Bad Mermaids: On the Rocks book
#1
Bad Mermaids: On the Rocks
Written and illustrated by Sibeal Pounder
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Smart, daring mermaid trio Beattie, Mimi and Zelda, along with Steve the talking seahorse, may have saved the Hidden Lagoon from danger once . . . But now they're trapped aboard a spooky ship called the Merry Mary, which is heading for the legendary (and super fashionable) Crocodile Kingdom. Can they avoid a crab-tastrophe and swim against the tide to get back home? Meanwhile, on land, an ice-cream seller and gadget expert named Paris Silkensocks has uncovered a plot to destroy the mermaid world. Will she will be able to find and warn the mermaids of the impending danger before it's too late? This second book in a hilarious paper-over-board series that?s The Little Mermaid meets My Big Fat Zombie Goldfish is filled with delightful black-and-white illustrations.

Frankie Sparks and the Class Pet book
#2
Frankie Sparks and the Class Pet
Written by Megan Frazer Blakemore and illustrated by Nadja Sarell
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-10

Ivy and Bean meets Aliens in my Pocket in this start to a brand-new chapter book series about Frankie Sparks, a third grader who uses her love for science and math to help her solve problems she comes across in her daily life. The best thing EVER is happening in Frankie Sparks’s third grade class: They are getting a class pet! Their teacher, Miss Cupid, tells them they will vote on their pet, but it has to meet some “parameters.” Their pet must: 1. Fit in aquarium. 2. Cost less than $50. 3. Be easily portable. 4. Be able to be left alone for the weekend. Frankie thinks that a rat—just like the rats in her beloved Aunt Gina’s lab—would be the perfect fit. But her best friend, Maya, doesn’t think a rat would be great at all. They are kind of gross and not as cool as a hermit crab, which is Maya’s top choice. Using her special workshop, can Frankie find a way to convince her teacher and her best friend that Team Rat is the way to go?

Frankie Sparks and the Talent Show Trick book
#3
Frankie Sparks and the Talent Show Trick
Written by Megan Frazer Blakemore and illustrated by Nadja Sarell
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-10

Frankie Sparks uses her inventing skills to help her friend overcome stage fright in this second chapter book in the STEM inspired Frankie Sparks, Third-Grade Inventor series. It’s time for the annual school talent show, and Frankie is excited to audition with her magic act! She wants to be just like her idol, Adelaide Herrmann, Queen of Magic. But on the day of the audition, Frankie’s best friend and Magician’s Assistant, Maya, gets a big, scary case of stage fright! How can Maya be Frankie’s helper on stage if she can’t bring herself to speak in front of their audience? It’s up to Frankie Sparks to invent just the perfect thing to help her best friend cope with the spotlight!

The Narwhal Problem book
#4
The Narwhal Problem
Written by Debbie Dadey and illustrated by Tatevik Avakyan
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

Kiki and her friends get caught up in a code war to try and meet a narwhal in this sparkling Mermaid Tales adventure. All the merkids are super-excited! Two famous narwhal scientists are visiting Trident City with their daughter, Nadine. Best of all, someone is going to get to show Nadine around the city while her parents are in meetings! But who? All the merkids want to be the one, so how are they going to decide who gets to do it? Mrs. Karp, their teacher, decides to organize a code-breaking contest, but with the competition getting fierce, it is more like a code war! Even Kiki, Echo, and Shelly are fighting! Is there a way that everyone can win?

The Curse of Greg book
#5
The Curse of Greg
Written by Chris Rylander
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Magic and mayhem collide in this monstrously funny middle-grade sequel to Chris Rylander’s The Legend of Greg Greg Belmont longs for the days when he thought he was an ordinary thirteen-year-old, before he learned he’s really a fantastical Dwarf in a world where the return of magic has reignited an ancient feud between the Dwarves and the Elves. But now that magic is spreading rapidly, calling forth mythical monsters that are wreaking total havoc on earth, he knows things will never go back to normal. To make matters worse, rumors are growing that the Elves are planning a sinister attack–and their new leader might be none other than Greg’s former best friend, Edwin. Before they can say “Galdervatn,” Greg and his Dwarven friends find themselves up against perilous dangers that their training has barely prepared them for. Can Greg and his bloodthirsty talking ax keep them out of harm’s way long enough to prevent all-out war? Or will epic failure find him yet again in this hilarious, action-packed sequel to The Legend of Greg?

Little Lunch: Triple Treats book
#6
Little Lunch: Triple Treats
Written by Danny Katz and illustrated by Mitch Vane
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

Three bite-size stories kick off a series based on a popular TV show about all the fun (and maybe a little trouble) that happens at snack time. Little Lunch -- aka snack time -- is only fifteen minutes long, but it's always full of surprises. In this trio of tales, Rory forgets his snack and does something that shocks everyone, Battie thinks he might have ruined Grandparents Day, and Melanie decides to hold a bake sale to raise money for homeless puppies . . . but the only thing she's selling is a lumpy cake that smells weird. Who knew so much could happen in fifteen minutes? Based on the hit Australian TV series picked up by Universal Kids and Netflix, Little Lunch is a little silly -- and a lot of fun.

