Discover

Company
Sam the Man & the Cell Phone Plan book
#337
Sam the Man & the Cell Phone Plan
Written by Frances O’Roark Dowell and illustrated by Amy June Bates
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

Sam Graham wants a cell phone to help him with his research, but when his parents say no, he has to come up with another way to keep all the info he needs in his pocket in this hilarious fifth chapter book in the Sam the Man series from Frances O’Roark Dowell. Here are the facts: Sam Graham is an information man. But to get information, you need to do research. You never know when you’ll need an urgent piece of info—like, say, the number for a chicken emergency hotline—so a resource for instant research is a must! This is why Sam needs a cell phone. Unfortunately, Mom and Dad disagree. So, Sam has to come up with a plan. But what is small enough to fit in your pocket and can hold all the information you need? Sam will have to go old-school with his latest plan and use a handy notebook instead. Luckily, retro is in, and a la Nick in Andrew Clements’s Frindle, Sam might just start the latest trend!

Hold Hands book
#338
Hold Hands
Written and illustrated by Sara Varon
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Hold hands each time you cross the street. Hold hands on the bus if you don’t have a seat. Hold hands when you say goodbye. And also when you’re jumping high. Everybody holds hands. You can hold hands with your little brother or your best friend. You can hold hands with your classmate or even your favorite doll! In Hold Hands, beloved graphic novelist and children's book author Sara Varon offers a sweet rhyming story about friendship and connection. Gather up your little ones, hold their hands, and share this heartwarming book.

Albert's Quiet Quest book
#339
Albert's Quiet Quest
Written and illustrated by Isabelle Arsenault
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Albert wants a quiet place to read...but his friends just want to play! Can they figure out how to have fun together? Albert's home is very loud -- and all he wants to do is read! He escapes outside for some peace, and thinks he's found it at last. But, one by one, his friends boistrously infiltrate his space until Albert just can't take it anymore...and snaps! How will his friends react? While they leave him alone at first, they slowly return...with books in hand. This beautifully illustrated story models flexible, empathic play, and articulates a range of ways a group can have fun together. A useful tool for any classroom or neighborhood!

Clara Voyant book
#340
Clara Voyant
Written and illustrated by Rachelle Delaney
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

A wannabe journalist and reluctant astrologer turns out to be clairvoyant in this charming middle-grade coming-of-age novel; for fans of Rebecca Stead’s novels. Clara can’t believe her no-nonsense grandmother has just up and moved to Florida, leaving Clara and her mother on their own for the first time. This means her mother can finally “follow her bliss,” which involves moving to a tiny apartment in Kensington Market, working at a herbal remedy shop and trying to develop her so-called mystical powers. Clara tries to make the best of a bad situation by joining the newspaper staff at her new middle school, where she can sharpen her investigative journalistic skills and tell the kind of hard-news stories her grandmother appreciated. But the editor relegates her to boring news stories and worse . . . the horoscopes. Worse yet, her horoscopes come true, and soon everyone at school is talking about Clara Voyant, the talented fortune-teller. Clara is horrified — horoscopes and clairvoyance aren’t real, she insists, just like her grandmother always told her. But when a mystery unfolds at school, she finds herself in a strange situation: having an opportunity to prove herself as an investigative journalist . . . with the help of her own mystical powers.

Out of Place book
#341
Out of Place
Written by Jennifer Blecher and illustrated by Merrilee Liddiard
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

When twelve-year-old Cove Bernstein becomes the target of a school-wide bullying campaign, she sets out to find a way to leave her home on Martha’s Vineyard for New York City, where her best friend lives. But Cove discovers that friends can appear in the unlikeliest places, and maybe home isn’t the worst place to be after all. Jennifer Blecher’s debut novel is a voice-driven story about bullying, friendship, and self-reliance that hits the sweet spot for fans of Ali Benjamin’s The Thing About Jellyfish and Erin Entrada Kelly’s You Go First. Twelve-year-old Cove Bernstein’s year has gone from bad to worse. First, her best friend, Nina, moved from Martha’s Vineyard to New York City. Then, without Nina around, Cove became the target of a bullying campaign at school. Escape seems impossible. But opportunities can appear when you least expect them. Cove’s visit to a secondhand clothing store leads her to a surprising chance to visit Nina, but only if she can win a coveted place in a kids-only design competition. Cove doesn’t know how to sew, but her friend at the retirement home, Anna, has promised to teach her. And things start really looking up when a new kid at school, Jack, begins appearing everywhere Cove goes. Then Cove makes a big mistake. One that could ruin every good thing that has happened to her this year. One that she doesn’t know how to undo. Jennifer Blecher’s accessible and beautifully written debut novel explores actions and consequences, loneliness, bullying, and finding your voice. This voice-driven friendship story is for fans of Rebecca Stead’s Goodbye Stranger and Jodi Kendall’s The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City. Includes black-and-white spot art throughout.

