What Will I Do When I Grow Up? book
#61
What Will I Do When I Grow Up?
Written and illustrated by Margherita Borin
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Let's take a walk down High Street and discover the variety of jobs that grown-ups do. We will pop into each building to see what they wear, what tools they use and what they make and do. What will I do when I grow up? invites children to discover the diversity of occupations including teachers, chefs, builders and scientists.

Tiger's Roar book
#62
Tiger's Roar
Written by Alex Rance and illustrated by Shane McG
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Tiger was the champion of all the jungle. He was strong and bold and proud, and he sat at the top of the very tallest tree. But one day the winds blew, the birds shrieked, the tree shook, and...Tiger fell all the way down to the mud at the bottom of the tree, and bumped his head on a rock. What will it take for Tiger to be able to climb back to the top of the tree? A hugely entertaining picture book about teamwork and never giving up.

Sandcastle book
#63
Sandcastle
Written and illustrated by Philip Bunting
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

Rae and Grandad set out to build a sandcastle. They make a tall tower. They raise great ramparts. They dig a deep moat. They even find a dragon. But will it be enough to hold the tide? Sandcastle is a beautiful exploration of the ebb and flow of life.

Great Kiwi 123 Book book
#64
Great Kiwi 123 Book
Written and illustrated by Donovan Bixley
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Here is a counting book like you’ve never seen, featuring Donovan Bixley’s most popular characters from his uniquely Kiwi Wheels on the Bus and Old MacDonald’s Farm. Look out for the milkshake-making cow, the All Black lambs, the cute pink ski-bunny, and the colossal squid and many more of Donovan’s vibrant, amusing illustrations. Fun for the kids—and fun for the adults!

Fairy Book book
#65
Fairy Book
Written and illustrated by Shirley Barber
picture book
Recommend Ages: 7-9

Fairies, elves, mermaids, and waterbabies inhabit the magical world created by Shirley Barber in her enchanting fairy book. Most of these charming verses were penned by Shirley herself, while some classic poems are also included. All are accompanied by the beautiful, playful, and animated illustrations that are a hallmark of Shirley’s inimitable style. Shirley Barber’s Fairy Book is a visual delight that introduces children to the charm and beauty of poetry.

The Wildest Cowboy book
#66
The Wildest Cowboy
Written by Garth Jennings and illustrated by Sara Ogilvie
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Saddle up for a funny and uplifting adventure story in which fun wins out over fear. Way out in the West there’s a town they call Fear And only the roughest and toughest live here . . . When cheerful salesman Bingo B. Brown rolls his wagon full of Wild West goodies into town, he’s met with a stony silence. This is clearly no place for novelty bow ties and elastic lassos. Not even Bingo’s dancing dog can raise a smile! But this town is not just joyless, it’s dangerous. And as Bingo soon discovers, the people of the town are not just scary, they’re also scared. It isn’t long before Bingo and his dog discover why, as they come face to face with the Wildest Cowboy in the West! Featuring a dramatic train chase, rattlesnake socks and a dancing dog.

Hello to You, Moon book
#67
Hello to You, Moon
Written by Sally Morgan and illustrated by Sonny Day, Biddy Maroney
picture book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Vibrant, colorful illustrations make this a one to 10 counting book that will completely captivate children as they learn how to count Not all creatures are night animals, but all creatures respond to the moon. In Hello to You, Moon beautiful counting verse and luminous artwork bring to life the mystery and wonder of moonlight’s effect on us all.

Pandamonia book
#68
Pandamonia
Written by Chris Owen and illustrated by Chris Nixon
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Join in the fantastic fun as one grumpy panda sets off a frenzy of wild partying. There’s grunting and growling and prancing and prowling, skipping and scowling and squealing and yowling, squeaking and squawking, snarling and snorting, hysterical howling and chaotic cavorting—all because of one grumpy panda.

Some People Do book
#69
Some People Do
Written by Frank Lowe and illustrated by Josh Hara
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-7

As a parent, discussing diversity with your child can be difficult, especially if you have your own questions. Some People Do boils this topic down to provide the simplest of answers. By the time your child finishes reading this book, they will have been introduced to all facets of people, without any one being more revered than the other.

When I'm Feeling Angry book
#70
When I'm Feeling Angry
Written and illustrated by Trace Moroney
picture book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

The Feelings Series are beautifully produced picture books that cover different emotional concepts for young children. The Feeling series is especially designed to help children better understand their feelings and how to identify, manage and express those feelings in an appropriate and acceptable way, both to themselves and others. These books provide an invaluable tool to help build confidence, self-esteem and contribute to a healthy emotional foundation upon which children can thrive.

When Pencil Met Eraser book
#71
When Pencil Met Eraser
Written by Karen Kilpatrick, Luis O. Ramos, Jr. and illustrated by German Blanco
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

Ever wonder why there’s a little pink eraser on every pencil? Find out in this funny, clever picture book that tells the true story of how Pencil and Eraser became the best of friends. When Pencil draws on the pages of this book, Eraser erases parts of Pencil’s work, and the book itself becomes a canvas for their different takes on creativity—until the two discover their artwork is even better when they work together. From Karen Kilpatrick, Luis O. Ramos, and illustrator Germán Blanco, When Pencil Met Eraser brings to life something kids use every day at school and at home. Engaging art, adorable characters, and a clever ending create a memorable message about friendship and creativity.

Flora's Tree House book
#72
Flora's Tree House
Written and illustrated by Gabriel Alborozo
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Flora entertains herself by drawing and painting. Will leaps from trees and swings branches like they're swords. The two siblings have always played separately, until Will is curious about what exactly Flora is putting in her sketchbook. Flora reveals that she has been drawing—and enhancing—all of Will's imaginary adventures, and making up some of her own. In one joyful afternoon, brother and sister discover that playing together is always more fun. This irresistible and thoughtful story about siblings has expressive, vibrant art as stunning as the adventures the children go on. It is perfect for fans of Jonathan D. Voss's Brave Enough for Two and Ocean Meets Sky by the Fan Brothers.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected]!