Missing! book
#1
Missing!
Written and illustrated by Brenda Z Guiberson
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 10-14

Jimmy Hoffa, Barbara Follett, Amelia Earhart, D. B. Cooper-they all disappeared. Throughout history, individuals have gone missing without a trace; their disappearances haunt us. In this companion to Disasters: Natural and Man-Made Catastrophes through the Centuries, Brenda Guiberson explores the stories of seven individuals who have disappeared mysteriously. Thoroughly researched and illustrated with photographs and line drawings, this is exciting middle grade nonfiction. Godwin Books

To Night Owl from Dogfish book
#2
To Night Owl from Dogfish
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 10-12

Unhappy about being sent to the same summer camp after their fathers start dating, Bett and Avery, eleven, eventually begin scheming to get the couple back together after a break-up. Told entirely through text messages.

Saves the World! book
#3
Saves the World!
Written and illustrated by Adam Hargreaves
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

The irresistible new series by the author-illustrator of Mr. Men Little Miss. Molly knows what she wants to be when she grows up: a superhero. It's a great plan. She could save the world. But with Molly, mischief is never far away! In this second book of a new series, Molly wants to be a superhero, but before she can start her new job she has to answer some important questions. What powers will she have? Who are her enemies? What's her costume like? While Molly has a great imagination, and anything is possible, one thing is for sure: this will definitely end in mischief. A laugh-out-loud story for sharing, with bold, fun illustrations, this book celebrates a larger-than-life little girl learning a valuable lesson in appreciating what you've already got (unless he's your younger brother!).

My Perfect Pet book
#4
My Perfect Pet
Written and illustrated by Adam Hargreaves
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

The irresistible new series by the author-illustrator of Mr. Men Little Miss. Molly wants a pet. A big pet. But with Molly, mischief is never far away! In this first book of a new series, Molly decides that an elephant would be a perfect pet. When she brings one home, she quickly learns that "perfect" isn't quite the right word. Elephants are big. Tigers are fierce. Giraffes are tall. Will Molly ever find the perfect pet? A laugh-out-loud story for sharing, with bold, fun illustrations, this book celebrates a larger-than-life little girl learning a valuable lesson in appreciating what you've already got (unless he's your younger brother!).

The Bluest of Blues book
#5
The Bluest of Blues
Written and illustrated by Fiona Robinson
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

A gorgeous picture book biography of botanist and photographer Anna Atkins--the first person to ever publish a book of photography After losing her mother very early in life, Anna Atkins (1799-1871) was raised by her loving father. He gave her a scientific education, which was highly unusual for women and girls in the early 19th century. Fascinated with the plant life around her, Anna became a botanist. She recorded all her findings in detailed illustrations and engravings, until the invention of cyanotype photography in 1842. Anna used this new technology in order to catalogue plant specimens--a true marriage of science and art. In 1843, Anna published the book Photographs of British Algae: Cyanotype Impressions with handwritten text and cyanotype photographs. It is considered the first book of photographs ever published. Weaving together histories of women, science, and art, The Bluest of Blues will inspire young readers to embark on their own journeys of discovery and creativity.

The Smallest Elephant in the World book
#6
The Smallest Elephant in the World
Written by Alvin Tresselt and illustrated by Milton Glaser
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Mocked throughout the jungles of India, the smallest elephant in the world-no bigger than a house cat-has decided enough is enough. If he's no bigger than a house cat, then a house is where he belongs! After a long journey, this smallest elephant in the world finds himself a home with a nice little boy inside. Unfortunately, the boy's mother doesn't believe elephants make suitable house pets... First published in 1959, The Smallest Elephant in the World, written by Alvin Tresselt and illustrated by Milton Glaser, is a witty, sweet, and funny tale of friendship, unlikely disguise, and the search for home.

