Bad Mermaids: On the Rocks book
#1
Bad Mermaids: On the Rocks
Written and illustrated by Sibeal Pounder
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Smart, daring mermaid trio Beattie, Mimi and Zelda, along with Steve the talking seahorse, may have saved the Hidden Lagoon from danger once . . . But now they're trapped aboard a spooky ship called the Merry Mary, which is heading for the legendary (and super fashionable) Crocodile Kingdom. Can they avoid a crab-tastrophe and swim against the tide to get back home? Meanwhile, on land, an ice-cream seller and gadget expert named Paris Silkensocks has uncovered a plot to destroy the mermaid world. Will she will be able to find and warn the mermaids of the impending danger before it's too late? This second book in a hilarious paper-over-board series that?s The Little Mermaid meets My Big Fat Zombie Goldfish is filled with delightful black-and-white illustrations.

My Preschool book
#2
My Preschool
Written and illustrated by Anne Rockwell
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

A little boy takes part in many activities at preschool, from cheerful hellos in circle time, to painting colorful pictures and playing at the water table before snack time, and sharing toys with new friends. The best part of saying good-bye at the end of the day is that the little boy knows he will come back tomorrow. In her signature style, Anne Rockwell captures a child's preschool experience with warmth and reassurance.

Born in the Wild book
#3
Born in the Wild
Written and illustrated by Lita Judge
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

What do grizzly bear cubs eat? Where do baby raccoons sleep? And how does a baby otter learn to swim? Every baby mammal, from a tiny harvest mouse "pinky" to a fierce lion cub, needs food, shelter, love, and a family. Filled with illustrations of some of the most adorable babies in the kingdom, this awww-inspiring book looks at the traits that all baby mammals share and proves that, even though they're born in the wild, they're not so very different from us, after all!

Homes in the Wild book
#4
Homes in the Wild
Written and illustrated by Lita Judge
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

As informative as it is lovely, Homes in the Wild is an adorable nonfiction picture book from author/illustrator Lita Judge that shows that wild creatures—from beavers to bobcats, and sloths to squirrels—aren't so different from us after all. Just like us, every baby animal has a home. Some live in complex burrows deep underground, others in simple nests high in the treetops. But all homes, regardless of where they are or how they're built, serve the same purpose: providing shelter where a baby can eat, sleep, learn, and stay safe while growing up. Animal lovers will delight in this gorgeously illustrated peek inside the homes—from burrows deep underground to nests high in the trees—where baby animals live and grow.

Welcome Home: Where Nature's Most Creative Creatures Dwell book
#5
Welcome Home: Where Nature's Most Creative Creatures Dwell
Written and illustrated by Lisa Mundorff
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Young readers will delight in the realistic and literal interpretations of where some of our most favorite animals live. Humans love to put their feet up at home after a long day--whether they're in a house, apartment, or cabin. Well, even animals have their own particular homes. Otters kick it on a couch, lions retreat to their dens, and pigeons (the city dwellers that they are) call lofts their home. Where we live is a part of us.

The Great Gran Plan book
#6
The Great Gran Plan
Written by Elli Woollard and illustrated by Steven Lenton
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

From the author of The Giant of Jum comes a rollicking new rhyming fairytale retelling in which one of the Three Little Pigs must save Little Red Riding Hood’s granny. In this riff on “Little Red Riding Hood,” the pig from “The Three Little Pigs” gets mixed up in the Big Bad Wolf's plot to eat Granny. Fortunately, Granny is a tough old bird who can take care of herself—and everyone else, too. A funny, rhyming read-aloud!

The Singing Rock and Other Brand-New Fairy Tales book
#7
The Singing Rock and Other Brand-New Fairy Tales
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-9

A genie just wants a chance to grant a wish to the frog who accidentally let him out of his lamp—meanwhile, the frog just wants to be left alone. A witch is tormented by the cheerful (and awful) singing of a persistent bard, but when she finally snaps and turns him into a rock, he just keeps on singing —somehow the power of terrible music overcomes all magic. A wizard wants a pet. An ogre just wants to make beautiful art. Four original, wry, and utterly charming fairy tales comprise this new collection for young readers. With deft, lively text from Nathaniel Lachenmeyer and eye-popping, painterly art by Simini Blocker, The Singing Rock is the perfect read for kids who love a good yarn—and good comics!

Woodstock, Baby! book
#8
Woodstock, Baby!
Written and illustrated by Spencer Wilson
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

A far-out counting board book celebrating the 50th anniversary of Woodstock! On August 15, 1969, one of the greatest events in rock history took place . . . Woodstock! Now, a rhyming text and groovy illustrations combine to create a bright and lively counting board book commemorating the 50th anniversary. Little rockers will love counting everything from peace signs and guitars to bell bottoms and bands. This out-of-sight adventure is perfect for flower children of all ages. Peace, love, and board books, baby!

Hey, Dog book
#9
Hey, Dog
Written by Tony Johnston and illustrated by Jonathan Nelson
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

A boy cares for, feeds, and helps an abused stray dog to learn to trust humans again.

In the Quiet, Noisy Woods book
#10
In the Quiet, Noisy Woods
Written by Michael J. Rosen and illustrated by Annie Won
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

A forest's quiet chorus of chirps, clicks, and chits change to loud scree-scree-screeches and other noises as two rambunctious wolf pups, separated from their pack, scamper and chase.

Two Brothers, One Tail book
#11
Two Brothers, One Tail
Written by Richard T. Morris and illustrated by Jay Fleck
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

A sweet and charming picture book about the unending love between a boy and his dog. Two brothers, two hands Two brothers, four paws Two brothers, ten fingers Two brother, ten claws With simple rhyming text by Richard T. Morris and charming illustrations from Jay Fleck, Two Brothers, One Tail is a heart-warming story about a boy and his brother, who just happens to be a dog. Perfect for fans of Bad Dog, Marley and Harry the Dirty Dog!

Frankie Sparks and the Class Pet book
#12
Frankie Sparks and the Class Pet
Written by Megan Frazer Blakemore and illustrated by Nadja Sarell
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-10

Ivy and Bean meets Aliens in my Pocket in this start to a brand-new chapter book series about Frankie Sparks, a third grader who uses her love for science and math to help her solve problems she comes across in her daily life. The best thing EVER is happening in Frankie Sparks’s third grade class: They are getting a class pet! Their teacher, Miss Cupid, tells them they will vote on their pet, but it has to meet some “parameters.” Their pet must: 1. Fit in aquarium. 2. Cost less than $50. 3. Be easily portable. 4. Be able to be left alone for the weekend. Frankie thinks that a rat—just like the rats in her beloved Aunt Gina’s lab—would be the perfect fit. But her best friend, Maya, doesn’t think a rat would be great at all. They are kind of gross and not as cool as a hermit crab, which is Maya’s top choice. Using her special workshop, can Frankie find a way to convince her teacher and her best friend that Team Rat is the way to go?

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected]!