When Dinosaurs Came with Everything book
#25
When Dinosaurs Came with Everything
Written by Elise Broach and illustrated by David Small
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Free gift with purchase: Dinosaurs! Wait—free what?! Just when a little boy thinks he’s going to die of boredom from running errands with his mom, the most remarkable, the most stupendous thing happens. He discovers that on this day, and this day only, stores everywhere are giving away a very special treat with any purchase. No, not the usual lollipop or sticker. Something bigger. Much, MUCH bigger. It’s a dream come true, except…what exactly do you do with these Jurassic treats? And how do you convince Mom to let you keep them?

Where Are My Books? book
#26
Where Are My Books?
Written and illustrated by Debbie Ridpath Ohi
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

A boy investigates a squirrelly situation to track down his missing stories in this charming ode to book lovers of all kinds. Spencer loves to read. He reads a book every night. But one morning his favorite book goes missing, and in its place is a tulip. Spencer searches high and low, but he can’t find his book. The next morning another book is missing, a nut in its place. And the morning after that, another book is missing. What is happening to Spencer’s books? When he finds out, Spencer devises a surprising solution that will delight readers (and librarians) everywhere.

It Came in the Mail book
#27
It Came in the Mail
Written and illustrated by Ben Clanton
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

From the author-illustrator of Something Extraordinary comes a tale filled with dragons, pickles, friendship, and lots of mail—perfect for fans of Mo Williams and Bob Shea. Liam really wants some mail, so he writes a letter to his mailbox asking for something in return. His mailbox delivers, sending Liam more than he could have hoped for…and how! But as the mail starts to pile up, Liam realizes that the best packages and parcels are even better when shared with friends.

Noni the Pony Rescues a Joey book
#28
Noni the Pony Rescues a Joey
Written and illustrated by Alison Lester
picture book
Recommend Ages: 0-8

Noni the Pony and her friends help a lost wallaby joey find his family in this jaunty follow-up to Noni the Pony and Noni the Pony Goes to the Beach. Noni the Pony and her friends Dave Dog and Coco the Cat are headed out to spend the day roaming the hills near Waratah Bay. But then they meet a lost wallaby joey who needs help finding his family. So Noni, Dave, and Coco ask all of their animal friends, from koala to wombat to possum, if anyone has seen the wallaby family. Will they be able to help their new friend find his way home?

Max Attacks book
#29
Max Attacks
Written by Kathi Appelt and illustrated by Penelope Dullaghan
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Fish and birds and lizards and socks…is there anything Max won’t attack? Watch your ankles and find out in this clever, rhyming picture book about a very naughty kitty cat. Max is a cat. He attacks. From socks to strings to many a fish, attacking, for Max, is most de-lish. But how many of these things can he actually catch? Well, let’s just say it’s no even match.

Clothesline Clues to the First Day of School book
#30
Clothesline Clues to the First Day of School
Written by Kathryn Heling, Deborah Hembrook and illustrated by Andy Robert Davies
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Catchy rhymes and visual cues introduce young readers to the people they meet on their first day of school. The clues in each lively verse can be spotted hanging from the clotheslines. From teacher to custodian, from crossing guard to new friends, who wears what? Full color.

My Best Job book
#31
My Best Job
Written and illustrated by Adam Hargreaves
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

The third book in the irresistible, silly series by the author-illustrator of Mr. Men Little Miss. What should Molly be when she grows up? There are so many options, and lots of fun jobs to try out. But with Molly, mischief is never far away! In this third book in the series, Molly realizes that finding the perfect job might be really hard work. She’s too clumsy to work in the circus, and too hungry to work in a chocolate factory–and definitely too noisy to work in a library! Will Molly ever find a job perfect for her? A laugh-out-loud story for sharing, with bold, fun illustrations, this book celebrates a larger-than-life little girl learning a valuable lesson about finding your passion and being yourself.

Bear Out There book
#32
Bear Out There
Written and illustrated by Jacob Grant
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

Bear and Spider are back in another charming odd-couple friendship story, perfect for fans of Peter Brown and Greg Pizzoli. Bear's favorite place is inside. He loves sharing his tidy home with his friend Spider. Spider loves the outdoors! When Spider's kite flies away, Bear must venture out and into the messy forest to help his friend. As their quest in the forest goes from bad to worse, Bear and Spider show readers that being a friend means being there for each other, no matter what.

Bear's Scare book
#33
Bear's Scare
Written and illustrated by Jacob Grant
picture book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

This adorable, quirky board book features a charming odd-couple friendship and is perfect for fans of Peter Brown and Greg Pizzoli. Bear likes to keep his house clean and tidy. In fact, the only thing Bear loves more than cleaning is taking care of his small stuffed friend, Ursa. Then Bear sees a sticky spiderweb . . . and where there's a web there is certainly a spider! The messy guest must be found, but what Bear and Ursa finally discover might just be an unlikely friend.

Welcome to Morningtown book
#34
Welcome to Morningtown
Written by Blake Liliane Hellman and illustrated by Steven Henry
picture book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Greet the new day with the adorable animal families of Morningtown in this sweet, classically inspired picture book! Welcome to Morningtown! In Morningtown, animal families of all shapes and sizes are waking up to a shiny new day. They get up out of fluffy beds, hard beds, and secret beds. They hop, splash, and flutter through their morning routines, getting ready for whatever the day holds. One thing is certain--every day is a beautiful day in Morningtown!

The Pout-Pout Fish Cleans Up the Ocean book
#35
The Pout-Pout Fish Cleans Up the Ocean
Written by Deborah Diesen and illustrated by Dan Hanna
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

Mr. Fish and his friends have noticed something strange in their ocean—a big, big MESS! How did it get there? What can they do about it? The closer they look, the more they see where the mess came from . . . and they'll have to work together to get rid of it. This newest jacketed hardcover in the New York Times–bestselling Pout-Pout Fish series will teach little guppies how to take responsibility for their actions and for the environment.

How Do You Care for a Very Sick Bear? book
#36
How Do You Care for a Very Sick Bear?
Written by Vanessa Bayer and illustrated by Rosie Butcher
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-6

You and your friend Bear are an excellent pair. But if your friend gets sick, And can’t do all the things that you two love to do... You may wonder--how do you care for a very sick Bear? When someone dear is dealing with illness, it's difficult to know what to do or say. The actor Vanessa Bayer experienced this firsthand when she was treated for childhood leukemia. In her first children's book, she offers gentle, reassuring advice that people of all ages will appreciate.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected]!