Back to School book
#342
Back to School
Written by Maya Ajmera and illustrated by John D Ivanko
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Ajmera, the founder of the Global Fund for Children, and award-winning photographer Ivanko invite children to share the exciting experience of learning with kids just like themselves all over the world in this book filled with beautiful, joy-filled, photos of children studying, learning, exploring, and having fun. Full color.

You Are Home book
#343
You Are Home
Written and illustrated by Evan Turk
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Award-winning author and illustrator Evan Turk showcases the beauty and importance of the National Parks in this gorgeous picture book that takes readers on an amazing tour across the United States. Beneath the soaring doorways of stone, and peaks that pierce the ceiling of clouds, from every river, star, and stone comes the eternal refrain: you are home. In simple, soaring language and breathtaking art, acclaimed author-illustrator Evan Turk has created a stirring ode to nature and nation. From the rugged coast of Maine to the fiery volcanoes of Hawaii, You Are Home reminds us that every animal, plant, and person helps make this land a brilliant, beautiful sanctuary of life.

It's Not a Bed, It's a Time Machine book
#344
It's Not a Bed, It's a Time Machine
Written by Mickey Rapkin and illustrated by Teresa Martinez
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Bedtime can be frightening—a dark room, spooky shadows, silence. Our narrator worries about what’s hiding in the dark, until his stuffed bunny, Floppy, tells him a secret: His bed is really a time machine. And they set off on an adventure into the past, to the coolest time ever—the age of the dinosaurs—to meet the coolest animal ever—the tyrannosaurus rex! This night’s sleep will span millions of years, but it’s so fun it’ll feel like it’s over in the blink of an eye. It’s Not a Bed, It’s a Time Machine is the ultimate goodnight picture book, showing that going to sleep is nothing to be afraid of. Instead, it’s just the beginning of a time-spanning adventure.

Artsy Cats Board Book book
#345
Artsy Cats Board Book
Written by Mudpuppy and illustrated by Angie Rozelaar
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-5

A pawsitively purrfect tour through modern art history! Introduce modern art meowsters with this book of adorable cat portraits, each inspired by an iconic style of art. The Artsy Cats Board Book from Mudpuppy features clever kitty-inspired artist names and painting credits, from Clawed Monet to Paw Klee. - 28 sturdy pages - Book trim: 7 x 7''

Unicorn Day book
#346
Unicorn Day
Written by Diana Murray and illustrated by Luke Flowers
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Hooray! Hooray! It's Unicorn Day! When unicorns come out to play. The most important rule of Unicorn Day is to have fun, fun, fun! The unicorns are celebrating their favorite day of the year, complete with rainbows, cupcakes, butterflies, and all sorts of joyful things. But when it's revealed there's an impostor in their midst, the party comes to a screeching halt... Will the unicorns welcome all and continue their fun in all its glittery glory? A clever, colorful, and over-the-top picture book about unicorns, celebrations, and most importantly, friendship.

I Love My Llamacorn book
#347
I Love My Llamacorn
Written by Danielle McLean and illustrated by Prisca Le Tande
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

The cutest half-unicorn half-llama you can possibly imagine comes to life in this rainbow-colored confection of a board book! Do you love llamas? How about unicorns? Now imagine if you smushed them together and added a zillion rainbows and some magic! You'd get a whole new best friend in the shape of...a LLAMACORN! Llamacorns are fleecy, sparkly creatures that are full of love and kindness, and can make all your dreams come true. In this rhyming board book, a die-cut heart shines a new color of the rainbow on to every page! Kids and adults will giggle and swoon over this fantastical creature, deliciously rendered in bold jewel tones.

I'm Worried book
#348
I'm Worried
Written by Michael Ian Black and illustrated by Debbie Ridpath Ohi
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

A girl, a flamingo, and a worried potato star in the third book in New York Times bestselling author Michael Ian Black and illustrator Debbie Ridpath Ohi’s series about feelings—and why they’re good, even when they feel bad. Potato is worried. About everything. Because anything might happen. When he tells his friends, he expects them to comfort him by saying that everything will be okay. Except they don’t. Because it might not be, and that’s okay too. Still, there’s one thing they can promise for sure: no matter what happens…they will always be by his side.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected]!