All of Me book
#7
All of Me
Written by Chris Baron
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Ari has body-image issues. After a move across the country, his parents work selling and promoting his mother's paintings and sculptures. Ari's bohemian mother needs space to create, and his father is gone for long stretches of time on "sales" trips. Meanwhile, Ari makes new friends: Pick, the gamer; the artsy Jorge, and the troubled Lisa. He is also relentlessly bullied because he's overweight, but he can't tell his parents—they're simply not around enough to listen. After an upsetting incident, Ari's mom suggests he go on a diet, and she gives him a book to help. But the book—and the diet—can’t fix everything. As Ari faces the demise of his parents' marriage, he also feels himself changing, both emotionally and physically. Here is a much-needed story about accepting the imperfect in oneself and in life.

A Ghost in the Castle book
#8
A Ghost in the Castle
Written by Jordan Quinn and illustrated by Robert McPhillips
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 5-9

In the fourteenth fantastical book from The Kingdom of Wrenly series, Prince Lucas and Clara discover there is a ghost haunting the Wrenly Castle. There are things that go bump in the night, even in the well-protected royal palace of Wrenly. Mysterious happenings have set Prince Lucas and his dragon, Ruskin, on edge. Curtains sway next to closed windows, temperatures drop for no reason, and strange lights glow in empty rooms. Lucas and Clara are sure there is a ghost haunting the castle halls. But will they find the ghost before the ghost finds them? With easy-to-read language and illustrations on almost every page, The Kingdom of Wrenly chapter books are perfect for beginning readers.

Sea Sirens book
#9
Sea Sirens
Written by Amy Chu and illustrated by Janet K. Lee
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Dive into this visually stunning, middle-grade graphic novel about a spunky Vietnamese American surfer girl and her cantankerous talking cat who plunge into a fantasy world of oceanic marvels . . . and mayhem! Trot, a Vietnamese American surfer girl, and Cap’n Bill, her cranky one-eyed cat, catch too big a wave and wipe out, sucked down into a magical underwater kingdom where an ancient deep-sea battle rages. The beautiful Sea Siren mermaids are under attack from the Serpent King and his slithery minions–and Trot and her feline become dangerously entangled in this war of tails and fins. This beautiful graphic novel was inspired by The Sea Fairies, L. Frank Baum’s “underwater Wizard of Oz.” It weaves Vietnamese mythology, fantastical ocean creatures, a deep-sea setting, quirky but sympathetic main characters, and fast-paced adventure into an imaginative, world-building story.

Caveboy Is a Hit! book
#10
Caveboy Is a Hit!
Written by Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen and illustrated by Eric Wight
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 5-7

Read & Bloom offers high interest, character driven stories for newly independent readers that feature full-color illustrations throughout and will transition kids from leveled readers to a lifetime of reading. Caveboy is just like any other boy. One of his absolute favorite things to do is playing baseskull, so one day, Caveboy decides to join a baseskull team! But when his best friend Mags wants to try out as well, he learns that she isn't very good. Caveboy is faced with a tricky problem--should he stay with his friend and be stuck on a losing team, or leave her to be on the better team?

The Story Web book
#11
The Story Web
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

In this heartfelt magical novel, Megan Frazer Blakemore shows that how we wield stories has the power to shape the world. When Alice was little, she found a gigantic spider web deep in the forest. Her dad called it the Story Web and told her how its strands were woven from the stories that hold our world together. Years later, Alice's dad is gone, and she's sure it's her fault. Now she won't even talk about her dad and definitely doesn't believe his farfetched stories. But when animals in town start acting strangely, she can't ignore them. They are trying to tell her the Story Web is in danger - that the fabric of our world is breaking. The only way to mend it is to tell honest tales from the heart. Alice must confront the real reason her dad is gone, but is she strong enough to finally tell her side of the story? This magical tale of truth and honesty, integrity and intention is perfect for fans of Katherine Applegate.

Breakout book
#12
Breakout
Written and illustrated by Kate Messner
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Told in letters, poems, text messages, news stories, and comics--a series of documents Nora collects for the Wolf Creek Community Time Capsule Project--Breakout is a thrilling story that will leave readers thinking about who's really welcome in the places we call home. Nora Tucker is looking forward to summer vacation in Wolf Creek--two months of swimming, popsicles, and brushing up on her journalism skills for the school paper. But when two inmates break out of the town's maximum security prison, everything changes. Doors are locked, helicopters fly over the woods, and police patrol the school grounds. Worst of all, everyone is on edge, and fear brings out the worst in some people Nora has known her whole life. Even if the inmates are caught, she worries that home might never feel the same.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected]!