 22
Add to list
Voyage to Avalon
Written by Julie Leung & illustrated by Lindsey Carr
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

A mysterious new threat sparks a dangerous quest in book two of the epic middle grade series Booklist called "a charming blend of Arthurian legend and Brian Jacques' Redwall series."

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$16.99
Used $16.99
Prices as of Jan 22
Add to list
Voyage to Avalon
Written by Julie Leung & illustrated by Lindsey Carr
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

A mysterious new threat sparks a dangerous quest in book two of the epic middle grade series Booklist called "a charming blend of Arthurian legend and Brian Jacques' Redwall series."

Buy book
$6.99
Bookshop
$5.94
Amazon
$6.99
Used $6.99
Prices as of Jan 22
Add to list
The Red Fox Clan
Written by John Flanagan
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 10-13
#1
Buy book
$8.99
Bookshop
$7.64
Amazon
$8.99
Used $8.99
Prices as of Jan 22
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
  • Mice of the Round Table #1: A Tail of Camelot - An epic new middle grade series in the tradition of Redwall and Poppy, based on Arthurian legend and told from the perspective of Camelot's most humble creatures: mice

  • Magic Tree House Deluxe Holiday Edition: Christmas in Camelot - Christmas has never been more magical! Travel to Camelot with Jack, Annie and The Magic Tree House in this holiday fantasy adventure! Now in a super-giftable deluxe edition with color illustrations!

  • Cavall in Camelot #1: A Dog In King Arthur’s Court - In Camelot, King Arthur’s dog encounters a world of danger and magic… Follow Cavall as he embarks on a quest that will put the unbreakable bond between a dog and his person to the ultimate test. When Cavall and his older brother, Glessic, leave the comfort of their simple barn to join the lavish court of Camelot, Cavall wants nothing more than to prove he’s a good dog to the great knights and dogs of the castle—especially to King Arthur. But Gless says only the best dogs are worthy of greatness, and Cavall has never been as strong, brave, or fast as his brother. Meanwhile, malevolent forces lurk in Camelot, and Cavall must figure out how to protect his person. To make matters worse, Arthur’s mysterious nightmares are threatening to shake his grip on reality and undermine his authority as king. To fight back against the dangers of the dream world, Cavall will need help from some loyal hounds and the enchanting, sometimes frightening creatures who call themselves the fay. In this captivating debut from Audrey Mackaman, Cavall will have to prove not only that he can be a good dog for his person, but that he is capable of a greatness all his own.

  • Christmas in Camelot - Travel to Camelot with Jack, Annie and The Magic Tree House in this holiday fantasy adventure! The #1 bestselling chapter book series of all time celebrates 25 years with new covers and a new, easy-to-use numbering system!

Add to list
The Knight's Armor: Book 3 of the Ministry of SUITs
Written by Paul Gamble
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-13

When twelve-year-old Jack Pease and his partner, Trudy, operatives of the Ministry of Strange, Unusual, and Impossible Things, try to find Trudy’s mother, who is being held prisoner by an evil scientist named Mr. M, they uncover a nefarious scheme that involves the legend of King Arthur, Merlin, and the Excalibur.

Buy book
$25.99
Bookshop
$22.09
Amazon
$10.99
Used $10.92
Prices as of Jan 22
Add to list
King Arthur and His Knights of the Round Table
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-11

Embrace your inner geek with Puffin Pixels

Puffin Pixels is a collection of classics featuring pixelated, 8-bit video game cover artwork in the Minecraft style.

King Arthur is one of the greatest legends of all time. From the magical moment when Arthur releases the sword in the stone to the quest for the Holy Grail and the final tragedy of the Last Battle, Roger Lancelyn Green brings the enchanting world of King Arthur stunningly to life.

Buy book
$11.99
Bookshop
$10.19
Amazon
$11.99
Used $11.99
Prices as of Jan 22
Add to list
Sword in the Stone
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 10-17

“The Sword And The Stone” recreates, against the background of magnificent pageantry and dark magic that was medieval England, the education and training of young King Arthur, who was to become the greatest of Britain’s legendary rulers.<P>Growing up in a colorful world peopled by knights in armor and fair damsels, foul monsters and evil witches, young Arthur slowly learns the code of being a gentleman. Under the wise guidance of Merlin, the all-powerful magician for whom life progresses backwards, the king-to-be is trained in the gusty pursuits of falconry, jousting, hunting and sword play. He is even transformed by his remarkable old tutor into various animals, so that he may experience life from all points of view. In every conceivable and exciting way he is readied for the day when he, and he alone of all Englishmen, is destined to draw forth the marvelous sword from the magic stone and become the rightful King of’ England.

