The Night Before Kindergarten Graduation book
#49
The Night Before Kindergarten Graduation
Written by Natasha Wing and illustrated by Amy Wummer
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-6

It's time to celebrate kindergarten graduation in Natasha Wing's best-selling series featuring rhyming text in the style of the classic Clement C. Moore holiday poem. Get ready for a major milestone: kindergarten graduation! Of course, there's a lot of preparation the night before as kids prepare for the momentous occasion. This is a great school-year follow-up to The Night Before Kindergarten!

Dream Big and Other Life Lessons from the Enormous Crocodile book
#50
Dream Big and Other Life Lessons from the Enormous Crocodile
Written by Roald Dahl and illustrated by Quentin Blake
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

A darkly funny gift book based on Roald Dahl's beloved story The Enormous Crocodile, featuring art by Quentin Blake. The Enormous Crocodile has been employing "secret plans and clever tricks" for years, hoping to one day score his favorite meal: a juicy little child. And finally, he shares his wit and wisdom with a world hungry for his sage advice. Find out all of our devious villain's tips and advice in this grim, but humorous gift book perfect for fans of All My Friends Are Dead. And with Quentin Blake's illustrations, this full-color book will have readers plotting their own clever tricks in no time.

Kindness Rules! (a Hello!Lucky Book) book
#51
Kindness Rules! (a Hello!Lucky Book)
Written and illustrated by Eunice Moyle, Sabrina Moyle
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Manners don't come naturally to everyone! But did you know that elephants are known for their impeccable etiquette? It's true! This hilarious guide to good manners offers many fun teaching moments for kids and their parents--it covers all the basics for the preschool set, from saying "please" and "thank you" to sharing and being kind to others. Filled with bright, adorable illustrations in Hello!Lucky's inimitable style, young children will love learning about manners with this delightful, sturdy board book.

That's Silly!(TM) at the Zoo book
#52
That's Silly!(TM) at the Zoo
Written and illustrated by Highlights
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

With 40 flaps to lift, this oversized board book features That's Silly!(TM) scenes set in a favorite location -- the zoo -- creating a satisfying interactive experience for children not yet reading on their own. The zoo gets sillier and sillier in this large lift-the-flap book! Children will love exploring every scene to discover pandas reading, penguins surfing, and lions doing magic tricks--and then lifting over 40 flaps to reveal even sillier surprises underneath! Puzzles are specially created for younger children to help develop early skills in vocabulary, concentration, and attention to detail.

A Girl's Guide to the Wild book
#53
A Girl's Guide to the Wild
Written by Ruby McConnell and illustrated by Teresa Grasseschi
picture book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

Girls belong outdoors! This handbook covers everything you need to get outside, including ideas for what to do, camping and hiking basics, body stuff in the wilderness, advanced skills like maps, weather, and first aid, as well as recipes, projects, activities, and profiles of inspiring outdoorswomen. Your definitive guide to getting outside--for girls ages 9-12! In addition to basic outdoor skills, this entertaining guidebook includes easy camping recipes, outdoor projects including science experiments and crafts, fun activity suggestions, and inspiring stories of diverse historical and contemporary outdoorswomen (such as Arunima Sinha, an amputee mountain climber and first Indian woman to summit Mount Everest; Juliette Gordon Low, founder of the Girl Scouts; and Libby Riddles, first woman to win the Iditarod). The goal is to improve the quality of girls' outdoor time by increasing participation and independence, making them feel comfortable and safe, and giving them essential skills and knowledge. Charming and approachable, this book will encourage both reluctant campers and budding naturalists to go wild and embrace the outdoors.

Hanazuki: a Spark in the Dark book
#54
Hanazuki: a Spark in the Dark
Written by Stacy Davidowitz and illustrated by Victoria Ying
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

Hanazuki loves being a Moonflower! With a little help from the Hemka, Sleepy Unicorn, and Dazzlessence Jones, she tries her best to keep her moon in balance and keep the Big Bad away. When two comets collide above them, Hanazuki's side of the moon is plunged into darkness. What's a Moonflower to do besides light a spark in the dark?

