Discover

Company
A Little Book About Colors book
#325
A Little Book About Colors
Written by Leo Lionni and illustrated by Jan Gerardi
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

A new board book for the youngest fans of Leo Lionni--inspired by his bestselling classics! Discover a world full of color in this delightful board book inspired by the works of legendary children's book author and illustrator Leo Lionni. With sturdy pages and engaging artwork, this colorful book is perfect for boys and girls ages 0 to 3. It makes a great baby shower gift!

Time Sight book
#326
Time Sight
Written by Lynne Jonell
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-11

Castles, battles, the ancient Scottish Highlands, and a boy who is determined to bring everyone safely home combine in this absorbing middle grade time-travel adventure. Will’s mother is in danger overseas, and his father must find her, so Will and his little brother are packed off to relatives in Scotland. Will feels useless. He can’t save his mother. He can’t help his father. And when he tries to amuse his brother on the plane ride, he can’t even locate the images in Jamie’s book—the hidden pictures that everyone else can see. Once at the family’s ancestral castle, though, Will tries again. And as he delicately adjusts his focus, suddenly his eyes tune in to a different visual frequency—the past. Looking back five hundred years is interesting . . . at first. But when Jamie impulsively leaps through the opening in time, Will and his cousin Nan must follow, into a past so dangerous that Will isn’t sure how he will get everyone safely home.

Now What? a Math Tale book
#327
Now What? a Math Tale
Written by Robie H. Harris and illustrated by Chris Chatterton
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Solve a problem with Puppy and a bag full of blocks! Robie H. Harris and Chris Chatterton team up for another gentle introduction to early math concepts. Puppy wants to build a bed out of blocks, one that is wide enough and long enough for a snooze. But there aren't enough rectangles, squares, and triangles. NOW WHAT? Build, measure, count, compare! Follow along as Puppy tries again and again and again and finally figures out how blocks of different shapes and sizes can fit together to build a bed that's just the right size for a nap.

Nelly Takes New York book
#328
Nelly Takes New York
Written by Allison Pataki, Marya Myers and illustrated by Kristi Valiant
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

The Big Apple may be hiding in the place you least expect it in this spunky introduction to the best parts of New York. Nelly lives in New York, the greatest city in the world. Every morning, she wakes up to the rumble of the subways and the honking of cars. Every morning, she can smell the food cart downstairs and hear the rat-a-tat-tat of the street musicians outside. Every morning, she goes outside to be in the city she knows like the back of her hand—or does she? One morning, Nelly and her dog Bagel decide to find out what New York is really about—or more specifically, why a city that has nothing to do with apples is the Biggest Apple of them all. Could there really be a giant apple somewhere in New York? And where is it hiding?

Tom Gates: Extra Special Treats (Not) book
#329
Tom Gates: Extra Special Treats (Not)
Written and illustrated by L. Pichon
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Between snowstorms, visiting relatives, and chocolate raisins, everything's piling up around Tom Gates in his sixth doodle-packed diary. Tom's hoping to be made a Star Pupil at school, but that means he needs to put more effort into his homework than his doodles. Easier said than done! Meanwhile, his grandparents (the Fossils) are about to celebrate their fiftieth wedding anniversary, and Uncle Kevin wants to plan something special. Then the cold weather turns to snow and school gets canceled, leaving Tom is snowed in at home with quite the crew, including his especially grumpy sister, Delia; his cousins, and his annoying classmate, Marcus Meldrew. Aren't snow days supposed to be fun?

Girls with Guts! book
#330
Girls with Guts!
Written by Debbie Gonzales and illustrated by Rebecca Gibbon
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

No chasing! No stretching or straining! And never, ever sweat. These were the rules girls were forced to play by until Title IX passed in 1972. And it was a game-changer. A celebration of the strength, endurance, and athleticism of women and girls throughout the ages, Play Like a Girl keeps score with examples of women athletes from the late 1800s up through the 1970s, sharing how women refused to take no for an answer, and how finally, they pushed for a law to protect their right to play, compete, and be athletes.

G Is for Golazo book
#331
G Is for Golazo
Written by James Littlejohn and illustrated by Matthew Shipley
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

S is for soccer. F is for football, and fútbol, and fußball... No matter what you call it, everyone loves the beautiful game! The creators of B is for Baller return with a vibrant, stylish parade of soccer legends. Featuring dozens of international superstars like Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Neymar, Pelé, Diego Maradona, Marta, Mia Hamm, and Abby Wambach, G is for Golazo is the ultimate ABC book for budding soccer fans.

Bear's Book book
#332
Bear's Book
Written by Claire Freedman and illustrated by Alison Friend
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

A story about stories, writing, reading, and friendship When Bear's favorite book of stories falls apart, he is determined to write one of his own. He ventures into the forest for inspiration, but writing is harder than he thinks, and he soon discovers that he needs help from his friends. See how Bear transforms their day into a wonderful adventure in this story about creativity and friendship.

Theodore Boone book
#333
Theodore Boone
Written by John Grisham
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Theodore Boone is back on the case in an all-new adventure! Bestselling author John Grisham delivers a page-turning legal thriller for a new generation of readers. Theo has been worried about his good friend Woody Lambert. Woody is struggling at school and making bad choices. But when Woody is arrested—an unwitting accomplice to armed robbery—Theo knows he is innocent. Racing the clock while Woody sits in jail, Theo will do everything in his power to help his friend and save Woody from an unforgiving system where justice is not equal for all. Brimming with the intrigue and suspense that made John Grisham a #1 international bestseller and undisputed master of the modern legal thriller, Theodore Boone’s trials and triumphs will keep readers hooked until the very last page.

Good Night, World book
#334
Good Night, World
Written by Willa Perlman and illustrated by Carolyn Fisher
board book
Recommend Ages: 1-4

This Classic Board Book edition of Good Night, World is a charming bedtime book that celebrates the wonders of the natural world. Good night sun and other stars, good night Saturn, Venus, Mars. Elsewhere in the world it’s light, it’s morning there, but here it’s night. As the sun sets from east to west, this soothing board book takes children on a magical round-the-world journey to bid good night to the world’s natural wonders, from plants and animals to mountains, oceans, and wide desert plains. Willa Perlman’s soothing, lyrical text combines with Carolyn Fisher’s sweeping illustrations to paint a vivid picture of everything, everywhere going to sleep—including an imaginative little boy.

The Rose Legacy book
#335
The Rose Legacy
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

This sweeping, emotionally-resonant fantasy from beloved author Jessica Day George is perfect for fans of Princess Academy and Black Beauty. When orphaned Anthea Cross-Thornley receives a letter from a long-lost uncle, she wonders if she will finally find a true home. But she is shocked to learn that her uncle secretly breeds horses--animals that have been forbidden in her kingdom for centuries. More alarming is Anthea's strange ability to sense the horses' thoughts and feelings, an ancient gift called The Way. Confused and terrified, Anthea is desperate to leave, but when her family and kingdom are put at risk, can she embrace The Way and the exciting future it might bring her?

Surfboard to Peril: A Miss Mallard Mystery book
#336
Surfboard to Peril: A Miss Mallard Mystery
Written and illustrated by Robert Quackenbush
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

While surfing in Hawaii, Miss Mallard launches into one of her most dangerous cases—one which involves the ownership of sacred land and leads to kidnapping, mistaken identities, bribery, blackmail, and death-defying chases.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected]!