Ten Rules of the Birthday Wish book
#7
Ten Rules of the Birthday Wish
Written by Beth Ferry and illustrated by Tom Lichtenheld
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

A joyful picture book that celebrates every kid's favorite day of the year, full of adorable art from the illustrator of Goodnight Goodnight Construction Site and I Wish You More. The most important rule is #1: It must be your birthday. After that's been established, a crew of hilarious animals help picture book pros Tom Lichtenheld and Beth Ferry take readers through a joyous romp that covers the most important elements of every year's most essential holiday, including singing; closing your eyes and making a wish; blowing out candles on a cake, then settling into bed and dreaming of your wish coming true.

Which One Doesn't Belong? book
#8
Which One Doesn't Belong?
Written and illustrated by Christopher Danielson
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

This is not your typical shapes book. This introducti on to geometry and mathemati cal thinking will excite young readers and make math a part of their everyday lives. Celebrated math educator Christopher Danielson encourages inquiry and criti cal thinking and sparks memorable mathematical conversati ons by asking which shape in each group does not belong. There’s no one right answer—the important thing is to have a reason why. Kids might describe the shapes as squished, smooshed, dented, or even goofy. But when they justi fy their thinking, they’re talking math!

Croc & Turtle book
#9
Croc & Turtle
Written and illustrated by Mike Wohnoutka
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

For fans of Penguin and Pinecone, this adorable new duo will warm your heart and tickle your funny bone. Meet Croc! He is the strongest and fastest crocodile around. Meet Turtle! He agrees that Croc is the strongest and fastest. But what happens when Elephant lifts that heavy rock with ease? And when Cheetah speeds on by? Croc and Turtle might not be the strongest or the fastest, but they're definitely the best at something even more important . . . Introducing an utterly charming new duo, this humorous and heartwarming adventure will delight readers of all ages.

Dragons Get Colds Too book
#10
Dragons Get Colds Too
Written by Rebecca Roan and illustrated by Charles Santoso
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

For fans of Dragons Love Tacos comes a fresh, funny story that deals with everyone's least favorite thing: a cold. Is your dragon sleepy? Does he have a runny nose? Does he keep sneezing fire? Unfortunately, it sounds like your dragon has a cold. But luckily, this guide will help anxious dragon owners through the challenges of caring for their sick dragon! Balancing tongue-in-cheek humor through Charles Santoso's illustrations with gentle reassurance, this story proves that laughter really is the best medicine and will appeal to anyone who has felt under the weather.

When the World Is Full of Friends book
#11
When the World Is Full of Friends
Written by Gillian Shields and illustrated by Anna Currey
board book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

When the world is full of friends, the fun and laughter never ends. Albert, Tom, Flossie, and Pipkin love to play. And while they have fun inventing games together, their biggest wish is to have friends to share them with. One day, something magical happens. A family of squirrels moves in across the stream! They could be the perfect friends--but how will they cross the stream? With a little help from Father Rabbit, Albert, Tom, Flossie, and Pipkin will discover just how wonderful it is when the world is full of friends. This touching story from the revered team behind When the World Is Ready for Bed and When the World Was Waiting for You will warm the hearts of readers young and old.

Spy Toys: Out of Control book
#12
Spy Toys: Out of Control
Written by Mark Powers and illustrated by Tim Wesson
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Fresh from the success of their first mission, our heroes the Spy Toys – Dan the Snugaliffic Cuddlestar Bear, Arabella the Loadsasmiles Sunshine Doll and Flax the custom-made police robot rabbit – are ready for their next task. This time, the secret code that controls every Snaztacular Ultrafun toy has been stolen and all over the world toys are revolting and turning against the children who own them. Can Arabella disguise herself as a super-sweet little doll in order to spy on the daughter of Snaztacular's top scientist? Can Dan and Flax chase down Jade the Jigsaw, the puzzling prime suspect for the robbery? And can they save the day before the mind-controlled toys forget what it means to play nice? Featuring hilarious illustrations throughout, this hilarious book has reluctant reader appeal written all over it.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected] with your book and list suggestion.