An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

What to Read After Dog Man

When it comes to graphic novels for kids, Dav Pilkey’s Dog Man series gets a lot of attention. The good news is that because of the increased interest in graphic novels, there are more and more graphic novels to enjoy that cover a broad variety of interests. If your young reader is looking for books to enjoy after or instead of Dog Man, check out these options.

Share this list
Add to list
Lunch Lady and the Cyborg Substitute
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-9
From the author of National Book Award finalist Hey, Kiddo.
Buy book
$6.99
Bookshop
$5.94
Amazon
$6.99
Used $6.99
Prices as of Apr 22
Add to list
Max and the Midknights
Written by Lincoln Peirce
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-11

Join Max’s quest to become a knight in this laugh-filled, New York Times bestselling adventure from the author of the Big Nate series!

Max wants to be a knight! Too bad that dream is about as likely as finding a friendly dragon. But when Max’s uncle Budrick is kidnapped by the cruel King Gastley, Max has to act…and fast! Joined by a band of brave adventurers–the Midknights–Max sets out on a thrilling quest: to save Uncle Budrick and restore the realm of Byjovia to its former high spirits!

Magic and (mis)adventures abound in this hilarious illustrated novel from the New York Times bestselling creator of the Big Nate series, Lincoln Peirce.

Buy book
$13.99
Bookshop
$11.89
Amazon
$10.89
Used $2.13
Prices as of Apr 22
Add to list
Big Nate: In a Class by Himself
Written & illustrated by Lincoln Peirce
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Soon to be an animated series from Nickelodeon!

Buy book
$7.99
Bookshop
$6.79
Amazon
$5.69
Used $0.35
Prices as of Apr 22
Add to list
Dawn and the Impossible Three (the Baby-Sitters Club Graphic Novel #5): A Graphix Book, Volume 5
Written by Ann M. Martin
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-11

Dawn Schafer is the newest member of The Baby-sitters Club. While she’s still adjusting to life in Stoneybrook after moving from sunny California, she’s eager to accept her first big job. But taking care of the three Barrett kids would be too much for <i>any</i> baby-sitter. The house is always a mess, the kids are out of control, and Mrs. Barrett never does any of the things she promises. On top of all that, Dawn wants to fit in with the other members of the BSC, but she can’t figure out how to get along with Kristy. Was joining The Baby-sitters Club a mistake?

Buy book
$10.99
Bookshop
$9.34
Amazon
$5.72
Used $1.15
Prices as of Apr 22
Add to list
Coraline Graphic Novel
Written by Neil Gaiman & illustrated by Craig Russell
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

When Coraline steps through a door in her family’s new house, she finds another house, strangely similar to her own (only better). At first, things seem marvelous. The food is better than at home, and the toy box is filled with fluttering wind-up angels and dinosaur skulls that crawl and rattle their teeth.

But there’s another mother there and another father, and they want her to stay and be their little girl. They want to change her and never let her go. Coraline will have to fight with all her wit and all the tools she can find if she is to save herself and return to her ordinary life.

This beloved tale has now become a visual feast. Acclaimed artist P. CraigRussell brings Neil Gaiman’s enchanting nationally bestselling children’s book Coraline to new life in this gorgeously illustrated graphic novel adaptation.

Buy book
$18.99
Bookshop
$16.14
Amazon
$17.89
Used $11.44
Prices as of Apr 22
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
  • The Great Pet Escape - The class pets at Daisy P. Flugelhorn Elementary School want OUT . . . and GW (short for George Washington), the deceptively cute hamster in the second-grade classroom, is just the guy to lead the way. But when he finally escapes and goes to find his former partners in crime, Barry and Biter, he finds that they actually LIKE being class pets. Impossible! Just as GW gets Barry and Biter to agree to leave with him, a mouse named Harriet and her many mouse minions get in their way. What follows is class-pet chaos guaranteed to make readers giggle . . . and maybe look at their class pets a little differently in the future.

  • Artemis Fowl the Arctic Incident (Graphic Novel) - The second book in the internationally best-selling Artemis Fowl series by Eoin Colfer is available as a full-color graphic novel with all-new text and artwork.

