Discover

Company
Coraline book
#37
Coraline
Written by Neil Gaiman
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

When Coraline steps through a door to find another house strangely similar to her own (only better), things seem marvelous. But there's another mother there, and another father, and they want her to stay and be their little girl. They want to change her and never let her go. Coraline will have to fight with all her wit and courage if she is to save herself and return to her ordinary life. Celebrating ten years of Neil Gaiman's first modern classic for young readers, this edition is enriched with a brand-new foreword from the author, a reader's guide, and more.

Out of the Dust book
#38
Out of the Dust
Written by Karen Hesse
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 11-14

In a series of poems, fifteen-year-old Billie Jo relates the hardships of living on her family's wheat farm in Oklahoma during the dust bowl years of the Depression.

The Great Brain Does It Again book
#39
The Great Brain Does It Again
Written by John D. Fitzgerald and illustrated by Mercer Mayer
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

In turn-of-the-century Mormon Utah, Tom's great brain comes up with eight more schemes, most of them concerned with earning money.

The Great Brain Is Back book
#40
The Great Brain Is Back
Written by John D. Fitzgerald and illustrated by Mercer Mayer
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

This classic trickster is back again, and he's up to no good in his eighth and final book of the series. Great mix of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl. