Where Is Peter Rabbit? book
#1
Where Is Peter Rabbit?
Written and illustrated by Beatrix Potter
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Where has Peter Rabbit gone? Play a fun game of hide and seek with much-loved characters from the world of Beatrix Potter as you look for Peter Rabbit. Is that Peter by the blackberry bush? Is he hiding in the lettuce patch? Lift the flap and see! With easy-to-lift flaps, gentle rhyming text and charming illustrations, this Peter Rabbit story is fun to share with little ones at bedtime or anytime. The perfect introduction to Beatrix Potter for very young readers.

Badir and the Beaver book
#2
Badir and the Beaver
Written by Shannon Stewart and illustrated by Sabrina Gendron
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-8

I t’s Ramadan, a time to focus on good deeds and to fast, and Badir and his brother, Anis, are out for a walk one evening while they wait for their iftar meal. In the park Badir sees a rat. A very, very large rat. He soon learns it’s actually a beaver, an animal that doesn’t live in Tunisia, the country Badir and his family have emigrated from. It turns out that some of the neighbors who enjoy the park think this beaver is a bit of a pest, but Badir thinks it’s wonderful and learns everything he can about the iconic Canadian animal. When a petition is started to remove the beaver, Badir, who knows firsthand how difficult it is to leave your home behind, rallies his classmates to save it. And with a little help from new friends, the kids learn that collaboration and faith can change the way we think about the world.

Tank and Fizz: the Case of the Tentacle Terror book
#3
Tank and Fizz: the Case of the Tentacle Terror
Written by Liam O'Donnell and illustrated by Mike Deas
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

When valuable cargo ships vanish from Rockfall Mountain’s busiest port, crime-fighting goblin detective Fizz Marlow and his troll sleuthing partner, Tank Wrenchlin, know Dectective Hordish is going to need their help (whether he wants it or not). But it’s Tank’s mom, the harbor master who is really feeling the heat. It’s her responsibility to keep the harbor safe, and the lost ships quickly cost her her job. Determined to help, Tank, Fizz and their wizard pal, Aleetha, dive into this new mystery, only to get tangled up with a terror from below that takes the detectives far from home and puts them snout-to-snout with a band of vicious kobold pirates. The Case of the Tentacle Terror is the fifth book in the Tank & Fizz series about two crime-solving monsters living under a mountain.

Blooming Beneath The Sun book
#4
Blooming Beneath The Sun
Written by Emily Calandrelli and illustrated by Renee Kurilla
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Newbery Award honoree Ashley Bryan has hand-selected a collection of celebrated English poet Christina Rossetti’s poems to illustrate with his inimitable flourish. The world changes so quickly, but the joy and fun of being a child always remains. Christina Rossetti’s classic nursery rhymes have embodied the simple essence of childhood for centuries, and now award-winning illustrator Ashley Bryan brings new life to them with this wonderfully illustrated selection of Rossetti’s poetry. Bryan’s bright and intricate collage art perfectly complement Rossetti’s simple text, and together they create a vibrant book for both kids—and kids at heart.

Curveball book
#5
Curveball
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

In the fifth book in the New York Times bestselling middle grade series inspired by the life of iconic New York Yankee Derek Jeter, Derek spends the summer with his grandparents in Pequannock Township, New Jersey. Sometimes, you were looking for role models. And sometimes, you were being one yourself. Derek is having the best summer yet! Fun on the lake with his cousins, baseball, and a visit from his best friend, Dave: what more could he ask for? It gets even better when Derek gets to go to a Yankees game and meets a bunch of kids who play ball near the stadium, and they’re good. Awesome, actually, especially Jumbo and Tiny. Derek can’t wait to introduce them to Dave, but Grandma says if he wants to go to another Yankees game, he’ll have to earn some of the money for tickets himself. This means spending quality time with Grandpa mowing lawns and learning the meaning of hard work. Derek brings Dave to meet Tiny and Jumbo, whom Derek admires. But when Jumbo tries to convince Derek to do something he’s sure will get him in trouble, Derek has to rethink who his role models are.

Fast Break book
#6
Fast Break
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

In the sixth book in the New York Times bestselling middle grade series inspired by the life of iconic New York Yankee Derek Jeter, young Derek bites off more than he can chew when he decides to enter the school talent show and try out for the basketball team. Between promising Vijay that he’ll compete in the school talent show and promising Dave that he’ll try out for the basketball team, Derek Jeter has a lot he’s trying to juggle. A commitment is a commitment, and Derek is determined to work hard and try his best, but he worries he might be in over his head and fears he’s going to let his friends or himself down. How can Derek do it all? Inspired by Derek Jeter’s childhood, Fast Break is the sixth book in Jeter Publishing’s New York Times bestselling middle grade baseball series that focuses on key life lessons from Derek Jeter’s Turn 2 Foundation.

