The New Neighbors book
#553
The New Neighbors
Written and illustrated by Sarah McIntyre
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

New neighbors have moved into the ground floor of a bustling apartment building. The bunnies upstairs are excited, but what will the other residents think? Sarah McIntyre's funny, light-hearted tale reveals there's no room for prejudice. The bunnies upstairs are thrilled to find out that rats have moved into the first-floor apartment. But when other neighbors discover the news, excitement soon turns to jitters, panic, and worse! As the residents descend the stairs to investigate, the rats prepare a yummy dessert. Will all of the animals make the rats leave, or can fear be conquered with delicious, homemade cake?

Klawde: Evil Alien Warlord Cat: Enemies book
#554
Klawde: Evil Alien Warlord Cat: Enemies
Written by Johnny Marchiano, Emily Chenoweth and illustrated by Robb Mommaerts
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 10-14

Klawde is not your basic cat. He's an emperor from another planet, exiled to Earth. He's cruel. He's cunning. He's brilliant... and he's also Raj Banerjee's best friend. Klawde and Raj are back! As summer turns to fall, our favorite warlord cat remains in his pitiful exiled existence. But Raj has an even scarier prospect than cosmic exile: starting at a new school. And if things didn't seem complicated enough, both cat and human are confronted with two figures from their past they did not expect to pop up in Elba, Oregon... Heavily illustrated, with a hilarious, biting voice that switches between Raj's and Klawde's perspectives, Klawde #2 is the story of an unlikely friendship that emerges as two fish out of water continue to find their footing in strange new worlds.

Klawde: Evil Alien Warlord Cat book
#555
Klawde: Evil Alien Warlord Cat
Written by Johnny Marchiano, Emily Chenoweth and illustrated by Robb Mommaerts
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 10-14

Klawde is not your average cat. He's an emperor from another planet, exiled to Earth. He's cruel. He's cunning. He's brilliant... and he's about to become Raj Banerjee's best friend. Whether he likes it or not. Klawde had everything. Sharp claws. Fine fur. And, being the High Commander of the planet Lyttyrboks, an entire world of warlike cats at his command. But when he is stripped of his feline throne, he is sentenced to the worst possible punishment: exile to a small planet in a quiet corner of the universe... named Earth. Raj had everything. A cool apartment in Brooklyn. Three friends who lived in his building. And pizza and comics within walking distance. But when his mom gets a job in Elba, Oregon, and he is forced to move, all of that changes. It's now the beginning of summer, he has no friends, and because of his mother's urgings, he has joined a nature camp. It's only when his doorbell rings and he meets a furball of a cat that Raj begins to think maybe his luck is turning around... Heavily illustrated, with a hilarious, biting voice that switches between Raj and Klawde's perspectives, Klawde is the story of an unlikely friendship that emerges as two fish out of water begin to find their footing in strange new worlds.

Piggy: Let's Be Friends! book
#556
Piggy: Let's Be Friends!
Written and illustrated by Trevor Lai
board book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

Piggy proves his heart is as big as his glasses by helping a friend in need in this sweet board book. Piggy loves reading books, having tea parties, and most of all, making new friends! One day he sees a little mole across his garden. Before Piggy can get to know him, the mole hides underground. Miles loves reading books and baking cakes, and he would love to have a friend! But the world above makes him so nervous . . . Can Piggy find a way to help Miles out of his shell? This sweet story of friendship from big-hearted Piggy continues the series that is perfect for fans of Salina Yoon and Dan Santat.

Babies of the Great Bear Rainforest book
#557
Babies of the Great Bear Rainforest
Written by and illustrated by Ian McAllister
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-2

In this photographic board book, readers are introduced to the baby animals born each spring in the Great Bear Rainforest.

Boggart Fights Back book
#558
Boggart Fights Back
Written and illustrated by Susan Cooper
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

The Boggart is back for a new adventure filled with magic and mayhem from Newbery winner Susan Cooper. Magic is in the air when Allie and Jay Cameron visit their ancestors’ ancient Castle Keep in Scotland, tucked in its unspoiled loch. The twins wake the mischievous shape-shifting Boggart and his infamous cousin Nessie, of Loch Ness fame. But a summer of fun-loving trickery with the Old Things is invaded by a dangerous real estate developer called William Trout. Trout has big plans for a luxury resort on the loch, and little regard for its people or the law. Bulldozers get to work. The future of the loch, its seals, and all its beauty are threatened. The twins and Angus Cameron, their grandfather, mobilize to save his shop and the loch, but it’s soon clear they will need help of a different sort… In a race against time, the Boggarts recruit help from other Old Things of Scotland: hair-raising creatures of the Wild Magic. But are the Blue Men of the Minch and the Nuckelavee too terrifying for humans to handle? How can they drive out the invader? What’s certain is that Mr. Trout is in for a wild ride in this comical, page-turning adventure from Newbery Medalist Susan Cooper.

