Discover

Company
Super Marsupials: Kangaroos, Koalas, Wombats, and More book
#253
Super Marsupials: Kangaroos, Koalas, Wombats, and More
Written by Katharine Kenah and illustrated by Stephanie Fizer Coleman
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Kangaroos, tree kangaroos, koalas, Tasmanian devils, wombats, opossums, and sugar gliders are all amazing animals! What else do these animals all have in common? They are marsupials! Learn about marsupials in this Let’s-Read-and-Find-Out Science book. People keep their babies in cribs, but animals keep their babies in all sorts of different places! Did you know that some animals keep their babies in pouches? Animals that keep their babies in soft, furry pouches are called marsupials. There are many sorts of marsupials, and they all have super amazing qualities! Did you know that koalas eat so many eucalyptus leaves, they smell like them? This book comes with a colorful infographic and an activity called Joey Day all about what it would be like to carry a marsupial joey (which means baby!) around all day long. Super Marsupials: Kangaroos, Koalas, Wombats, and More is a Level One Let’s-Read-and-Find-Out Science title, which means the book explores more challenging concepts for children in the primary grades and supports the Common Core Learning Standards, Next Generation Science Standards, and the Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM) standards. Let’s-Read-and-Find-Out is the winner of the American Association for the Advancement of Science/Subaru Science Books & Films Prize for Outstanding Science Series.

My Preschool book
#254
My Preschool
Written and illustrated by Anne Rockwell
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

A little boy takes part in many activities at preschool, from cheerful hellos in circle time, to painting colorful pictures and playing at the water table before snack time, and sharing toys with new friends. The best part of saying good-bye at the end of the day is that the little boy knows he will come back tomorrow. In her signature style, Anne Rockwell captures a child's preschool experience with warmth and reassurance.

Born in the Wild book
#255
Born in the Wild
Written and illustrated by Lita Judge
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

What do grizzly bear cubs eat? Where do baby raccoons sleep? And how does a baby otter learn to swim? Every baby mammal, from a tiny harvest mouse "pinky" to a fierce lion cub, needs food, shelter, love, and a family. Filled with illustrations of some of the most adorable babies in the kingdom, this awww-inspiring book looks at the traits that all baby mammals share and proves that, even though they're born in the wild, they're not so very different from us, after all!

Bad Mermaids: On the Rocks book
#256
Bad Mermaids: On the Rocks
Written and illustrated by Sibeal Pounder
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Smart, daring mermaid trio Beattie, Mimi and Zelda, along with Steve the talking seahorse, may have saved the Hidden Lagoon from danger once . . . But now they're trapped aboard a spooky ship called the Merry Mary, which is heading for the legendary (and super fashionable) Crocodile Kingdom. Can they avoid a crab-tastrophe and swim against the tide to get back home? Meanwhile, on land, an ice-cream seller and gadget expert named Paris Silkensocks has uncovered a plot to destroy the mermaid world. Will she will be able to find and warn the mermaids of the impending danger before it's too late? This second book in a hilarious paper-over-board series that?s The Little Mermaid meets My Big Fat Zombie Goldfish is filled with delightful black-and-white illustrations.

Welcome Home: Where Nature's Most Creative Creatures Dwell book
#257
Welcome Home: Where Nature's Most Creative Creatures Dwell
Written and illustrated by Lisa Mundorff
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Young readers will delight in the realistic and literal interpretations of where some of our most favorite animals live. Humans love to put their feet up at home after a long day--whether they're in a house, apartment, or cabin. Well, even animals have their own particular homes. Otters kick it on a couch, lions retreat to their dens, and pigeons (the city dwellers that they are) call lofts their home. Where we live is a part of us.

Two Brothers, One Tail book
#258
Two Brothers, One Tail
Written by Richard T. Morris and illustrated by Jay Fleck
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

A sweet and charming picture book about the unending love between a boy and his dog. Two brothers, two hands Two brothers, four paws Two brothers, ten fingers Two brother, ten claws With simple rhyming text by Richard T. Morris and charming illustrations from Jay Fleck, Two Brothers, One Tail is a heart-warming story about a boy and his brother, who just happens to be a dog. Perfect for fans of Bad Dog, Marley and Harry the Dirty Dog!

The Best Seat in Kindergarten book
#259
The Best Seat in Kindergarten
Written by Katharine Kenah and illustrated by Abby Carter
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

On the first day of kindergarten, everyone is new at school—including Sam! Beginning readers will love this warm introduction to all the excitement and uncertainty of starting kindergarten. From the team who wrote and illustrated The Best Seat in Second Grade, this prequel is a heartfelt story that's perfect for all children getting ready for kindergarten and other big early steps. It's Sam’s first day of kindergarten, and he's not so sure what to expect. Sam’s teacher, Ms. Tate, takes the class on a nature walk, and at the very end, everyone gets to show off what they found! Sam makes new friends when he helps everyone find interesting things for show-and-tell. The Best Seat in Kindergarten is a My First I Can Read book, which means it’s perfect for shared reading with a child.

