Discover

Company
TouchWords: Animals book
#541
TouchWords: Animals
Written by and illustrated by Rilla Alexander
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-4

TouchWords is a brand new extension to the beloved, groundbreaking TouchThinkLearn series, now with raised letters that fit into die-cut shapes! This is a full handson, sensory experience, associating the tactile shapes of letters with the objects. Rilla Alexander executes a fresh design incorporating the classic elements of the TouchThinkLearn first words format, with core vocabulary and stretch words on each page helping children expand their vision of words and how they work together.

Nobody Hugs A Cactus book
#542
Nobody Hugs A Cactus
Written and illustrated by Carter Goodrich
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Celebrated artist and lead character designer of Brave, Ratatouille, and Despicable Me, Carter Goodrich, shows that sometimes, even the prickliest people—or the crankiest cacti—need a little love. Hank is the prickliest cactus in the entire world. He sits in a pot in a window that faces the empty desert, which is just how he likes it. So, when all manner of creatures—from tumbleweed to lizard to owl—come to disturb his peace, Hank is annoyed. He doesn’t like noise, he doesn’t like rowdiness, and definitely does not like hugs. But the thing is, no one is offering one. Who would want to hug a plant so mean? Hank is beginning to discover that being alone can be, well, lonely. So he comes up with a plan to get the one thing he thought he would never need: a hug from a friend.

Violet And The Mystery Of Tiger Island book
#543
Violet And The Mystery Of Tiger Island
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-12

Can YOU solve the case of Tiger Island? Join Violet Remy-Robinson, an amateur Sherlock Holmes in the making, on her fifth adventure… Violet and her friends can’t believe their luck when they’re invited to a wedding on a tropical island. But when old enemies the Du Plicitouses show up at the same hotel, and a valuable figurine goes missing, Violet is sure the sneaky family are behind it. It’s a race against time – and a hungry tiger – to uncover the truth and make sure the big day goes to plan. Complete with two-colour illustrations throughout by Becka Moor, this is a fresh and funny mystery and readers will fall in love with Violet’s quirky charm. Perfect for fans of Dixie O’Day, Ottoline and Goth Girl.

Project Me 2.0 book
#544
Project Me 2.0
Written and illustrated by Jan Gangsei
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-13

An eleven-year-old boy on a quest to impress his suddenly cute, longtime friend accidentally manifests a tiny internet guru into existence in this hilarious MAX novel! All class clown Farley Andrew Turner (yes, that spells FAT) wanted the summer before seventh grade was to give his image a little boost…and maybe, just maybe, impress his oldest pal, whom he has a secret crush on. But when Farley accidentally manifests a tiny internet guru into existence (think genie, but far more annoying and without any ability whatsoever to grant wishes), his entire plan goes sideways. Now, in order to rid himself of the four-inch tall pest spouting ridiculous self-help advice and doing yoga on his mouse pad, Farley must complete all “Seven Steps to a Whole New You!”—no matter how embarrassing they may be. Which is how Farley finds himself outfitted in too-small spandex and suffering through daily jogs with his super-athletic dad, attempting to read War and Peace, and agreeing to play toy guitar in his best friend Burt’s newly formed off-pitch boy band. Unfortunately, it only goes downhill from there… But hey, no one ever claimed the path to enlightenment would be easy, did they?

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected]!