Discover

Company
My Teacher Is a Robot book
#545
My Teacher Is a Robot
Written and illustrated by Jeffrey Brown
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

From the author of the New York Times bestselling Jedi Academy books comes an imaginative picture book about a kid whose creative outlook has everyone at school seeing the world through new eyes. Perfect for fans of The Adventures of Beekle and The Most Magnificent Thing. Fred does not want to go to school because it's boring. Especially since he thinks his teacher is a robot. If only Fred could imagine a way for his day to be more exciting... An inventively funny picture book that celebrates the boundlessness of a child's imagination and celebrates the teachers, families, and friends who get wrapped up in their fantastic worlds.

Puppy Truck book
#546
Puppy Truck
Written and illustrated by Brian Pinkney
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

Find out what happens when a boy who wants a puppy gets a truck instead in this simple and sweet picture book from Caldecott Honor winner Brian Pinkney. Vroom…beep…bark! Carter wants a puppy, but he gets a truck instead. So he pets it, puts a leash around it, and takes it to the park. But the truck won’t sit still! What will Carter do with his rascally Puppy Truck?

The Girl Who Sailed the Stars book
#547
The Girl Who Sailed the Stars
Written and illustrated by Matilda Woods
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

When Oona Britt was born in the magical town of Nordlor, where all of the homes are built from wrecked ships, her parents never expected her to be a girl. Having listened to a faulty prediction from a washed-up soothsayer, they were promised a “bold and brave son,” so as the youngest of seven sisters, Oona’s birth became a disappointment — especially to her sea captain father, who doesn’t believe there’s a place for girls aboard ships. But Oona is different from the rest of her family. She longs for adventure and knowledge. So she steals aboard her father’s ship just as he’s about to set sail for his annual winter whale hunt, and suddenly finds herself in the midst of a grand adventure! The ship has its own sea cat, Barnacles, and a navigator named Haroyld, who show Oona how to follow the stars. But for all that, Oona’s father is furious. Can she prove to him that she’s worth his love and pride, even though she’s not the bold and brave son he was promised? This follow-up to The Boy, the Bird & the Coffin Maker carries just as much heart and charm as Matilda Woods’s first novel. The characters, story, and illustrations will dazzle readers.

Look!: Babies Head to Toe book
#548
Look!: Babies Head to Toe
Written by Robie H. Harris and illustrated by Anoosha Syed
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

An adorable book introducing the youngest readers to the names of their body parts, from head to toe! Look! Babies Head to Toe is an exuberant introduction to the parts of the body and the senses. Filled with fun, repetitive sounds and a melodic voice, this book will captivate babies and toddlers. It's the perfect follow-up to Harris's first board book, Who?: A Celebration of Babies.

Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True book
#549
Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True
Written by Amy Krouse Rosenthal and illustrated by Brigette Barrager
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Brigette Barrager reunite to bring us a sparkly, magical sequel to Uni the Unicorn! The Land of Unicorns is in trouble -- it has been raining and raining for what seems like forever. This is a big problem because there are only three ways that unicorns can get their magic: from the golden sun, from magnificent rainbows, and from the sparkle of believing. Luckily, Uni the Unicorn has always always always believed...that little girls are REAL. Join this very special unicorn and the little girl who believes right back as they finally meet and work together to save a magical land and all who live there! Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Brigette Barrager reunite to revive this world glowing with possibility and hope that is the stuff of childhood fantasies.

  1. Nadya Skylung and the Masked Kidnapper - Nadya Skylung paid a high price when she defeated the pirates on the cloudship Remora- She lost her leg. But has she lost her nerve too? When Nadya and the rest of the crew of the cloudship Orion reach the port of Far Agondy, they have a lot to do, including a visit to Machinist Gossner's workshop to have a prosthetic made for Nadya. But though the pirates are far away across the Cloud Sea, Nadya and her friends are still not safe. A gang leader called Silvermask is kidnapping skylung and cloudling children in Far Agondy. When Nadya's friend Aaron is abducted, Nayda will stop at nothing to save him and the other missing kids, and put a stop to Silvermask once and for all.

Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did we miss one of your favorites? Let us know in the comments below!