Axel the Truck: Field Trip book
#260
Axel the Truck: Field Trip
Written by J. D. Riley and illustrated by Brandon Dorman
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Learn to read with Axel the Truck! Axel is a little truck with big, big wheels who loves exploring and adventure. In this My First I Can Read! book, Axel finds himself stuck in the mud and learns that sometimes you have to get really messy to have a whole lot of fun! Simple, declarative sentences, basic phonics, and bold illustrations make Axel perfect for emerging readers who love trucks and other vehicles that go. With a focus on transportation, bright artwork, and simple, declarative sentences, this is a great action-filled choice for newly independent readers. The playful illustrations will delight both parents and children!

The Curse of Greg book
#261
The Curse of Greg
Written by Chris Rylander
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Magic and mayhem collide in this monstrously funny middle-grade sequel to Chris Rylander’s The Legend of Greg Greg Belmont longs for the days when he thought he was an ordinary thirteen-year-old, before he learned he’s really a fantastical Dwarf in a world where the return of magic has reignited an ancient feud between the Dwarves and the Elves. But now that magic is spreading rapidly, calling forth mythical monsters that are wreaking total havoc on earth, he knows things will never go back to normal. To make matters worse, rumors are growing that the Elves are planning a sinister attack–and their new leader might be none other than Greg’s former best friend, Edwin. Before they can say “Galdervatn,” Greg and his Dwarven friends find themselves up against perilous dangers that their training has barely prepared them for. Can Greg and his bloodthirsty talking ax keep them out of harm’s way long enough to prevent all-out war? Or will epic failure find him yet again in this hilarious, action-packed sequel to The Legend of Greg?

My Weird School Fast Facts: Mummies, Myths, and Mysteries book
#262
My Weird School Fast Facts: Mummies, Myths, and Mysteries
Written by Dan Gutman and illustrated by Jim Paillot, Dan Gutman
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-10

Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School! Did you know that ancient Egyptians treated infections by putting moldy bread on them? Did you know that ancient Roman workers would stomp around barefoot in big tubs filled with urine to clean their clothes? Learn more weird-but-true ancient history facts with A.J. and Andrea from Dan Gutman’s bestselling My Weird School series. This highly illustrated series of nonfiction books features hundreds of hysterical facts, plus lots of photos and illustrations. Whether you’re a kid who wants to learn more about ancient history or simply someone who wants to know what came out of the very first vending machine, this is the book for you! With more than 23 million books sold, the My Weird School series really gets kids reading!

Frankie Sparks and the Class Pet book
#263
Frankie Sparks and the Class Pet
Written by Megan Frazer Blakemore and illustrated by Nadja Sarell
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-10

Ivy and Bean meets Aliens in my Pocket in this start to a brand-new chapter book series about Frankie Sparks, a third grader who uses her love for science and math to help her solve problems she comes across in her daily life. The best thing EVER is happening in Frankie Sparks’s third grade class: They are getting a class pet! Their teacher, Miss Cupid, tells them they will vote on their pet, but it has to meet some “parameters.” Their pet must: 1. Fit in aquarium. 2. Cost less than $50. 3. Be easily portable. 4. Be able to be left alone for the weekend. Frankie thinks that a rat—just like the rats in her beloved Aunt Gina’s lab—would be the perfect fit. But her best friend, Maya, doesn’t think a rat would be great at all. They are kind of gross and not as cool as a hermit crab, which is Maya’s top choice. Using her special workshop, can Frankie find a way to convince her teacher and her best friend that Team Rat is the way to go?

Blue Sky White Stars Bilingual Edition book
#264
Blue Sky White Stars Bilingual Edition
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

An inspiring tribute to the beauty and meaning of the American flag, a symbol of America's history and people, illustrated by New York Times bestselling and Caldecott-honor winning artist Kadir Nelson--now available with text in Spanish and English. Wonderfully spare, deceptively simple verses pair with richly evocative paintings to celebrate the iconic imagery of our nation, beginning with the American flag. Each spread, sumptuously illustrated by award-winning artist Kadir Nelson, depicts a stirring tableau, from the view of the Statue of Library at Ellis Island to civil rights marchers shoulder to shoulder, to a spacecraft at Cape Canaveral blasting off. This book is an ode to America then and now, from sea to shining sea, and is now accessible to a much larger audience in this bilingual edition.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected]!