  • The Crossover (Graphic Novel) - New York Times bestseller ∙ Newbery Medal Winner ∙ Coretta Scott King Honor Award ∙ 2015 YALSA 2015 Top Ten Best Fiction for Young Adults ∙ 2015 YALSA Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers ∙ Publishers Weekly Best Book ∙ School Library Journal Best Book ∙ Kirkus Best Book “A beautifully measured novel of life and line.”—The New York Times Book Review “With a bolt of lightning on my kicks . . .The court is SIZZLING. My sweat is DRIZZLING. Stop all that quivering. Cuz tonight I’m delivering,” announces dread-locked, 12-year old Josh Bell. He and his twin brother Jordan are awesome on the court. But Josh has more than basketball in his blood, he’s got mad beats, too, that tell his family’s story in verse, in this fast and furious middle grade novel of family and brotherhood from Kwame Alexander. Josh and Jordan must come to grips with growing up on and off the court to realize breaking the rules comes at a terrible price, as their story’s heart-stopping climax proves a game-changer for the entire family.

  • Redwall: The Graphic Novel - It was meant to be: The classic fantasy adventure that began the Redwall phenomenon is finally available in a cool graphic format. Illustrated by renowned comics artist Bret Blevins, Redwall: The Graphic Novel brings to life all the battles, all the heroes, and all the villains in a fun new format perfect for reluctant readers, those just entering the Redwall world, or the countless existing fans of the series.

Add to list
The Bad Guys
Written & illustrated by Aaron Blabey
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-10
SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE!
Buy book
$5.99
Bookshop
$5.09
Amazon
$5.00
Used $0.97
Prices as of Apr 22
Add to list
Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea
Written by Ben Clanton
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

“Hilarious and charming. The most lovable duo since Frog and Toad.” –<i>NYT</i>-bestselling creator of the Dog Man and Captain Underpants series, Dav Pilkey <p/>Narwhal is a happy-go-lucky narwhal. Jelly is a no-nonsense jellyfish. The two might not have a lot in common, but they do they love waffles, parties and adventures. Join Narwhal and Jelly as they discover the whole wide ocean together.<br> A wonderfully silly early graphic novel series featuring three stories. In the first, Jelly learns that Narwhal is a really good friend. Then Narwhal and Jelly form their own pod of awesomeness with their ocean friends. And finally, Narwhal and Jelly read the best book ever – even though it doesn’t have any words…or pictures!<br> Ben Clanton showcases the joys of friendship, the benefits of working together and the power of imagination in the delightful Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea.

Buy book
$7.99
Bookshop
$6.79
Amazon
$5.99
Used $1.25
Prices as of Apr 22
Add to list
Mac Undercover
Written by Mac Barnett & illustrated by Mike Lowery
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-10

A thrilling, hilarious fully-illustrated spy adventure series, from the esteemed New York Times bestselling and multi-award-winning author Mac Barnett!

A New York Times bestseller**An Amazon Best Book of 2018Before Mac Barnett was an author, he was a kid.And while he was a kid, he was a spy.Not just any spy.But a spy…for the Queen of England.James Bond meets Diary of a Wimpy Kid with this groundbreaking fully-illustrated chapter book series Mac B., Kid Spy**. The precious Crown Jewels have been stolen, and there’s only one person who can help the Queen of England: her newest secret agent, Mac B. Mac travels around the globe in search of the stolen treasure…but will he find it in time?From secret identities to Karate hijinks, this fast-paced, witty and historically inspired chapter book will keep readers guessing until the very last page. With full-color illustrations and fascinating historical facts masterfully sprinkled throughout, this series offers adventure, intrigue, absurdity, history and humor. Discover this totally smart and side-splittingly funny series, and experience what it’s really like to be a kid spy.

Buy book
$12.99
Bookshop
$11.04
Amazon
$8.89
Used $1.95
Prices as of Apr 22
Add to list
Ivy + Bean One Big Happy Family
Written by Annie Barrows & illustrated by Sophie Blackall
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-9
"This story defies expectations of what an early chapter book can be." School Library Journal
Buy book
$5.99
Bookshop
$5.09
Amazon
$5.99
Used $5.99
Prices as of Apr 22
Add to list
Dinosaurs Before Dark
Written by Mary Pope Osborne & illustrated by Sal Murdocca
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

Where did the tree house come from?

Before Jack and Annie can find out, the mysterious tree house whisks them to the prehistoric past. Now they have to figure out how to get home. Can they do it before dark…or will they become a dinosaur’s dinner?

