Simon Thorn and the Shark's Cave book
#49
Simon Thorn and the Shark's Cave
Written by Aimee Carter
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Simon Thorn has only recently discovered that he's an Animalgam--a member of a secret race of people who can shift into animals. Now, after years of being bullied, he has found a home where he truly belongs, at a secret Animalgam academy. But danger lurks around the corner . . . Simon's evil grandfather, Orion, is bent on taking over the entire animal kingdom. He intends to gather the pieces of a terrible weapon that could shred the very foundations of their world. That is, unless Simon can find the pieces first. So when Simon's dolphin Animalgam friend Jam is summoned home to the underwater kingdom's headquarters, Simon sees an opportunity to secure another piece. But as soon as he and his friends arrive, their search is complicated by Jam's strict family--and a potential traitor among their ranks. Can Simon locate the piece before the entire underwater kingdom is put at risk? With plenty of action and adventure and characters full of heart, the Simon Thorn series is perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and Brandon Mull.

Arabian Nights book
#50
Arabian Nights
Written by Kate Douglas Wiggin and illustrated by Maxfield Parrish
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Rediscover the legends of Ali Baba, Aladdin, Sinbad, and more in this Scribner Illustrated Classic keepsake complemented by the stunning art of Maxfield Parrish. This stunning volume of twelve stories adapted from Tales of a Thousand and One Nights features Maxfield Parrish’s gorgeous art, bringing a beloved classic to a whole new generation of readers.

Best Family Ever book
#51
Best Family Ever
Written by Karen Kingsbury
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Much-loved storyteller Karen Kingsbury’s Baxter Family books have captured the hearts of millions who have come to think of the Baxter family as their own. Now Karen Kingsbury and her son Tyler Russell tell the childhood stories of the beloved Baxter children—Brooke, Kari, Ashley, Erin, and Luke—to inspire and entertain younger readers. Brooke is the perfect older sister. For that reason, Kari and Ashley work hard to make their parents just as proud of them as they are of Brooke. Each girl has her own talents. Brooke is an excellent student. Kari is a great soccer player. Ashley, a talented artist. And they are always there for each other. But when the news comes that Dr. Baxter is moving the family from Ann Arbor to Bloomington, Indiana, and the Baxters need to leave the only home and friends they’ve ever known, no one is happy. Saying goodbye is hard but the family still has what’s most important—their faith and their love for each other. The first book in the Baxter Family Children series, #1 New York Times bestselling author Karen Kingsbury and Tyler Russell tell the story of what it was like to grow up in the Baxter family, the best family ever.

Bloom Boom! book
#52
Bloom Boom!
Written and illustrated by April Pulley Sayre
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-8

Discover the magic—and the science—behind spring flower blooms with this companion to the celebrated Raindrops Roll, Best in Snow, and Full of Fall. When spring arrives, flowers of all kinds sprout and grow buds and bloom. Sometimes, they bloom a few at a time. But other times, many will bloom at once in a colorful flower boom! This photographic exploration of flowers goes from the desert to the woodlands and beyond, celebrating their beautiful variety and the science behind these colorful displays.

Click, Clack, Peep! book
#53
Click, Clack, Peep!
Written by Doreen Cronin and illustrated by Betsy Lewin
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-7

New York Times bestselling duo Doreen Cronin and Betsy Lewin’s beloved story about a noisy duckling is now available as a Level 2 Ready-to-Read! There’s more trouble on the farm, but Duck has nothing to do with it, for once. This time the trouble is a four-ounce puff of fluff who just won’t go to sleep, and whose play-with-me “peeps” are keeping the whole barnyard awake with him. Peep! Peep! Peep! How do you get a baby duck to hit the hay? Poor Farmer Brown will find out—and Duck might just find himself in trouble after all…

Clockwork Dragon book
#54
Clockwork Dragon
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Jack discovers new abilities, travels to exciting lands, and thwarts a conspiracy brewing deep within the ministries in this epic conclusion to the action-packed Section 13 series. Jack Buckles is on trial for his life. The Ministries of Secrets and Guilds, led by Ignatius Gall, are conspiring to put the Ministry of Trackers down for good—starting with Jack’s very existence as a Section 13. His only hope is to prove that Gall is the real danger, not him, and it leads Jack and Gwen from the back streets of London, through the Austrian Alps, to the great reaches of central China. Joined by their new friend Liu Fai, Jack and Gwen set out to stop Gall before he can uncover ancient Chinese artifacts, said to grant immortality. But a clockwork monster threatens them at every turn, and its turning gears only serve as a reminder that Jack’s judgment day is fast approaching—and that he’s running out of time.

