Discover

Company
1, 2, 3, Jump! book
#313
1, 2, 3, Jump!
Written by Lisl Detlefsen and illustrated by Madeline Valentine
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

First swimming lessons can be exciting and terrifying, but this joyful and imaginative guide shows young readers how to conquer the pool. From what to wear (a bathing suit, of course!) to what to expect (no, your teacher will not be a mermaid), 3, 2, 1 Jump! covers the what if’s and how to’s of getting in the pool for the first time. There’s a lot to worry about (Can I be sucked into the filter?) and even more to be excited about (When can I wear flippers?), and our narrator has thought of everything. By the time she’s ready, you to will want to jump in!

Girls with Guts! book
#314
Girls with Guts!
Written by Debbie Gonzales and illustrated by Rebecca Gibbon
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

No chasing! No stretching or straining! And never, ever sweat. These were the rules girls were forced to play by until Title IX passed in 1972. And it was a game-changer. A celebration of the strength, endurance, and athleticism of women and girls throughout the ages, Play Like a Girl keeps score with examples of women athletes from the late 1800s up through the 1970s, sharing how women refused to take no for an answer, and how finally, they pushed for a law to protect their right to play, compete, and be athletes.

The Rose Legacy book
#315
The Rose Legacy
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

This sweeping, emotionally-resonant fantasy from beloved author Jessica Day George is perfect for fans of Princess Academy and Black Beauty. When orphaned Anthea Cross-Thornley receives a letter from a long-lost uncle, she wonders if she will finally find a true home. But she is shocked to learn that her uncle secretly breeds horses--animals that have been forbidden in her kingdom for centuries. More alarming is Anthea's strange ability to sense the horses' thoughts and feelings, an ancient gift called The Way. Confused and terrified, Anthea is desperate to leave, but when her family and kingdom are put at risk, can she embrace The Way and the exciting future it might bring her?

The Queen’s Secret book
#316
The Queen’s Secret
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Bestselling author Jessica Day George continues her heartfelt fantasy series about a girl who can communicate with horses and a kingdom on the brink of collapse. Anthea knows the truth about horses. They're not carriers of deadly disease like everyone in their kingdom thinks; they're majestic creatures who share their thoughts and feelings with her through The Way. Anthea has convinced the king of this, but at a cost--he demands that horses and riders with The Way do his bidding. But when a deadly plague breaks out, the people believe that horses are the cause. As more fall ill, it's up to Anthea and her friends to transport medicine, all while keeping out of reach from Anthea's wicked mother. And when Anthea discovers a secret that could change the kingdom forever, she must risk everything to reveal the truth before it's too late. Continuing the sweeping storytelling of The Rose Legacy, bestselling author Jessica Day George delights readers--especially horse lovers--once again.

Pout-Pout Fish: Back to School book
#317
Pout-Pout Fish: Back to School
Written by Deborah Diesen and illustrated by Dan Hanna
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Get ready to go back to school with the Pout-Pout Fish! Mr. Fish is going back to school to be a substitute teacher, and he's nervous—until he meets a little guppy who can help him! At an affordable price point, and with two pages of stickers, this new format is fun and accessible for Mr. Fish's fans and newcomers alike.

Saving Emma the Pig book
#318
Saving Emma the Pig
Written by John Chester and illustrated by Jennifer Meyer
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Welcome to Apricot Lane Farm, a unique world full of true stories about heartwarming animals’ relationships and the special people who care for them. When Emma the pig arrives at the Apricot Lane Farm, she is about to give birth to piglets. But she is also sick, and after her seventeen babies arrive, Emma is unable to care for them. Taking care of seventeen piglets and a sick mama pig are a challenge for Farmer John and his team. But the cure for Emma reminds them what is most important—for pigs and for humans: love and friendship.

It Feels Good to Be Yourself book
#319
It Feels Good to Be Yourself
Written by Theresa Thorn and illustrated by Noah Grigni
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Some people are boys. Some people are girls. Some people are both, neither, or somewhere in between. This sweet, straightforward exploration of gender identity will give children a fuller understanding of themselves and others. With child-friendly language and vibrant art, It Feels Good to Be Yourself provides young readers and parents alike with the vocabulary to discuss this important topic with sensitivity.