Buy book
$5.99
Bookshop
$5.09
Amazon
$4.14
Used $0.35
Prices as of Apr 22
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
  • The Dragonet Prophecy (The Graphic Novel) - Not every dragonet wants a destiny … <br></br>Clay has grown up under the mountain, chosen along with four other dragonets to fulfill a mysterious prophecy and end the war between the dragon tribes of Pyrrhia. He’s not so sure about the prophecy part, but Clay can’t imagine not living with the other dragonets; they’re his best friends. <br></br>So when one of the dragonets is threatened, all five spring into action. Together, they will choose freedom over fate, leave the mountain, and fulfill their destiny – on their own terms.<br></br>The <i>New York Times</i> bestselling Wings of Fire series takes flight in this first graphic novel edition, adapted by the author with art by Mike Holmes.

  • Nana Cracks the Case! - Nana is not your ordinary grandma. She never wears cloppy shoes, drinks prune juice, or worries about slippery surfaces. Eufala and Bog’s nana would much rather join the circus, work as a backhoe operator, or maybe become a detective. Which is exactly what happens in this very funny chapter book. When Nana answers an ad in the local newspaper for a detective, she arrives at the police department just in time to investigate the theft of one entire case of delicious Yumdums candy. Can one little old lady find a way to save the day and stop the candy thief from striking again? <p/>Look for more adventures starring Nana, Eufala, and Bog coming soon!

  • When Stars Are Scattered - Heartbreak and hope exist together in this remarkable graphic novel about growing up in a refugee camp, as told by a Somali refugee to the Newbery Honor-winning creator of Roller Girl. Omar and his younger brother, Hassan, have spent most of their lives in Dadaab, a refugee camp in Kenya. Life is hard there: never enough food, achingly dull, and without access to the medical care Omar knows his nonverbal brother needs. So when Omar has the opportunity to go to school, he knows it might be a chance to change their future . . . but it would also mean leaving his brother, the only family member he has left, every day. Heartbreak, hope, and gentle humor exist together in this graphic novel about a childhood spent waiting, and a young man who is able to create a sense of family and home in the most difficult of settings. It’s an intimate, important, unforgettable look at the day-to-day life of a refugee, as told to New York Times Bestselling author/artist Victoria Jamieson by Omar Mohamed, the Somali man who lived the story.

  • Out from Boneville - The first book in Jeff Smith’s <i>New York Times</i> bestselling, award-winning graphic novel series featuring an unlikely hero who must save an idyllic valley from the forces of evil.<p></p>After being run out of Boneville, the three Bone cousins – Fone Bone, Phoney Bone, and Smiley Bone – are separated and lost in a vast, uncharted desert. One by one, they find their way into a deep, forested valley filled with wonderful and terrifying creatures. Eventually, the cousins are reunited at a farmstead run by tough Gran’ma Ben and her spirited granddaughter, Thorn. But little do the Bones know, there are dark forces conspiring against them and their adventures are only just beginning!

Add to list
Diary of a Wimpy Kid
Written & illustrated by Jeff Kinney
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Boys don’t keep diaries―or do they?

The launch of an exciting and innovatively illustrated new series narrated by an unforgettable kid every family can relate to

It’s a new school year, and Greg Heffley finds himself thrust into middle school, where undersized weaklings share the hallways with kids who are taller, meaner, and already shaving. The hazards of growing up before you’re ready are uniquely revealed through words and drawings as Greg records them in his diary.

In book one of this debut series, Greg is happy to have Rowley, his sidekick, along for the ride. But when Rowley’s star starts to rise, Greg tries to use his best friend’s newfound popularity to his own advantage, kicking off a chain of events that will test their friendship in hilarious fashion.

Author/illustrator Jeff Kinney recalls the growing pains of school life and introduces a new kind of hero who epitomizes the challenges of being a kid. As Greg says in his diary, “Just don’t expect me to be all ‘Dear Diary’ this and ‘Dear Diary’ that.” Luckily for us, what Greg Heffley says he won’t do and what he actually does are two very different things.

Since its launch in May 2004 on Funbrain.com, the Web version of Diary of a Wimpy Kid has been viewed by 20 million unique online readers. This year, it is averaging 70,000 readers a day.

Buy book
$13.95
Bookshop
$11.86
Amazon
$13.95
Used $0.35
Prices as of Apr 22
Add to list
Nico Bravo and the Hound of Hades
Written & illustrated by Mike Cavallaro
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-11

A 2019 New York Public Library Best Books for Kids
A 2020 Maverick Graphic Novel Reading List Selection

Buy book
$12.99
Bookshop
$11.04
Amazon
$12.99
Used $12.99
Prices as of Apr 22
Add to list
The Challenger Disaster: Tragedy in the Skies
Written & illustrated by Pranas T. Naujokaitis
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

Let this graphic novel be your time machine! In History Comics, the new nonfiction graphic novel series from First Second, the past comes alive!

