I Wish It Would Snow! book
#181
I Wish It Would Snow!
Written and illustrated by Sarah Dillard
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Let it snow! Let it snow! Let it snow! A little rabbit’s wish comes true when the world becomes a winter wonderland in this witty, wistful picture book from the author of Extraordinary Warren. Winter has just begun, and one little bunny wants it to snow, hopes it will snow, and wishes it would snow. And, finally, the fluffy flakes begin to fall from the sky. First one flake at a time, then more and more until little bunny finds himself up to his ears in a blizzard and then—whoops!—he rolls downhill in a gigantic snow ball, right through the front door of his treehouse. Home and cozy at last, he wakes up next morning and ready to play outside with his forest friends. Sledding down a snowy hill, his frolicking comes to an abrupt halt when he hits the grass! Oh, no! Now there’s not enough snow!

Tractor Mac Family Reunion book
#182
Tractor Mac Family Reunion
Written and illustrated by Billy Steers
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Tractor Mac loves that he is the only tractor in his farm family. Then one day, his friend Iron Dave the train brings him to a tractor dealership and shows him a whole lot full of big red tractors that look just like him. Are these tractors his real family? Tractor Mac is excited to find a place with so many familiar faces, but sad that he might have to leave the farm to be with them. Then all of the big red tractors in the lot help him to understand that his real home is with the family he's found with the animals and machines on Stony Meadow Farm.

A Hug Is for Holding Me book
#183
A Hug Is for Holding Me
Written by Lisa Wheeler and illustrated by Lisk Feng
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

A Hug Is for Holding Me is a sweet, cozy book about love and affection and invites children to engage with the natural world in a fresh, new way. Some hugs are tight and some hugs are snug . . . but guess who gives the BEST hugs?

Mouse Loves Love book
#184
Mouse Loves Love
Written by Lauren Thompson and illustrated by Buket Erdogan
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

It’s always a beautiful day when Mouse and Minka come to play! Minka loves Mouse and shows it in this charming Pre-Level 1 Ready-to-Read book about siblings! Mouse spies his sister Minka acting very mysterious. She’s collecting shiny red paper, paste, and pink ribbons. What is she doing? She’s making a valentine for Mouse, of course! Young readers are sure to enjoy Lauren Thompson’s simple, energetic text and Buket Erdogan’s sweet, playful illustrations as they learn to recognize words and begin to read on their very own!

Float, Flutter book
#185
Float, Flutter
Written by Marilyn Singer and illustrated by Kathryn Durst
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Award-winning author Marilyn Singer opens up an entire world of imagination in only twenty-four rhyming words in this Pre-Level 1 Ready-to-Read about how animals move! Come see animals of all different kinds hurry to their very special destination in this delightful story that beginning readers will love reading again and again. See animals float, flutter, scuttle, slide, crawl, clamber, gallop, and glide as they move from place to place. This story features only twenty-four rhyming words and comes with a pronunciation guide!

Bunny Will Not Smile! book
#186
Bunny Will Not Smile!
Written and illustrated by Jason Tharp
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-6

From the endless imagination of Jason Tharp comes a brand-new, interactive Level 1 Ready-to-Read that’s perfect for fans of Mo Willems, Jim Benton, and David Milgrim and for beginning readers who like to giggle! A bear named Big has a problem. His friend Bunny will not smile, no matter what Big tries…so Big needs your help! With appealing comic-inspired speech bubbles and interactive storytelling that prompts kids to do everything from turning the page, to leaning in so Big can whisper an idea, to making their silliest silly face, beginning readers will giggle their way through this Level 1 Ready-to-Read!

Poof! A Bot! book
#187
Poof! A Bot!
Written and illustrated by David Milgrim
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Zip the unlucky magician gets into another hilarious (and sticky) situation in the second book in the Adventures of Zip Ready-to-Go! series from author-illustrator David Milgrim, who was awarded a Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor for his Ready-to-Read, Go, Otto, Go! Zip has zapped a bot. Zip tells the bot what to do. Will the bot listen? (Spoiler alert: The bot does not listen and Zip learns an important lesson, complete with a pie being thrown in his face!) Perfect for kids at the beginning of their reading journeys, Poof! A Bot! was written for children who have learned the alphabet and are ready to start reading! And what better way to get kids excited than with a hilarious out-of-this-world adventure featuring words they can actually read and starring a zany magician? Each Ready-to-Go! Ready-to-Read includes a note to parents explaining what their child can expect, a guide at the beginning for readers to become familiar with the words they will encounter in the story, and reading comprehension questions at the end. Each Ready-to-Go! story contains no more than 100 words and features sight words, rhyming words, and repetition to help children reinforce their new reading skills. In this book, readers will learn thirty-five sight words and six words from one word family. So come on and get reading with Zip!

Is That You, Eleanor Sue? book
#188
Is That You, Eleanor Sue?
Written and illustrated by Tricia Tusa
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Saturdays are dress-up days when Eleanor Sue Climbs out the window . . . Tiptoes over to the front door . . . And rings the doorbell. Ding dong. When her mother answers, she doesn’t see Eleanor Sue. She sees A cranky old neighbor. Or a hungry witch. Or a white-bearded wizard. Eleanor Sue is a master of disguise, but when her mother gets in on the act, along with Grandma, anything can happen in this whimsical picture book by award-winning author/illustrator Tricia Tusa.

I Loathe You book
#189
I Loathe You
Written and illustrated by David Slonim
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Unconditional loathing is disguised as monsterly love in this sweetly humorous picture book from acclaimed author-illustrator David Slonim. Just how much does Big Monster loathe Little Monster? Let it count the ways… I loathe you more than tooth decay More than blizzard snow in May More than garbage in a dump More than splinters in my rump No matter what, through thick and thin, I loathe you there and back again! Author and illustrator David Slonim depicts a tender, tongue-in-cheek celebration of a very special kind of loathe…er, love.

Make a Wish, Henry Bear book
#190
Make a Wish, Henry Bear
Written and illustrated by Liam Francis Walsh
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-8

Henry Bear has very unusual parents. They encourage him to stay up all night, eat chocolate cake at every meal, and get into trouble with his teacher. Why? Find out in this droll tale about making wishes with unanticipated consequences written and illustrated by New Yorker cartoonist Liam Francis Walsh, author of Fish, which Kirkus Reviews, in a starred review, called "full-bodied" and "rewarding."

Mirabel's Missing Valentines book
#191
Mirabel's Missing Valentines
Written by Janet Lawler and illustrated by Olivia Chin Mueller
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Poor shy Mirabel trembles at the thought of Valentine's Day. Yet the little mouse crafts her cards with a heart on every one. As she nervously hurries to school, she doesn't notice the valentines falling out of her bag! But with a little holiday kindness, the lost valentines make their way back to her . . . and bring joy into the lives of all who found them, too. This wonderful tale of overcoming insecurity will make its way to children's hearts.

Pinocchio book
#192
Pinocchio
Written by Carlo Collodi and illustrated by Quentin Greban
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Perhaps the most popular and beloved children’s story of all time, Pinocchio tells the story of a wooden puppet that longs to become a real boy.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected] with your book and list suggestion.