Discover

Company
A Turtle's Dangerous Journey book
#25
A Turtle's Dangerous Journey
Written by Mary Ellen Klukow and illustrated by Albert Pinilla
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-8

Animals face scary challenges every day! These narrative nonfiction books focus on describing the changes to animals habitats that affect the animal's way of life-or even puts their species at risk of dying out! Readers will learn about the reasons for changes in habitats that affect animals and small steps they can take to help protect them. A turtle is making her way across a highway to find a nesting spot. She avoids being run over, only to find trash in the nesting grounds which will attract predators to her eggs. Will the turtle survive this dangerous journey? This narrative nonfiction title includes a range map, notes on how to help turtles, further resources, and a glossary.

Looking for Yesterday book
#26
Looking for Yesterday
Written and illustrated by Alison Jay
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

If yesterday was the best day ever, wouldn't it be great to find a way to repeat it? A whimsical tale about happiness with sure appeal for science-minded kids -- and wise grandparents -- everywhere. What could beat yesterday's perfect day at the fair? Maybe nothing, one boy thinks, and he wishes he could go back and do it again. So he puts all his scientific knowledge to work, from stars to time machines to wormholes (is it possible he could find one in his garden?). He thinks that maybe Grandad could help him. But Grandad, in sharing some memories from his own past, reminds him that every new day brings the chance of a new adventure. With quirky illustrations imparting a sense of wonder, Alison Jay takes a fanciful look at being content in the here and now.

Babysitting Nightmares: The Twilight Curse book
#27
Babysitting Nightmares: The Twilight Curse
Written by Kat Shepherd
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

The Baby-Sitters Club meets Goosebumps in the third book of this series about a group of girls who face down supernatural threats on their babysitting gigs. Anchored by a strong friendship between smart, savvy girls, this fun adventure story is filled with “safe scary” jump scares that will appeal to contemporary readers as well as fans of mysteries. When the town's old movie palace is converted into a theater, Maggie is thrilled to get a job helping with the first production. She may just be babysitting the director's kids, but Maggie is determined to learn everything she can about acting. Unfortunately, a devilish ghoul seems to have other plans for the performance! It’s up to Maggie and her three best friends to vanquish the threat in time for opening night.

Bad Kitty: Searching for Santa book
#28
Bad Kitty: Searching for Santa
Written and illustrated by Nick Bruel
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Kitty's back for another Christmas tale- this time involving Santa and complete with a colorful poster! In this hilarious story, Kitty battles with Santa... and loses. Or does she? Kitty wants to write a letter. Actually, she wants to write a letter to Santa. But has Kitty been good this year? Hmmm... Kitty's not so sure. She writes the letter anyway and is soon on her way to meet Santa in real life at the mall! Will she make it in time? Will Santa give Kitty what she's asking for?

Scary Stories for Young Foxes book
#29
Scary Stories for Young Foxes
Written by Christian McKay Heidicker and illustrated by Junyi Wu
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

Christian McKay Heidicker draws inspiration from Bram Stoker, H. P. Lovecraft and Edgar Allen Poe for his debut middle-grade novel, a thrilling portrait of survival and an unforgettable tale of friendship. The haunted season has arrived in the Antler Wood. No fox kit is safe. When Mia and Uly are separated from their litters, they discover a dangerous world full of monsters. In order to find a den to call home, they must venture through field and forest, facing unspeakable things that dwell in the darkness: a zombie who hungers for their flesh, a witch who tries to steal their skins, a ghost who hunts them through the snow . . . and other things too scary to mention. Featuring eight interconnected stories and sixteen hauntingly beautiful illustrations, Scary Stories for Young Foxes contains the kinds of adventures and thrills you love to listen to beside a campfire in the dark of night. Fans of Neil Gaiman, Jonathan Auxier, and R. L. Stine have found their next favorite book.

Snowmen at Halloween book
#30
Snowmen at Halloween
Written by Caralyn Buehner and illustrated by Mark Buehner
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

The snowmen are getting their Halloween costumes ready for the latest picture book in this New York Times bestselling series. Have you ever built a snowman and discovered the next day that his grin has gotten a little crooked, or his tree-branch arms have moved? And you've wondered . . . what do snowmen do when we're not watching? After an early snowfall, a few kids build some snowmen before going trick-or-treating. And when the kids go off to bed, the snowmen have their own Halloween festival! There's candy and apple-bobbing and costume contests and all sorts of autumn activities. When the kids wake up the next morning, the snowmen are gone... but they've left a very special message behind.

Rachel's Roses book
#31
Rachel's Roses
Written by Ferida Wolff and illustrated by Margeaux Lucas
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-10

Rachel Berger needs twenty-five cents to make her dream come true. But for Rachel, twenty-five cents is a fortune--and she's running out of time. Third-grader Rachel Berger longs to be different. At the very least, she'd like to be set apart from her copycat little sister, Hannah. The second Rachel spots the glass rose buttons at Mr. Solomon's button shop, her heart stops. They'll be the perfect, unique touch on the skirt her mother is making her for Rosh Hashanah. There's just one problem: Rachel can't afford them. With her focus set on earning enough to buy them before the holiday, will Rachel lose sight of what's really important? Themes of sisterhood, sibling rivalry, and strong family values are organically woven in to this charmingly illustrated chapter book set on the Lower East Side of Manhattan in the early twentieth century.

The Rhythm of the Rain book
#32
The Rhythm of the Rain
picture book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Issac plays in his favorite pool on the mountainside. As rain starts to fall, he empties his little jar of water into the pool and races the sparkling streams as they tumble over waterfalls, rush through swollen rivers, and burst out into the vast open sea. Where will my little jar of water go now? Issac wonders. From the tiniest raindrop to the deepest ocean, this breathtaking celebration of the water cycle captures the remarkable movement of water across the earth in all its majesty

Hooray for Women! book
#33
Hooray for Women!
Written and illustrated by Marcia Williams
picture book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Discover and cheer the accomplishments of more than seventy amazing women from all over the world and throughout history. They're activists and explorers, scientists and writers and more. And they're all women: Cleopatra, Boudicca, Joan of Arc, Elizabeth I, Mary Wollstonecraft, Jane Austen, Florence Nightingale, Marie Curie, Eleanor Roosevelt, Amelia Earhart, Frida Kahlo, Anne Frank, Wangari Maathai, Mae C. Jemison, Cathy Freeman, and Malala Yousafzai, to name just a few. Marcia Williams, through her lively comic-strip style and a clever combination of facts, quotes, and jokes, invites readers to peruse these extraordinary women's stories, learn about their noteworthy achievements, be inspired to greatness . . . and be thoroughly entertained.

Animal Worlds of Wonder book
#34
Animal Worlds of Wonder
Written and illustrated by Anita Ganeri
picture book
Recommend Ages: 7-9

Take a trip around the world and learn all about all types of incredible animals, from polar bears and elephant seals to great white sharks and flying lemurs. Journey to every continent on Earth and visit the world’s most amazing animals, including giant pandas, red kangaroos, gorillas, jaguars, Japanese macaques, flamingos, orcas, and emperor penguins. Learn all about these remarkable creatures, the ecosystems they live in, their ability to adapt, their preferred foods, and the neighbors who share the sea, land, and air with them. Gorgeous illustrations capture the animals and their environments on every page.

Monsters Come Out Tonight! book
#35
Monsters Come Out Tonight!
Written by Frederick Glasser and illustrated by Edward Miller
board book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Trick-or-treat! Open the doors to find monsters getting ready for a night of Halloween fun All of the monsters are getting ready for the big Halloween bash in this rhyming board book. Lift the flaps to reveal Dracula brushing his fangs, witches combing their hair, and more silly surprises! Quirky illustrations hold plenty of details that will be sure to tickle readers' funny bones and get them in the Halloween spirit.

Princess Ponies 10: The Pumpkin Ghost book
#36
Princess Ponies 10: The Pumpkin Ghost
Written by Chloe Ryder
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-10

Enter a land of magical ponies in this chapter book series that features illustrations throughout and comes with a collectible charm! The enchanted island of Chevalia, where ponies rule, has finally had its magic restored, thanks to human Pippa and pony Princess Stardust. Her task complete, Pippa returned to our world . . . but her friends in Chevalia are never far away. It's Halloween, and Pippa can't wait to go trick-or-treating. But before the festivities get underway, Cloud appears to tell Pippa that, back in Chevalia, a mysterious pumpkin-headed ghost is haunting Stableside Castle! Pippa joins forces with her best friend, Princess Stardust, to figure out if the fabled pumpkin ghost is real . . . or if someone is up to a little bit of Halloween mischief! Can they get to the bottom of this spooky mystery? Pippa's adventures in magical Chevalia continue, brought to life with delightful illustrations--and the book includes a special collectible charm. Collect all of the books in the Princess Ponies series: A Magical Friend A Dream Come True The Special Secret A Unicorn Adventure! An Amazing Rescue Best Friends Forever! A Special Surprise A Singing Star The Lucky Horseshoe

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected]!