Children's Books Search | R

Rabbi Benjamin’s Buttons book
#1
Rabbi Benjamin’s Buttons
Written by Alice B. McGinty and illustrated by Jennifer Black Reinhardt
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Rabbi Benjamin loves his congregation, and they love him. That’s why on Rosh Hashanah, the Jewish New Year, the Rabbi’s congregation presents him with a special holiday vest with four silver buttons and decorated with designs symbolizing the major holidays celebrated throughout the year. Rabbi Benjamin loves it! He also loves all the holiday treats that his families proudly fill him with-including delicious, crispy latkes; scrumptious matzoh-ball soup; irresistible apple torte; and honey cake. As the year passes, Rabbi Benjamin’s beautiful vest stretches tighter and tighter across his belly, and one by one the shiny silver buttons pop!-pop!-pop! off. When summer comes, Rabbi helps his congregation with their gardening, with the hiding of Chanukah presents, with the apple picking, and the fishing. Will all this hard work help Rabbi fit into his beautiful vest when Rosh Hashanah rolls around again?

Rabbit & Possum book
#2
Rabbit & Possum
Written and illustrated by Dana Wulfekotte
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Rabbit likes to leap before she looks. Possum is a little more cautious. Together, they are a dynamic duo ready to charm fans of Frog and Toad or Toot & Puddle! Rabbit has been preparing all day for her best friend Possum’s visit, but when the time comes she finds Possum fast asleep. No matter what Rabbit does, she just can’t wake him up. But then a rustle in the bushes frightens Possum and sends him up a tree—where he gets very, very stuck. Rabbit has any number of ideas to get him down. Unfortunately, they all make Possum a little...uneasy. But best friends never give up. With a little creativity—and a big surprise—Rabbit just might be able to save the day. These unlikely friends and their upbeat humor are just right for fans of Eric Rohmann’s My Friend Rabbit and Kelly Bingham’s Z Is for Moose.

Rabbit Cooks Up a Cunning Plan! book
#3
Rabbit Cooks Up a Cunning Plan!
Written by Andrew Fusek Peters and illustrated by Bruno Robert
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

The animals of the forest cook meals for Mountain Lion so he won't eat them, but when it is Rabbit's turn to cook, he devises a plan instead to get rid of Lion for good.

Rabbit Hill book
#4
Rabbit Hill
Written by Robert Lawson
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

New folks are coming to live in the Big House. The animals of Rabbit Hill wonder if they will plant a garden and thus be good providers.

Rabbit Pie book
#5
Rabbit Pie
Written and illustrated by Penny Ives
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

The perfect recipe for bedtime! Six adorable rabbits are just one ingredient needed for sweet Rabbit Pie! Combine with a sprinkling of kisses and some warm milk for the ideal bedtime story. Told like a recipe, with delightful illustrations showing the preparations for bedtime, this charming picture book will enchant parents and children alike. With a sturdy board book format that will withstand plenty of use by babies and younger children this new format edition of an already popular title makes the perfect addition to any bookshelf!

Rabbit Pie: The Perfect Recipe for Bedtime book
#6
Rabbit Pie: The Perfect Recipe for Bedtime
Written and illustrated by Penny Ives
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

A bedtime story about six adorable rabbits.

Rabbit's Gift book
#7
Rabbit's Gift
Written by George Shannon and illustrated by Laura Dronzek
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Snow is coming, coming soon, so Rabbit needs to find food fast. Just in time, a turnip turns up, and a second one, too. Who in the woods wouldn't want to tuck away an extra turnip for the long winter? Not Rabbit. He chooses a different path—and starts a wave of generosity that spreads among all his forest friends.

Rabbit Stew book
#8
Rabbit Stew
Written and illustrated by Wendy Wahman
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-8

Fox brothers Rusty and Rojo toil and till in their vegetable garden all summer long until they're finally ready to make their splendid, scrumptious, marvelous rabbit stew. Then they begin to pick colorful ingredients one by one, from lean, green runner beans and crunchy orange carrots to fresh sprigs of parsley and roly-poly blueberries. Meanwhile, their pet rabbit watches with his bunny family, all of them getting more and more worried about what's coming next. Finally the brothers have almost everything they need. All that's missing is one... big... round... white... bowl! And in a deliciously sweet surprise ending, they use the bowl to serve the concoction to their favorite rabbit, Stew! And his family, too. The whimsical and vibrant artwork is filled with clever details, and every scene includes Stew, his three baby bunnies, and their mother, all trying to stay out of sight, creating a search-and-find element for every spread.

Rabbityness book
#9
Rabbityness
Written and illustrated by Jo Empson
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

Tells the story of a rabbit whose love of music and art inspires other rabbits even after he disappears.

Race Car Rally! book
#10
Race Car Rally!
Written by Alan Copeland and illustrated by Rhys Jefferys
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Grab hold of this book that lets you steer a race car that's revving up to win the big race! This is going to be a tough race. . . . There are a bunch of speedy cars already ahead of you! You're coming up to a blue car there on your right. Speed up and then swerve into the lane to get ahead of him! Put on your seatbelt and your helmet-it's time to drive a race car! Kids will love using the die-cut handles in this novelty board book to control the race car to steer through the track around cars and into other lanes to try and win the big race!

Race to the Bottom of the Sea book
#11
Race to the Bottom of the Sea
Written and illustrated by Lindsay Eagar
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Can a clever young inventor uncover a ruthless pirate's heart of gold? Thrilling sea adventure takes on a hint of steampunk in the second book by the author of the acclaimed Hour of the Bees. When her parents, the great marine scientists Dr. and Dr. Quail, are killed in a tragic accident, eleven-year-old Fidelia Quail is racked by grief -- and guilt. It was a submarine of Fidelia's invention that her parents were in when they died, and it was she who pressed them to stay out longer when the raging Undertow was looming. But Fidelia is forced out of her mourning when she's kidnapped by Merrick the Monstrous, a pirate whose list of treasons stretches longer than a ribbon eel. Her task? Use her marine know-how to retrieve his treasure, lost on the ocean floor. But as Fidelia and the pirates close in on the prize, with the navy hot on their heels, she realizes that Merrick doesn't expect to live long enough to enjoy his loot. Could something other than black-hearted greed be driving him? Will Fidelia be able to master the perils of the ocean without her parents -- and piece together the mystery of Merrick the Monstrous before it's too late?

Rachel's Story book
#12
Rachel's Story
Written and illustrated by Andy Glynne
picture book
Recommend Ages: 8-9

This is the real-life story of Eurasian refugee Rachel, who was forced to flee her home country because of her mother's religion. Told in Rachel's own words, the story describes the feelings of fear and anxiety immigrant children face as they try to rebuild their lives in a new country.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected] with your book and list suggestion.