Buy book
$6.50
Bookshop
$5.53
Amazon
$6.50
Used $0.99
Prices as of Jan 22
Add to list
The Battle for the Castle
Written by Elizabeth Winthrop
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Twelve-year-old William is beginning to wonder if Jason is still his best friend. When Jason challenges William to “jump the trains,” William is terrified but feels he must prove himself. The opportunity arises when his former housekeeper sends him a magic token that once again takes him back to the mystical world of Sir Simon’s castle, this time with Jason. There they face a dangerous army of rats and their gigantic leader. Once, William was a hero in the castle. Now it’s up to him to destroy the rats and save the kingdom in the final battle for the castle.

Buy book
$18.99
Bookshop
$16.14
Amazon
$18.99
Used $18.99
Prices as of Jan 22
Add to list
Stealing the Sword
Written by Wendy Mass & illustrated by Oriol Vidal
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-8
New York Times bestselling author Wendy Mass's action-packed early chapter book series is perfect for newly independent readers!
Buy book
$4.99
Bookshop
$4.24
Amazon
$4.99
Used $4.99
Prices as of Jan 22
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
  • Knights vs. the End - The third action-packed story in Matt Phelan’s acclaimed Knights vs. series! Five daring heroes face their most difficult challenge yet: saving Camelot itself. Can the band of friends survive an evil queen, a powerful Faerie King, and one nasty dragon? This heavily illustrated middle grade adventure is a hilarious tale of derring-do, perfect for reluctant readers as well as fans of The Terrible Two and The Wild Robot. A year has passed since the knights battled monsters on the mist-covered Orkney Isles. The knights have searched high and low for the elusive Queen Morgause, who is bent on destroying King Arthur and all of Camelot. Finally, a tip from the legendary Green Knight sends the heroes searching for the Faerie Realm, an eerie world where nothing is what it seems. Together, the knights will lose an old friend, discover a new ally, face a dangerous dragon, and learn what it means to be a legend. With art on nearly every page, including an epic fight scene depicted in several graphic-novel–style spreads, this engaging story is ideal for reluctant readers, aspiring knights, and action-adventure fans. Camelot may never be the same after these heroes come to the rescue!

  • Dragon's Boy: A Tale of Young King Arthur -

    Son of the Dragon

    Thirteen-year-old Artos is not as good as swordsplay, romance, or any other knightly accomplishment as his foster brothers Cai, Bedvere, and Lancot. An orphan raised by the kindly Sir Ector, he doesn't even know the identity for his parents. But one day, Artos stumbles into the cave of an old and lonely dragon who offers to teach him the game of wisdom. Artos accepts, and becomes the Pendragon--the son of the dragon, the dragon's boy. And with the dragon's guidance, Artos sets out on a journey to a remarkable destiny--one that he never dreamed could be his own.

  • The Legend of King Arthur-a-tops - “Truly this contains some knights to remember.” ―Kirkus Reviews A bumbling triceratops must prove himself worthy in New York Times bestselling author Mo O’Hara’s second hilarious picture book offering a prehistoric spin on the legend of King Arthur. It’s the Festival of the Stone, and dinosaurs from across the land will try to pull the great horn Rex-calibur from the magical stone. The one who succeeds shall be crowned king or queen. Arthur-a-tops is probably the least likely to accomplish the task. And yet…could he be the one true king? In this completely reimagined Camelot featuring dino-squires, the trusty Merlin-a-dactyl, and easy-to-trip-over dinosaur tails, O’Hara transforms this classic tale into an enjoyable, accessible, and truly funny treat for young readers. Coupled perfectly with Andrew Joyner’s expressive and classic illustrations, this story will induce fits of giggles and lots of knowing nods from parents who want their little geniuses to have the classics down by first grade.

  • Knights vs. Monsters - Renowned for their courage, their chivalry, and their ability to fight mythical creatures, the Knights of the Round Table face a new band of dangerous opponents—MONSTERS! In the rip-roaring sequel to Matt Phelan’s acclaimed Knights vs. Dinosaurs, four daring knights and one intrepid archer face off against legendary monsters. This heavily illustrated middle grade adventure is a hilarious tale of derring-do that is perfect for reluctant readers and fans of The Terrible Two and The Wild Robot. Award-winning creator Matt Phelan’s Knights vs. Monsters is a highly illustrated, fast-paced adventure full of uproarious knightly hijinks, surprising secrets, and terrifying monsters. When a magical boat sweeps the Knights of the Round Table off to Scotland, they take on the evil Queen Morgause and her horde of monsters. With art on nearly every page, including an epic fight scene depicted in several graphic-novel style spreads, this engaging story is ideal for reluctant readers, aspiring knights, and fans of Gordon Korman’s Masterminds.

Suggested Links