Discover

Company
Tangled book
#545
Tangled
Written by Anne Miranda and illustrated by Eric Comstock
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

From award-winning author Anne Miranda comes a rollicking rhyming story about an unruly gang of sixteen geometric shapes who get tangled in the neighborhood jungle gym until their friend comes to their rescue and order is restored. Perfect for fans of Chicka Chicka Boom Boom! One day a little circle, just as happy as could be, got caught inside a jungle gym, and couldn’t wiggle free. When the neighborhood shapes go climbing on the park jungle gym the last thing they expect is a tangle. First the circle, next the triangle and then the square. One by one soon all sixteen shapes are trapped. They push and pull and tumble and cry for help. Who will save them? One special shape can set the others free. Can you guess which one it is? This charming story makes learning the names of sixteen shapes as easy as a day in the park.

Samuel Morse, That's Who! book
#546
Samuel Morse, That's Who!
Written by Tracy Nelson Maurer and illustrated by El Primo Ramón
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Back in the 1800s, information traveled slowly. Who would dream of instant messages? Samuel Morse, that’s who! Who traveled to France, where the famous telegraph towers relayed 10,000 possible codes for messages depending on the signal arm positions—only if the weather was clear? Who imagined a system that would use electric pulses to instantly carry coded messages between two machines, rain or shine? Long before the first telephone, who changed communication forever? Samuel Morse, that’s who! This dynamic and subtsantive biography celebrates an early technology pioneer. Perfect for fans of Gene Barretta's popular inventor series.

Llama Llama Happy Birthday! book
#547
Llama Llama Happy Birthday!
Written and illustrated by Anna Dewdney
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

It's Llama Llama's birthday in this 8x8 based on an episode of the animated Netflix series. Look out, world--Llama Llama is a TV star! The beloved character, made famous by Anna Dewdney's best-selling picture books, is the star of his own original series, now airing on Netflix. In this episode-based 8x8, Llama Llama is worried that his friends have forgotten about his birthday, but he's in for a big surprise when they throw him a party! Your little llamas will love relating to their favorite picture book character as he faces new and challenging situations.

Moth book
#548
Moth
Written by Isabel Thomas and illustrated by Daniel Egneus
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-10

Powerful and visually spectacular, Moth is the remarkable evolution story that captures the struggle of animal survival against the background of an evolving human world in a unique and atmospheric introduction to Darwin's theory of Natural Selection. “This is a story of light and dark...” Against a lush backdrop of lichen-covered trees, the peppered moth lies hidden. Until the world begins to change... Along come people with their magnificent machines which stain the land with soot. In a beautiful landscape changed by humans how will one little moth survive? A clever picture book text about the extraordinary way in which animals have evolved, intertwined with the complication of human intervention. This remarkable retelling of the story of the peppered moth is the perfect introduction to natural selection and evolution for children.

The Girl Who Sailed the Stars book
#549
The Girl Who Sailed the Stars
Written and illustrated by Matilda Woods
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

When Oona Britt was born in the magical town of Nordlor, where all of the homes are built from wrecked ships, her parents never expected her to be a girl. Having listened to a faulty prediction from a washed-up soothsayer, they were promised a “bold and brave son,” so as the youngest of seven sisters, Oona’s birth became a disappointment — especially to her sea captain father, who doesn’t believe there’s a place for girls aboard ships. But Oona is different from the rest of her family. She longs for adventure and knowledge. So she steals aboard her father’s ship just as he’s about to set sail for his annual winter whale hunt, and suddenly finds herself in the midst of a grand adventure! The ship has its own sea cat, Barnacles, and a navigator named Haroyld, who show Oona how to follow the stars. But for all that, Oona’s father is furious. Can she prove to him that she’s worth his love and pride, even though she’s not the bold and brave son he was promised? This follow-up to The Boy, the Bird & the Coffin Maker carries just as much heart and charm as Matilda Woods’s first novel. The characters, story, and illustrations will dazzle readers.

  1. Good Night Mindful Child - Good Night Here and Now explores the senses, focusing the mind, breathing exercises, relaxing, kindness, how to use imagination, thinking calm thoughts prior to falling asleep, and beautiful images of animals and nature. This charming board book presents mindfulness in kid-friendly ways. Children are naturally mindful and curious; Goodnight Here and Now helps kids strengthen those natural tendencies to build resiliency in fun ways. This book is part of the bestselling Good Night Our World series, which includes hundreds of titles exploring iconic locations and exciting themes.

  2. Bug Off! - Maude wants to be a member of the Bug-of-the-Month Club in her new neighborhood and decides that her entrance speech will be about fireflies. She reads, she researches, she prepares, and she delivers a speech that all the club members love—except for hard-to-please Louise. Louise won't even let Maude in the club! So Maude vows to really let Louise have it for being so rude—but when she does, it's not in the way anyone expects. A sparkly story about friendship, kindness, and inclusion—packed with info about fireflies, too!

Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did we miss one of your favorites? Let us know in the comments below!