Go, Bikes, Go! book
#55
Go, Bikes, Go!
Written by Addie Boswell and illustrated by Alexander Mostov, Addie Boswell
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

This fun and colorful board book introduces children to the joy of bike riding and bikes in many forms. There are big bikes, small bikes and extra tall bikes, and old bikes, new bikes and built-for-two bikes, and more! Inspired by the strong biking culture and community in the Pacific Northwest, this board book features different types of bikes and the diverse people, young and old, who enjoy them. It features bikes children will recognize and some they can imagine, like bikes that wear shoes and bikes that fly.

Shortcuts book
#56
Shortcuts
Written by Amy Bearce
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

Parker Mills has it all. She's the two-time winner of the Miss Divine Pecan Pageant, head of the eighth grade dance committee, and a secret psychic empath. Since she absorbs any strong emotion around her, Parker has committed herself to finding shortcuts to happiness. Whether acting as a tutor, a coach, or a matchmaker, Parker knows that when others are happy, she's happy. Granted, all that fixing other people's drama means her own crush has no idea how she feels, but it's still a win-win as long as her psychic methods remain a secret. At least, that was how it always worked before Mia came to town. With her mysterious past and dark cloud of depression, Mia's moods threaten to rain on Parker's happiness parade. After Parker's usual shortcuts fail--even after bringing gorgeous Josh on the scene--she is forced to kick things up a notch, or two. But when Parker's psychic powers go haywire, dangerous secrets begin to unrave ...starting with her own.

Ruby's Sword book
#57
Ruby's Sword
Written by Jacqueline Véissid and illustrated by Paola Zakimi
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Ruby is always racing after her big brothers. But no matter how hard she tries, she can never catch up. Then one day, she discovers some sticks in the grass. Not just any sticks—swords! And suddenly the world is her kingdom. Readers will cheer on Ruby's perseverance and creativity as they delight in the antics of the adorable animals that join her along the way. Anyone who has ever imagined themselves the star of their own swashbuckling adventure will find this sweet book irresistible.

Guitar Genius book
#58
Guitar Genius
Written by Kim Tomsic and illustrated by Brett Helquist
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

This is the story of how Les Paul created the world's first solid- body electric guitar, countless other inventions that changed modern music, and one truly epic career in rock and roll. How to make a microphone? A broomstick, a cinderblock, a telephone, a radio. How to make an electric guitar? A record player's arm, a speaker, some tape. How to make a legendary inventor? A few tools, a lot of curiosity, and an endless faith in what is possible. Featuring richly detailed, dynamic illustrations by Brett Helquist, this unforgettable biography will resonate with inventive readers young and old.

Hide-and-Sleep book
#59
Hide-and-Sleep
Written and illustrated by Lizi Boyd
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Lizi Boyd brings her whimsical touch to a new series for the very youngest readers. In this first book, sturdy die-cut pages that children can flip back and forth reveal the fun details and actions of a menagerie of adorable animals that aren't quite ready for bed. Can you see where they are hiding? Whether for storytime, laptime, or bedtime, the buoyant colors, silly story, and playful interactive format will keep toddlers captivated.

Inside Outside book
#60
Inside Outside
Written by Anne-Margot Ramstein and illustrated by Matthias Aregui
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

From the creators of Before After comes another striking book of opposites, this time exploring the concepts of within and without with bright, bold graphics. Safe inside its shell, a baby bird prepares to brave the world. A spelunker descends into a wide and glittering cavern while fellow explorers cluster around a crack in the earth. Fire-red ants march busily around their anthill, oblivious of a hungry anteater waiting above. Smart and stylish, this oversize art book takes a unique approach to the concept of inside and outside, offering clever and unexpected examples that will delight readers and spark conversations about context and perspective. Inside Outside is sure to find a place in collections, on coffee tables, in classrooms, and anywhere curious minds can be found.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected] with your book and list suggestion.