Moth book
#1
Moth
Written by Isabel Thomas and illustrated by Daniel Egneus
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-10

Powerful and visually spectacular, Moth is the remarkable evolution story that captures the struggle of animal survival against the background of an evolving human world in a unique and atmospheric introduction to Darwin's theory of Natural Selection. “This is a story of light and dark...” Against a lush backdrop of lichen-covered trees, the peppered moth lies hidden. Until the world begins to change... Along come people with their magnificent machines which stain the land with soot. In a beautiful landscape changed by humans how will one little moth survive? A clever picture book text about the extraordinary way in which animals have evolved, intertwined with the complication of human intervention. This remarkable retelling of the story of the peppered moth is the perfect introduction to natural selection and evolution for children.

Bug Off! book
#2
Bug Off!
Written by Cari Best and illustrated by Jennifer Plecas
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Maude wants to be a member of the Bug-of-the-Month Club in her new neighborhood and decides that her entrance speech will be about fireflies. She reads, she researches, she prepares, and she delivers a speech that all the club members love—except for hard-to-please Louise. Louise won't even let Maude in the club! So Maude vows to really let Louise have it for being so rude—but when she does, it's not in the way anyone expects. A sparkly story about friendship, kindness, and inclusion—packed with info about fireflies, too!

Samuel Morse, That's Who! book
#3
Samuel Morse, That's Who!
Written by Tracy Nelson Maurer and illustrated by El Primo Ramón
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Back in the 1800s, information traveled slowly. Who would dream of instant messages? Samuel Morse, that’s who! Who traveled to France, where the famous telegraph towers relayed 10,000 possible codes for messages depending on the signal arm positions—only if the weather was clear? Who imagined a system that would use electric pulses to instantly carry coded messages between two machines, rain or shine? Long before the first telephone, who changed communication forever? Samuel Morse, that’s who! This dynamic and subtsantive biography celebrates an early technology pioneer. Perfect for fans of Gene Barretta's popular inventor series.

My Teacher Is a Robot book
#4
My Teacher Is a Robot
Written and illustrated by Jeffrey Brown
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

From the author of the New York Times bestselling Jedi Academy books comes an imaginative picture book about a kid whose creative outlook has everyone at school seeing the world through new eyes. Perfect for fans of The Adventures of Beekle and The Most Magnificent Thing. Fred does not want to go to school because it's boring. Especially since he thinks his teacher is a robot. If only Fred could imagine a way for his day to be more exciting... An inventively funny picture book that celebrates the boundlessness of a child's imagination and celebrates the teachers, families, and friends who get wrapped up in their fantastic worlds.

Tangled book
#5
Tangled
Written by Anne Miranda and illustrated by Eric Comstock
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

From award-winning author Anne Miranda comes a rollicking rhyming story about an unruly gang of sixteen geometric shapes who get tangled in the neighborhood jungle gym until their friend comes to their rescue and order is restored. Perfect for fans of Chicka Chicka Boom Boom! One day a little circle, just as happy as could be, got caught inside a jungle gym, and couldn’t wiggle free. When the neighborhood shapes go climbing on the park jungle gym the last thing they expect is a tangle. First the circle, next the triangle and then the square. One by one soon all sixteen shapes are trapped. They push and pull and tumble and cry for help. Who will save them? One special shape can set the others free. Can you guess which one it is? This charming story makes learning the names of sixteen shapes as easy as a day in the park.

Puppy Truck book
#6
Puppy Truck
Written and illustrated by Brian Pinkney
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

Find out what happens when a boy who wants a puppy gets a truck instead in this simple and sweet picture book from Caldecott Honor winner Brian Pinkney. Vroom…beep…bark! Carter wants a puppy, but he gets a truck instead. So he pets it, puts a leash around it, and takes it to the park. But the truck won’t sit still! What will Carter do with his rascally Puppy Truck?

Llama Llama Happy Birthday! book
#7
Llama Llama Happy Birthday!
Written and illustrated by Anna Dewdney
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

It's Llama Llama's birthday in this 8x8 based on an episode of the animated Netflix series. Look out, world--Llama Llama is a TV star! The beloved character, made famous by Anna Dewdney's best-selling picture books, is the star of his own original series, now airing on Netflix. In this episode-based 8x8, Llama Llama is worried that his friends have forgotten about his birthday, but he's in for a big surprise when they throw him a party! Your little llamas will love relating to their favorite picture book character as he faces new and challenging situations.

Homes in the Wild book
#8
Homes in the Wild
Written and illustrated by Lita Judge
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

As informative as it is lovely, Homes in the Wild is an adorable nonfiction picture book from author/illustrator Lita Judge that shows that wild creatures—from beavers to bobcats, and sloths to squirrels—aren't so different from us after all. Just like us, every baby animal has a home. Some live in complex burrows deep underground, others in simple nests high in the treetops. But all homes, regardless of where they are or how they're built, serve the same purpose: providing shelter where a baby can eat, sleep, learn, and stay safe while growing up. Animal lovers will delight in this gorgeously illustrated peek inside the homes—from burrows deep underground to nests high in the trees—where baby animals live and grow.

Welcome Home: Where Nature's Most Creative Creatures Dwell book
#9
Welcome Home: Where Nature's Most Creative Creatures Dwell
Written and illustrated by Lisa Mundorff
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Young readers will delight in the realistic and literal interpretations of where some of our most favorite animals live. Humans love to put their feet up at home after a long day--whether they're in a house, apartment, or cabin. Well, even animals have their own particular homes. Otters kick it on a couch, lions retreat to their dens, and pigeons (the city dwellers that they are) call lofts their home. Where we live is a part of us.

The Great Gran Plan book
#10
The Great Gran Plan
Written by Elli Woollard and illustrated by Steven Lenton
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

From the author of The Giant of Jum comes a rollicking new rhyming fairytale retelling in which one of the Three Little Pigs must save Little Red Riding Hood’s granny. In this riff on “Little Red Riding Hood,” the pig from “The Three Little Pigs” gets mixed up in the Big Bad Wolf's plot to eat Granny. Fortunately, Granny is a tough old bird who can take care of herself—and everyone else, too. A funny, rhyming read-aloud!

The Singing Rock and Other Brand-New Fairy Tales book
#11
The Singing Rock and Other Brand-New Fairy Tales
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-9

A genie just wants a chance to grant a wish to the frog who accidentally let him out of his lamp—meanwhile, the frog just wants to be left alone. A witch is tormented by the cheerful (and awful) singing of a persistent bard, but when she finally snaps and turns him into a rock, he just keeps on singing —somehow the power of terrible music overcomes all magic. A wizard wants a pet. An ogre just wants to make beautiful art. Four original, wry, and utterly charming fairy tales comprise this new collection for young readers. With deft, lively text from Nathaniel Lachenmeyer and eye-popping, painterly art by Simini Blocker, The Singing Rock is the perfect read for kids who love a good yarn—and good comics!

Hey, Dog book
#12
Hey, Dog
Written by Tony Johnston and illustrated by Jonathan Nelson
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

A boy cares for, feeds, and helps an abused stray dog to learn to trust humans again.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected]!