A Plan for Pops book
#1
A Plan for Pops
Written by Heather Smith and illustrated by Brooke Kerrigan
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Lou spends every Saturday with Grandad and Pops. They walk to the library hand in hand, like a chain of paper dolls. Grandad reads books about science and design, Pops listens to rock and roll, and Lou bounces from lap to lap. But everything changes one Saturday. Pops has a fall. That night there is terrible news: Pops will be confined to a wheelchair, not just for now, but for always. Unable to cope with his new circumstances, he becomes withdrawn and shuts himself in his room. Hearing Grandad trying to cheer up Pops inspires Lou to make a plan. Using skills learned from Grandad, and with a little help from their neighbors, Lou comes up with a plan for Pops.

On the Playground book
#2
On the Playground
Written by Jillian Roberts and illustrated by Jane Heinrichs
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-8

On the Playground: Our First Talk About Prejudice focuses on introducing children to the complex topic of prejudice. Crafted around a narrative between a gradeschool-aged child and an adult, this inquiry-focused book will help children shape their understanding of diversity so they are better prepared to understand, and question, prejudice witnessed around them in their day-to-day lives and in the media. Dr. Jillian Roberts discusses types of discrimination children notice, what prejudice means, why it’s not okay, how to stand up against it and how kids can spread a message of inclusion and acceptance in the world around them.

On the Internet book
#3
On the Internet
Written by Jillian Roberts and illustrated by Jane Heinrichs
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-8

On the Internet: Our First Talk About Online Safety introduces children to the basics of online safety in a story-based, conversational style. Using real-world examples set within the context of a child who is using the Internet for the first time and watching an older sibling interact with social media, Dr. Roberts takes readers through several common scenarios around parental supervision, online bullying and anonymity. She also includes examples of people who use the Internet to make the world a better place. On the Internet addresses common safety concerns in a child-centered way and offers easy-to-understand rationales as to why it’s important to maintain boundaries online just as in real life. The World Around Us series introduces children to complex cultural, social and environmental issues that they may encounter outside their homes, in an accessible way. Sidebars offer further reading for older children or care providers who have bigger questions. For younger children just starting to make these observations, the simple question-and-answer format of the main text will provide a foundation of knowledge on the subject matter.

Princess Angelica, Part-Time Lion Trainer book
#4
Princess Angelica, Part-Time Lion Trainer
Written by Monique Polak and illustrated by Jane Heinrichs
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-8

Our favorite pretend princess, Angelica, aka Jelly, is back! A case of mistaken identity, a wild imagination and a love of storytelling leads Jelly to tell her friend Joon and the new kid she’s just met, Leo, that she’s a part-time lion trainer at the local animal rescue center. Her inventiveness has them completely convinced, but things get a bit more complicated when the resident lioness, Mwezi, escapes from her enclosure and the kids look to Jelly’s “expertise” to save the day.

The Happy Book book
#5
The Happy Book
Written and illustrated by Andy Rash
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

From the creator of ARCHIE THE DAREDEVIL PENGUIN comes the unique story of two friends who can't escape all the feels. Camper is happy as a clam and Clam is a happy camper. When you live in The Happy Book, the world is full of daisies and sunshine and friendship cakes . . . until your best friend eats the whole cake and doesn't save you one bite. Moving from happiness to sadness and everything in between, Camper and Clam have a hard time finding their way back to happy. But maybe happy isn't the goal--being a good friend is about supporting each other and feeling all the feels together. At once funny and thoughtful, The Happy Book supports social-emotional learning. It's a book to keep young readers company no matter how they're feeling!

Saves the World! book
#6
Saves the World!
Written and illustrated by Adam Hargreaves
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

The irresistible new series by the author-illustrator of Mr. Men Little Miss. Molly knows what she wants to be when she grows up: a superhero. It's a great plan. She could save the world. But with Molly, mischief is never far away! In this second book of a new series, Molly wants to be a superhero, but before she can start her new job she has to answer some important questions. What powers will she have? Who are her enemies? What's her costume like? While Molly has a great imagination, and anything is possible, one thing is for sure: this will definitely end in mischief. A laugh-out-loud story for sharing, with bold, fun illustrations, this book celebrates a larger-than-life little girl learning a valuable lesson in appreciating what you've already got (unless he's your younger brother!).