Lion Down book
#559
Lion Down
Written by Stuart Gibbs
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Teddy Fitzroy returns as FunJungle’s resident sleuth when a lion is falsely accused of killing a distinguished dog in the latest novel in New York Times bestselling author Stuart Gibbs’s FunJungle series. For once, operations at the enormous zoo/theme park appear to be running smoothly (except for the occasional herring-related mishap in the penguin exhibit) and Teddy Fitzroy is finally able to give detective work a rest. But then a local lion is accused of killing a famous dog—and the dog’s owner, an inflammatory radio host, goes on a crusade to have the cat declared a nuisance so it can be hunted. But it looks like the lion might have been framed, and a renegade animal activist wants Teddy and Summer to help prove it. Soon, Teddy finds himself wrapped up in the middle of his most bizarre, hilarious, and dangerous case yet.

Sam The Man & The Dragon Van Plan book
#560
Sam The Man & The Dragon Van Plan
Written by Frances O’Roark Dowell and illustrated by Amy Bates
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

Sam the Man is back with not one, but TWO plans in this third hilarious chapter book in the Sam the Man series from Frances O’Roark Dowell. Sam Graham is a dragon fan and a big truck man. Monster trucks to be specific. And when the family minivan needs replacing, Sam has the perfect plan: get a family monster truck instead! But convincing Mom that a monster truck is the way to go may prove to be a little too difficult, even for Sam. So he comes up with plan number two: Turn the minivan into a monster minivan with a super-cool dragon painted on it! First, though, Sam has to convince his family why a monster minivan is the best choice—oh, and learn how to paint a dragon…

Waste Of Space book
#561
Waste Of Space
Written by Stuart Gibbs
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

A New York Times bestselling series. Tensions are running high when multi-billionaire Lars Sjoburg is poisoned and everyone is looking to Dash Gibson to solve the case in this third and final book in the New York Times bestselling Moon Base Alpha series. Moon Base Alpha was supposed to be an exciting place to live, but Dashiell Gibson didn’t expect for it to be this exciting. He’s already had to solve a murder and locate a missing moon base commander. Now, he just wants to have a calm, quiet thirteenth birthday. But, of course, trillionaire (and total pain) Lars Sjoburg ruins it—by being poisoned. Now there’s another potential killer loose on Moon Base Alpha, and Dash is forced to identify the most likely suspects. Suddenly Dash finds himself with a target on his back. Whoever poisoned Lars will stop at nothing to keep his—or her—identity a secret.

Farming book
#562
Farming
Written and illustrated by Gail Gibbons
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Explore the world of a farm in this popular nonfiction board book, adapted for our youngest readers.

Good Night Arkansas book
#563
Good Night Arkansas
Written by Adam Gamble, Mark Jasper and illustrated by Joe Veno
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Good Night Arkansas features wildlife, the Arkansas State Fair, Bull Shoals Lake, Hot Springs National Park, Scott Family Amazeum, Blanchard Springs Caverns, Arkansas Museum of Discovery, the University of Arkansas and more! This engaging and educational board book takes readers on a tour of "the Natural State," including beautiful wildlife throughout Ozark National Forest and the Ouachita Mountains. Go, little Hogs! This book is part of the bestselling Good Night Our World series, which includes hundreds of titles exploring iconic locations and exciting themes. Many of North America's most beloved regions are artfully celebrated in these board books designed to soothe children before bedtime while instilling an early appreciation for North America's natural and cultural wonders. Each book stars a multicultural group of people visiting the featured area's attractions as rhythmic language guides children through the passage of both a single day and the four seasons while saluting the iconic aspects of each place. Welcome to Arkansas! Young Arkansans and visitors will be enchanted by the journey through "the Natural State" in this bedtime board book.

Good Night Oklahoma book
#564
Good Night Oklahoma
Written by Adam Gamble and illustrated by Mark Jasper, Joe Veno, Adam Gamble
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Good Night Oklahoma explores Wichita Mountains Wildlife Refuge, the State Capitol Building, the Oklahoma State Fair, the SkyDance Bridge, the Tulsa Zoo, the Stafford Air & Space Museum, and more. From Route 66 to the Grand Lake o' the Cherokees to the Tallgrass Prairie Reserve, little Cowboys and Sooners fans alike will marvel at all this state has to offer. This book is part of the bestselling Good Night Our World series, which includes hundreds of titles exploring iconic locations and exciting themes. Many of North America's most beloved regions are artfully celebrated in these board books designed to soothe children before bedtime while instilling an early appreciation for North America's natural and cultural wonders. Each book stars a multicultural group of people visiting the featured area's attractions as rhythmic language guides children through the passage of both a single day and the four seasons while saluting the iconic aspects of each place. Little Okies tour the state of Oklahoma in this eduacational board book, all while being lulled to sleep. From the prairies, to the big cities, young readers will visit all of the best landmarks this state has to offer.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected] with your book and list suggestion.