Discover

Company
I Need to Wee! book
#205
I Need to Wee!
Written and illustrated by Sue Hendra
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

From the authors of Cake and Norman the Slug comes another wacky, laugh-out-loud picture book about a very special dance we have all had to do at some point in our lives! Alan the Bear has a problem. A big one. He really, really needs to wee. But things keep on getting in his way. With the help of his friends and a special dance, will Alan make it to the toilet in time?

Preschool, Here I Come! book
#206
Preschool, Here I Come!
Written by David J. Steinberg and illustrated by John Joven
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Get ready for a year full of firsts by the author of Kindergarten, Here I Come! From saying goodbye to parents on the very first day of school to learning classroom rules, D. J. Steinberg brings to life all the details of preschool in his fun, silly poems. Because preschool is full of firsts! Get ready for all those moments with poems that celebrate the joy of making friends, bring to life the challenges of learning, and even depict the frustration that we all sometimes feel. With poems on so many moments, this is a must-have for kids getting ready for their first day of preschool.

The Night Is Yours book
#207
The Night Is Yours
Written by Abdul-Razak Zachariah and illustrated by Keturah A. Bobo
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

From the New York Times bestselling illustrator of I Am Enough, this glowing, empowering picture book about a nighttime hide-and-seek game celebrates blackness and self-confidence. Little one, so calm and so happy, the darkness of the night is yours like the darkness of your skin. This lyrical text, narrated to a young girl named Amani by her father, follows her as she plays an evening game of hide-and-seek with friends at her apartment complex. The moon’s glow helps Amani find the last hidden child, and seems almost like a partner to her in her game, as well as a spotlight pointing out her beauty and strength. This is a gorgeous bedtime read-aloud about joy and family love and community, and most of all about feeling great in your own skin.

It's a Field Trip, Busy Bus! book
#208
It's a Field Trip, Busy Bus!
Written by Jody Jensen Shaffer and illustrated by Claire Messer
picture book
Recommend Ages: 0-8

Today is Busy Bus’s very first field trip! He takes the children to a fire house, where they meet Engine Four, a big, shiny, red firetruck. Engine Four has a hose to put out fires, a ladder to reach tall buildings, and a loud and impressive siren. Busy Bus has none of these things. Will the children still like him? This darling picture book offers a gentle exploration of jealousy and a reminder that we each have our own unique talents that make us special.

The Pigeon HAS to Go to School! book
#209
The Pigeon HAS to Go to School!
Written and illustrated by Mo Willems
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

Why does the Pigeon have to go to school? He already knows everything! And what if he doesn't like it? What if the teacher doesn't like him? What if he learns TOO MUCH!?! Ask not for whom the school bell rings; it rings for the Pigeon!

The King of Kindergarten book
#210
The King of Kindergarten
Written by Derrick Barnes and illustrated by Vanessa Brantley-Newton
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

A New York Times betseller! A confident little boy takes pride in his first day of kindergarten, by the Newbery Honor-winning author of Crown. The morning sun blares through your window like a million brass trumpets.It sits and shines behind your head--like a crown. Mommy says that today, you are going to be the King of Kindergarten! Starting kindergarten is a big milestone--and the hero of this story is ready to make his mark! He's dressed himself, eaten a pile of pancakes, and can't wait to be part of a whole new kingdom of kids. The day will be jam-packed, but he's up to the challenge, taking new experiences in stride with his infectious enthusiasm! And afterward, he can't wait to tell his proud parents all about his achievements--and then wake up to start another day. Newbery Honor-winning author Derrick Barnes's empowering story will give new kindergarteners a reassuring confidence boost, and Vanessa Brantley-Newton's illustrations exude joy.

So Big! book
#211
So Big!
Written and illustrated by Mike Wohnoutka
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

A simple, clever text paired with utterly adorable animal characters makes school-day jitters seem not so big after all! Bear is so big, and he's ready to start school! But even if you're SO BIG, you might feel a little nervous at times. Can Bear brave his first day and find a way to make it feel just right? A clever and charming story, So Big! will help young readers through all the important first steps in life. Acclaim for Dad's First Day Bank Street Best Children's Books of 2016--outstanding merit title Acclaim for Moo! An ALA Notable book A BCCB Blue Ribbon selection

Bunny in the Middle book
#212
Bunny in the Middle
Written by Anika Denise and illustrated by Christopher Denise
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-8

When you’re in the middle . . . you’re not the oldest, and you’re not the youngest. You are right in-between. There’s someone bigger who helps you. And someone smaller who needs you. From the middle, you can see both sides. But being in the middle isn’t always easy—sometimes it’s hard to know what makes you special, or how to follow a path that’s just your own. But that’s okay. As one middle bunny knows, being in the middle means you are loved ALL around. This classic picture book celebrates the remarkable empathy of middles and the joys of self-acceptance, glowingly illustrated by New York Times–bestselling artist Christopher Denise. Perfect for fans of Little Elliot.

Opposites book
#213
Opposites
Written and illustrated by Larissa Honsek
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Short and tall. Big and small. Long and short. Globally famous artist Larissa Honsek's adorable clay figures help little ones identify the difference in these important concepts.

Courageous People from Washington Who Changed the World book
#214
Courageous People from Washington Who Changed the World
Written by Heidi Poelman and illustrated by Kyle Kershner
board book
Recommend Ages: 5-6

From the creative vision of Merce Cunningham to the brave voice of Bernie Whitebear, Courageous People from Washington Who Changed the World is a young child's first introduction to the brave people from their home state who made a difference. Simple text and adorable illustrations tell the contributions of more than a dozen courageous Washingtonians: Chief Seattle, George Washington, Catherine Montgomery, Bertha Knight Landes, Dixie Lee Ray, Merce Cunningham, Bernie Whitebear, Gary Locke, Bill & Melinda Gates, and Pearl Jam (of course). A quote from each hero is included on each spread along with colorful, delightful artwork.

Bears Make the Best Math Buddies book
#215
Bears Make the Best Math Buddies
Written by Carmen Oliver and illustrated by Jean Claude
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-6

Adelaide and Bear have tackled reading together, and now they are tackling math. Adelaide stands up for her best friend and his many talents, but will she convince her teacher to let Bear be her math buddy?

Yikes!: In Seven Wild Adventures, Who Would You Be? book
#216
Yikes!: In Seven Wild Adventures, Who Would You Be?
Written and illustrated by Alison Lester
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

Packed with eccentric characters and scenes of wild adventure, this funny and exciting book for young readers is by favourite author-illustrator Alison Lester. Who would you be? On a Stormy Night at Sea, in the Wild West, under the Big Top, in the Frozen North, in a Transylvanian Castle, beyond the Milky Way, in a Steaming Jungle… Choose a character, turn the page and find out what happens! An exciting book of wild adventures from Alison Lester, beloved by Australian families for over twenty-five years.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected]!