In History Comics: The Challenger Disaster, we turn the clock back to January 28, 1986. Seven astronauts boarded the space shuttle Challenger on what would be a routine mission. All eyes and cameras were on crew member Christa McAuliffe, a high school teacher, who was set to become the first private citizen in space. Excitement filled the air as the clock counted down to liftoff. But at T-plus seventy-three seconds after launch, the unthinkable happened . . .

What caused the midair explosion? In Pranas T. Naujokaitis's imaginative tale, set in a far-off future, a group of curious kids investigate the hard questions surrounding the Challenger explosion. Inspired by the legacy and sacrifice of the Challenger seven, they continue in their footsteps, setting out toward the stars and into the great unknown!

Buy book
$12.99
Bookshop
$11.04
Amazon
$12.99
Used $12.99
Prices as of Apr 22
Add to list
The Underground Abductor: An Abolitionist Tale
Written by Nathan Hale
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-14
Meet Underground Railroad abductor Harriet Tubman in this installment of the New York Times bestselling graphic novel series!
Buy book
$13.99
Bookshop
$11.89
Amazon
$11.89
Used $6.67
Prices as of Apr 22
Add to list
Beware the Kitten Holy
Written by Grace Ellis, Shannon Watters, and Noelle Stevenson & illustrated by Brooke A. Allen
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

Five best friends spending the summer at Lumberjane scout camp…defeating yetis, three-eyed wolves, and giant falcons…what’s not to love?! <p/>Friendship to the max! Jo, April, Mal, Molly and Ripley are five best pals determined to have an awesome summer together…and they’re not gonna let any insane quest or an array of supernatural critters get in their way! Not only is it the second title launching in our new BOOM! Box imprint but LUMBERJANES is one of those punk rock, love-everything-about-it stories that appeals to fans of basically all excellent things. It’s Buffy the Vampire Slayer meets Gravity Falls and features five butt-kicking, rad teenage girls wailing on monsters and solving a mystery with the whole world at stake. And with the talent of acclaimed cartoonist Noelle Stevenson, talented newcomer Grace Ellis writing, and Brooke Allen on art, this is going to be a spectacular series that you won’t want to miss. Collects Lumberjanes #1-#4.

Buy book
$14.99
Bookshop
$12.74
Amazon
$9.99
Used $2.00
Prices as of Apr 22
Add to list
Add to list
  • The Last Kids on Earth - Soon to be a Netflix Original series! The New York Times and USA Today bestselling series, with over two million copies in print! “Terrifyingly fun! Delivers big thrills and even bigger laughs.”–Jeff Kinney, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Diary of a Wimpy Kid Ever since the monster apocalypse hit town, average thirteen year old Jack Sullivan has been living in his tree house, which he’s armed to the teeth with catapults and a moat, not to mention video games and an endless supply of Oreos and Mountain Dew scavenged from abandoned stores. But Jack alone is no match for the hordes of Zombies and Winged Wretches and Vine Thingies, and especially not for the eerily intelligent monster known only as Blarg. So Jack builds a team: his dorky best friend, Quint; the reformed middle school bully, Dirk; Jack’s loyal pet monster, Rover; and Jack’s crush, June. With their help, Jack is going to slay Blarg, achieve the ultimate Feat of Apocalyptic Success, and be average no longer! Can he do it? Told in a mixture of text and black-and-white illustration, this is the perfect book for any kid who’s ever dreamed of starring in his or her own comic book or video game. And then grab the rest of the series, now a New York Times bestseller!

  • Dragonbreath - It’s not easy for Danny Dragonbreath to be the sole mythical creature in a school for reptiles and amphibians?especially because he can’t breathe fire like other dragons (as the school bully loves to remind him). But having a unique family comes in handy sometimes, like when his sea-serpent cousin takes Danny and his best iguana friend on a mindboggling underwater tour, complete with vomiting sea cucumbers and giant squid. It sure beats reading the encyclopedia to research his ocean report . . .<p>Using a hybrid of comic-book panels and text, Ursula Vernon introduces an irresistible set of characters with a penchant for getting themselves into sticky situations. It’s perfect for both the classroom and fans of <i>Wimpy Kid</i> and <i>Bad Kitty</i>.<br> </p>

Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.