Discover

Company
The Pigeon HAS to Go to School! book
#241
The Pigeon HAS to Go to School!
Written and illustrated by Mo Willems
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

Why does the Pigeon have to go to school? He already knows everything! And what if he doesn't like it? What if the teacher doesn't like him? What if he learns TOO MUCH!?! Ask not for whom the school bell rings; it rings for the Pigeon!

The King of Kindergarten book
#242
The King of Kindergarten
Written by Derrick Barnes and illustrated by Vanessa Brantley-Newton
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

A New York Times betseller! A confident little boy takes pride in his first day of kindergarten, by the Newbery Honor-winning author of Crown. The morning sun blares through your window like a million brass trumpets.It sits and shines behind your head--like a crown. Mommy says that today, you are going to be the King of Kindergarten! Starting kindergarten is a big milestone--and the hero of this story is ready to make his mark! He's dressed himself, eaten a pile of pancakes, and can't wait to be part of a whole new kingdom of kids. The day will be jam-packed, but he's up to the challenge, taking new experiences in stride with his infectious enthusiasm! And afterward, he can't wait to tell his proud parents all about his achievements--and then wake up to start another day. Newbery Honor-winning author Derrick Barnes's empowering story will give new kindergarteners a reassuring confidence boost, and Vanessa Brantley-Newton's illustrations exude joy.

So Big! book
#243
So Big!
Written and illustrated by Mike Wohnoutka
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

A simple, clever text paired with utterly adorable animal characters makes school-day jitters seem not so big after all! Bear is so big, and he's ready to start school! But even if you're SO BIG, you might feel a little nervous at times. Can Bear brave his first day and find a way to make it feel just right? A clever and charming story, So Big! will help young readers through all the important first steps in life. Acclaim for Dad's First Day Bank Street Best Children's Books of 2016--outstanding merit title Acclaim for Moo! An ALA Notable book A BCCB Blue Ribbon selection

Bunny in the Middle book
#244
Bunny in the Middle
Written by Anika Denise and illustrated by Christopher Denise
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-8

When you’re in the middle . . . you’re not the oldest, and you’re not the youngest. You are right in-between. There’s someone bigger who helps you. And someone smaller who needs you. From the middle, you can see both sides. But being in the middle isn’t always easy—sometimes it’s hard to know what makes you special, or how to follow a path that’s just your own. But that’s okay. As one middle bunny knows, being in the middle means you are loved ALL around. This classic picture book celebrates the remarkable empathy of middles and the joys of self-acceptance, glowingly illustrated by New York Times–bestselling artist Christopher Denise. Perfect for fans of Little Elliot.

Opposites book
#245
Opposites
Written and illustrated by Larissa Honsek
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Short and tall. Big and small. Long and short. Globally famous artist Larissa Honsek's adorable clay figures help little ones identify the difference in these important concepts.

Courageous People from Washington Who Changed the World book
#246
Courageous People from Washington Who Changed the World
Written by Heidi Poelman and illustrated by Kyle Kershner
board book
Recommend Ages: 5-6

From the creative vision of Merce Cunningham to the brave voice of Bernie Whitebear, Courageous People from Washington Who Changed the World is a young child's first introduction to the brave people from their home state who made a difference. Simple text and adorable illustrations tell the contributions of more than a dozen courageous Washingtonians: Chief Seattle, George Washington, Catherine Montgomery, Bertha Knight Landes, Dixie Lee Ray, Merce Cunningham, Bernie Whitebear, Gary Locke, Bill & Melinda Gates, and Pearl Jam (of course). A quote from each hero is included on each spread along with colorful, delightful artwork.

Bears Make the Best Math Buddies book
#247
Bears Make the Best Math Buddies
Written by Carmen Oliver and illustrated by Jean Claude
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-6

Adelaide and Bear have tackled reading together, and now they are tackling math. Adelaide stands up for her best friend and his many talents, but will she convince her teacher to let Bear be her math buddy?

Yikes!: In Seven Wild Adventures, Who Would You Be? book
#248
Yikes!: In Seven Wild Adventures, Who Would You Be?
Written and illustrated by Alison Lester
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

Packed with eccentric characters and scenes of wild adventure, this funny and exciting book for young readers is by favourite author-illustrator Alison Lester. Who would you be? On a Stormy Night at Sea, in the Wild West, under the Big Top, in the Frozen North, in a Transylvanian Castle, beyond the Milky Way, in a Steaming Jungle… Choose a character, turn the page and find out what happens! An exciting book of wild adventures from Alison Lester, beloved by Australian families for over twenty-five years.

I Was an Outer-Space Chicken book
#249
I Was an Outer-Space Chicken
Written by David LaRochelle and illustrated by Mike Gorman
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

When an alien named Fooz abducts Lamar and Lexie, the numbers-loving best friends prove they're human by solving a tricky math problem. But before Foozcan get them home, the two are captured by lumfurs: Bigfoot-like creatures. In order to escape, Lamar and Lexie must use their math skills to find patterns, make estimates, and decipher codes. Will they succeed?

Last Viking Returns The book
#250
Last Viking Returns The
Written by Norman Jorgensen and illustrated by James Foley
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Josh is as brave as a Viking warrior. And not much can scare a Viking. Not even bullies. But the two littlest Vikings are so fearless they think they’re invincible. When Pop takes the family to Viking World, the two littlest Vikings go berserk. Josh is in for one rocky ride as he discovers just how far he’ll go to keep them safe.

Where Is Galah? book
#251
Where Is Galah?
Written and illustrated by Sally Morgan
picture book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Dingo is on the prowl. He can see Emu, Swan, and Turtle. He can hear Crocodile, Frog, and Kookaburra. But where is Galah? Sally Morgan brings the Australian landscape alive in this colorful exploration of animals and animal sounds. Children will have fun with the search-and-find element. Galah is hiding on every page!

Molly's Magic Wardrobe: The Mermaid Mission book
#252
Molly's Magic Wardrobe: The Mermaid Mission
Written by Adam Guillain, Charlotte Guillain and illustrated by Garry Parsons
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Join Molly on her second magical rhyming adventure as she visits the enchanted dressing-up wardrobe in her Granny's house. There are so many costumes to choose from in her magic dressing-up wardrobe. Today she's going to be . . . a mermaid! With a whizz and a pop and a shower of stars, Molly dives below the sea and soon finds herself on a mission: she must race to save the mermaids' shipwreck from some pesky sharks!

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected]!