Nobody Hugs A Cactus book
#7
Nobody Hugs A Cactus
Written and illustrated by Carter Goodrich
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Celebrated artist and lead character designer of Brave, Ratatouille, and Despicable Me, Carter Goodrich, shows that sometimes, even the prickliest people—or the crankiest cacti—need a little love. Hank is the prickliest cactus in the entire world. He sits in a pot in a window that faces the empty desert, which is just how he likes it. So, when all manner of creatures—from tumbleweed to lizard to owl—come to disturb his peace, Hank is annoyed. He doesn’t like noise, he doesn’t like rowdiness, and definitely does not like hugs. But the thing is, no one is offering one. Who would want to hug a plant so mean? Hank is beginning to discover that being alone can be, well, lonely. So he comes up with a plan to get the one thing he thought he would never need: a hug from a friend.

Pilu Of The Woods book
#8
Pilu Of The Woods
Written and illustrated by Mai K. Nguyen
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

For fans of Hilda and the Troll comes PILU OF THE WOODS, a heartwarming and bittersweet story of friendship, loss, exploring complex emotions and finding your way home from debut creator Mai K. Nguyen. Willow loves the woods near her house. They’re calm and quiet, so different from her own turbulent emotions, which she keeps locked away. When her emotions get the better of her one day, she decides to run away into the woods. There, she meets Pilu, a lost tree spirit who can’t find her way back home—which turns out to be the magnolia grove Willow’s mom used to take her to. Willow offers to help Pilu, and the two quickly become friends. But the journey is long, and Pilu isn’t sure she’s ready to return home yet—which infuriates Willow, who’s determined to make up for her own mistakes by getting Pilu back safely. As a storm rages and Willow’s emotions bubble to the surface, they suddenly take on a physical form, putting both girls in danger… and forcing Willow to confront her inner feelings once and for all.

Project Me 2.0 book
#9
Project Me 2.0
Written and illustrated by Jan Gangsei
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-13

An eleven-year-old boy on a quest to impress his suddenly cute, longtime friend accidentally manifests a tiny internet guru into existence in this hilarious MAX novel! All class clown Farley Andrew Turner (yes, that spells FAT) wanted the summer before seventh grade was to give his image a little boost…and maybe, just maybe, impress his oldest pal, whom he has a secret crush on. But when Farley accidentally manifests a tiny internet guru into existence (think genie, but far more annoying and without any ability whatsoever to grant wishes), his entire plan goes sideways. Now, in order to rid himself of the four-inch tall pest spouting ridiculous self-help advice and doing yoga on his mouse pad, Farley must complete all “Seven Steps to a Whole New You!”—no matter how embarrassing they may be. Which is how Farley finds himself outfitted in too-small spandex and suffering through daily jogs with his super-athletic dad, attempting to read War and Peace, and agreeing to play toy guitar in his best friend Burt’s newly formed off-pitch boy band. Unfortunately, it only goes downhill from there… But hey, no one ever claimed the path to enlightenment would be easy, did they?

Let Me Sleep, Sheep! book
#10
Let Me Sleep, Sheep!
Written by Meg McKinlay and illustrated by Leila Rudge
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

Amos is counting himself to sleep. It's a good plan, until the cranky sheep land in his bedroom -- and start in with their many demands. It's bedtime for Amos, who smiles as he closes his eyes and counts some fluffy sheep trotting away in the grass. Until suddenly . . . THUD. And then another. "Not again!" says the first sheep, now on Amos's floor. "I was having my wool clipped," grumbles the second. None too happy at being interrupted, the woolly pair fire a battery of questions at Amos, most importantly: "Where's the fence?" So Amos sets out to build one to their specifications, then is asked to test it out, of course. . . . In this laugh-out-loud read-aloud, a couple of crafty sheep put a child through his paces -- and show that a tuckered-out kid at bedtime is a win-win all around.

Violet And The Mystery Of Tiger Island book
#11
Violet And The Mystery Of Tiger Island
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-12

Can YOU solve the case of Tiger Island? Join Violet Remy-Robinson, an amateur Sherlock Holmes in the making, on her fifth adventure… Violet and her friends can’t believe their luck when they’re invited to a wedding on a tropical island. But when old enemies the Du Plicitouses show up at the same hotel, and a valuable figurine goes missing, Violet is sure the sneaky family are behind it. It’s a race against time – and a hungry tiger – to uncover the truth and make sure the big day goes to plan. Complete with two-colour illustrations throughout by Becka Moor, this is a fresh and funny mystery and readers will fall in love with Violet’s quirky charm. Perfect for fans of Dixie O’Day, Ottoline and Goth Girl.

Who Let The Frogs Out? book
#12
Who Let The Frogs Out?
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

Detective brothers Frank and Joe must solve a muddy mystery in the ninth book in the interactive Hardy Boys Clue Book series. Bayport Elementary is hosting a Mud Run to celebrate spring! A particularly muddy part of the town’s park will be set aside for the race and Coach Lambert has even managed to make more mud by using the park’s hoses and shovels. Frank and Joe can’t wait to splash through the muck. But on the day of the race, the runners are stopped in their tracks by croaking, blurping bullfrogs! Lots of people in the town had been annoyed that the park was being taken over by a bunch of muddy kids. Could someone have sabotaged the race with buckets of frogs?

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected] with your book and list suggestion.