The Definitive Guide to

Only Woman in the Photo: Frances Perkins & Her New Deal for America

Written by Kathleen Krull & illustrated by Alexandra Bye
Goodreads Rating - 4.4 / 5.0
Add to list
Prices as of Jan 25
$18.99
Retail Price
$16.14
Bookshop
$12.99
used $7.59
Amazon
Feb 4, 2020
Publication Date
48
Pages
4-8
Target Age

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

Discover the incredible life of Frances Perkins, the first woman to serve in a presidential cabinet and the mastermind behind Franklin D. Roosevelt's New Deal, in this fascinating picture book biography that's perfect for fans of I Dissent.

What Kind of Book is Only Woman in the Photo: Frances Perkins & Her New Deal for America

Quotes from This Book

  • “One day, she testified before Congress, and a Congress man remarked, “She’s an awful smart woman, but I’d hate to be married to her.” When Frances heard about the insult, she laughed it off retorting that “I hadn’t asked him.” She had a job to do.”

Book Lists That Include Only Woman in the Photo: Frances Perkins & Her New Deal for America

Book Topics › biography and autobiography
Children's Books About Biography And Autobiography
Book Topics › girls and women
Children's Books About Girls And Women
Book Topics › politics
Children's Books About Politics
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Only Woman in the Photo: Frances Perkins & Her New Deal for America

author
Kathleen Krull

Kathleen Krull is the award-winning author of many books for children and young adults. She lives in San Diego, CA. Visit Kathleen online at www.kathleenkrull.com.

View Author

Who Illustrated Only Woman in the Photo: Frances Perkins & Her New Deal for America

illustrator
Alexandra Bye

Alexandra Bye graduated from the New Hampshire Institute of Art. She lives in New Hampshire, where she enjoys mountain biking, Nordic ski racing and hiking in the White Mountains with her dogs.

View Illustrator

What Has Kathleen Krull Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Kathleen know that you want more details about Only Woman in the Photo: Frances Perkins & Her New Deal for America!

What Has Alexandra Bye Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Alexandra know that you want more details about Only Woman in the Photo: Frances Perkins & Her New Deal for America!

Kathleen Krull's Book Dedication

For Marjie Podzielinski, librarian goddess.

Alexandra Bye's Book Dedication

For my mom, who led with her voice and my dad whe led by example.

More Books From These Creatives

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Only Woman in the Photo: Frances Perkins & Her New Deal for America

Book Details

ISBN:
9781481491518
Publication Date:
February 4, 2020
Text Details:
Garamond
Illustration Details:
Illustrations for this book were rendered digitally.
Library of Congress Number (LCCN):
2018045302
ASIN/ISBN 10:
1481491512
Lexile® Level:
950L

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 66%
Making good progress . . .
Depth Score - 21%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.
Top Contributors
#1
@keepabookout
25