Now What? a Math Tale book
#320
Now What? a Math Tale
Written by Robie H. Harris and illustrated by Chris Chatterton
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Solve a problem with Puppy and a bag full of blocks! Robie H. Harris and Chris Chatterton team up for another gentle introduction to early math concepts. Puppy wants to build a bed out of blocks, one that is wide enough and long enough for a snooze. But there aren't enough rectangles, squares, and triangles. NOW WHAT? Build, measure, count, compare! Follow along as Puppy tries again and again and again and finally figures out how blocks of different shapes and sizes can fit together to build a bed that's just the right size for a nap.

Tom Gates: Extra Special Treats (Not) book
#321
Tom Gates: Extra Special Treats (Not)
Written and illustrated by L. Pichon
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Between snowstorms, visiting relatives, and chocolate raisins, everything's piling up around Tom Gates in his sixth doodle-packed diary. Tom's hoping to be made a Star Pupil at school, but that means he needs to put more effort into his homework than his doodles. Easier said than done! Meanwhile, his grandparents (the Fossils) are about to celebrate their fiftieth wedding anniversary, and Uncle Kevin wants to plan something special. Then the cold weather turns to snow and school gets canceled, leaving Tom is snowed in at home with quite the crew, including his especially grumpy sister, Delia; his cousins, and his annoying classmate, Marcus Meldrew. Aren't snow days supposed to be fun?

Waiting for Chicken Smith book
#322
Waiting for Chicken Smith
Written and illustrated by David Mackintosh
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

A story about childhood friendships, anticipation, and the magic moments that arise while you're waiting for something else to happen. Every year a young boy stays in the same cabin at the beach with his family. And every year his friend Chicken Smith stays in the next cabin over. But this year, something's different: Chicken Smith hasn't shown up yet. The boy's little sister, MaryAnn, keeps trying to get his attention, but he's too busy remembering all of his adventures with Chicken Smith -- and thinking about everything they're going to do this summer. Is Chicken ever going to show up? And just what has MaryAnn been yelling about? David Mackintosh's ode to small summer wonders will make readers of all ages open their eyes to the quick, blink-and-you'll-miss-it moments happening all around them.

Pie in the Sky book
#323
Pie in the Sky
Written by Remy Lai
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-11

A poignant, laugh-out-loud illustrated middle-grade novel about an eleven-year-old boy's immigration experience, his annoying little brother, and their cake-baking hijinks! Sometimes life isn't a piece of cake . . . When Jingwen moves to a new country, he feels like he’s landed on Mars. School is torture, making friends is impossible since he doesn’t speak English, and he's often stuck looking after his (extremely irritating) little brother, Yanghao. To distract himself from the loneliness, Jingwen daydreams about making all the cakes on the menu of Pie in the Sky, the bakery his father had planned to open before he unexpectedly passed away. The only problem is his mother has laid down one major rule: the brothers are not to use the oven while she's at work. As Jingwen and Yanghao bake elaborate cakes, they'll have to cook up elaborate excuses to keep the cake making a secret from Mama. In her hilarious, emotional middle-grade debut, Remy Lai delivers a scrumptious combination of vibrant graphic art and pitch-perfect writing that will appeal to fans of Real Friends.

Fish Everywhere book
#324
Fish Everywhere
Written and illustrated by Britta Teckentrup
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

Best-selling illustrator Britta Teckentrup explores the world of fish in a sumptuously illustrated nonfiction book. There are fish everywhere! Some of them live in fresh water, some of them live under ice, and some even live in the desert. Fish Everywhere is the first in a series of nonfiction books from Britta Teckentrup. Young readers will learn where in the world all sorts of animals can be found and all the weird and wonderful things that they never imagined were true. This is nonfiction with spark and personality from a much-loved illustrator.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected]!