Dragon Bones book
#55
Dragon Bones
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Ten years after Alex and Aaron Stowe brought peace to Quill and Artimé, their younger twin sisters journey beyond Artimé in the second novel in the New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling sequel series to The Unwanteds, which Kirkus Reviews called “The Hunger Games meets Harry Potter.” The Artiméans have suffered some devastating blows. After years of peace, the recent daring adventure of twins Thisbe and Fifer Stowe have brought about dire consequences. Thisbe has been captured, Fifer is injured, and Sky is lost at sea. The twins’ older brother Alex, head mage of Artimé, is paralyzed with fear of losing anyone else he loves. Fifer must convince him to finally trust her to help in the battle ahead now that their true enemy has been revealed. Meanwhile Thisbe is trapped underground in the catacombs, where the ancient dragon rulers are buried. Along with fellow prisoners, Thisbe’s job is to transport dragon bones from her crypt to the extracting room, where others extract the magical properties dormant in the bones. When it appears no one is coming back to rescue her, Thisbe must train in secret, trying to learn how to control her fiery magic and use it to escape. As her situation becomes more grave, she might even have to align herself with the ultimate evil. Unfortunately it’s a risk she has to take.

Dragon Ghosts book
#56
Dragon Ghosts
Written by Lisa Mcmann
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Ten years after Alex and Aaron Stowe brought peace to Quill and Artimé, their younger twin sisters journey beyond Artimé in the third novel in the New York Times bestselling sequel series to The Unwanteds, which Kirkus Reviews called “The Hunger Games meets Harry Potter.” Devastated by loss and hampered by war, Fifer struggles to regroup and continue the search for her twin. Meanwhile Thisbe, pounded by images of Grimere’s dark history, contemplates her abandonment and considers leaving Rohan behind in a risky move that could take her home…or to her death.

Everybunny Dream! book
#57
Everybunny Dream!
Written and illustrated by Ellie Sandall
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

It’s time for bed! Bunnies and foxes cozy up after a busy day in this fun, colorful picture book that is perfect for bedtime from the author of Everybunny Count! and Everybunny Dance! Cuddle up And snuggle tight, And close your eyes, And say goodnight. It’s time for the bunnies to brush their teeth, clean their paws, and comb their tail. And before they fall asleep, they’ll have time to curl up for one last hug, and one last story shared with some unexpected friends. Everybunny is welcome to join in this bright and cheery bedtime tale before dozing off into sweet dreams.

Fear The Bunny book
#58
Fear The Bunny
Written by Richard T. Morris and illustrated by Priscilla Burris
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Bunnies—not tigers—rule the forest in this adorable take on William Blake’s classic poem. Bunnies, bunnies, burning bright In the forests of the night— Wait, bunnies?! Yes, bunnies. Tigers may be the most feared animal in some forests, but in this one, they fear the bunny. One hapless tiger finds this idea preposterous—what are they going to do? Nibble on his tail? Bop him on the head? Cute him to death? Fear the bunny—HA! Make no mistake, though: Richard Morris’ reimagining of William Blake’s famous poem turns the tables, and teaches one testy tiger a little rabbit-respect!

Great Bunny Escape book
#59
Great Bunny Escape
Written by Holly Anna and illustrated by Genevieve Santos
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 5-9

When a friend’s pet bunny escapes into the World of Make-Believe, Daisy and Posey have to track him down in this ninth Daisy Dreamer chapter book! Have you ever heard the phrase “quick like a bunny?” People say it all the time about me. It means that I am fast. But I just met something that’s even faster than me. And guess what? It’s a cute and fluffy bunny! I am bunny-sitting for my friend, Lily. Bunny-sitting means I am caring for her bunny—not sitting on it. Obviously. Watching a bunny is easy, unless you have an imaginary friend named Posey who draws doors to the World of Make-Believe and leaves them open. Because Lily’s pet is quick like a bunny, and it loves to run through open doors. With easy-to-read language and illustrations on almost every page, the Daisy Dreamer chapter books are perfect for emerging readers.

Hop book
#60
Hop
Written and illustrated by Jorey Hurley
board book
Recommend Ages: 1-4

Baby bunnies go on a spring day adventure in this delightful Classic Board Book from acclaimed artist and author Jorey Hurley. A perfect gift for your little one’s Easter basket! Listen. Follow. Hide. Snuggle. A quiet spring day holds unpredictable adventure when a mother rabbit leads her three bunnies out to explore. Their world seems playful at first, but it can suddenly turn dangerous. The natural world holds unpredictable adventures for them at every turn. Celebrate the beauty of spring with this vibrant Classic Board Book that’s a perfect read-aloud for parents and little ones to share.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected] with your book and list suggestion.