My Perfect Pet book
#7
My Perfect Pet
Written and illustrated by Adam Hargreaves
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

The irresistible new series by the author-illustrator of Mr. Men Little Miss. Molly wants a pet. A big pet. But with Molly, mischief is never far away! In this first book of a new series, Molly decides that an elephant would be a perfect pet. When she brings one home, she quickly learns that "perfect" isn't quite the right word. Elephants are big. Tigers are fierce. Giraffes are tall. Will Molly ever find the perfect pet? A laugh-out-loud story for sharing, with bold, fun illustrations, this book celebrates a larger-than-life little girl learning a valuable lesson in appreciating what you've already got (unless he's your younger brother!).

The Bluest of Blues book
#8
The Bluest of Blues
Written and illustrated by Fiona Robinson
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

A gorgeous picture book biography of botanist and photographer Anna Atkins--the first person to ever publish a book of photography After losing her mother very early in life, Anna Atkins (1799-1871) was raised by her loving father. He gave her a scientific education, which was highly unusual for women and girls in the early 19th century. Fascinated with the plant life around her, Anna became a botanist. She recorded all her findings in detailed illustrations and engravings, until the invention of cyanotype photography in 1842. Anna used this new technology in order to catalogue plant specimens--a true marriage of science and art. In 1843, Anna published the book Photographs of British Algae: Cyanotype Impressions with handwritten text and cyanotype photographs. It is considered the first book of photographs ever published. Weaving together histories of women, science, and art, The Bluest of Blues will inspire young readers to embark on their own journeys of discovery and creativity.

The Smallest Elephant in the World book
#9
The Smallest Elephant in the World
Written by Alvin Tresselt and illustrated by Milton Glaser
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Mocked throughout the jungles of India, the smallest elephant in the world-no bigger than a house cat-has decided enough is enough. If he's no bigger than a house cat, then a house is where he belongs! After a long journey, this smallest elephant in the world finds himself a home with a nice little boy inside. Unfortunately, the boy's mother doesn't believe elephants make suitable house pets... First published in 1959, The Smallest Elephant in the World, written by Alvin Tresselt and illustrated by Milton Glaser, is a witty, sweet, and funny tale of friendship, unlikely disguise, and the search for home.

Ten Rules of the Birthday Wish book
#10
Ten Rules of the Birthday Wish
Written by Beth Ferry and illustrated by Tom Lichtenheld
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

A joyful picture book that celebrates every kid's favorite day of the year, full of adorable art from the illustrator of Goodnight Goodnight Construction Site and I Wish You More. The most important rule is #1: It must be your birthday. After that's been established, a crew of hilarious animals help picture book pros Tom Lichtenheld and Beth Ferry take readers through a joyous romp that covers the most important elements of every year's most essential holiday, including singing; closing your eyes and making a wish; blowing out candles on a cake, then settling into bed and dreaming of your wish coming true.

Which One Doesn't Belong? book
#11
Which One Doesn't Belong?
Written and illustrated by Christopher Danielson
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

This is not your typical shapes book. This introducti on to geometry and mathemati cal thinking will excite young readers and make math a part of their everyday lives. Celebrated math educator Christopher Danielson encourages inquiry and criti cal thinking and sparks memorable mathematical conversati ons by asking which shape in each group does not belong. There’s no one right answer—the important thing is to have a reason why. Kids might describe the shapes as squished, smooshed, dented, or even goofy. But when they justi fy their thinking, they’re talking math!

Croc & Turtle book
#12
Croc & Turtle
Written and illustrated by Mike Wohnoutka
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

For fans of Penguin and Pinecone, this adorable new duo will warm your heart and tickle your funny bone. Meet Croc! He is the strongest and fastest crocodile around. Meet Turtle! He agrees that Croc is the strongest and fastest. But what happens when Elephant lifts that heavy rock with ease? And when Cheetah speeds on by? Croc and Turtle might not be the strongest or the fastest, but they're definitely the best at something even more important . . . Introducing an utterly charming new duo, this humorous and heartwarming adventure will delight readers of all ages.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected] with your book and list suggestion.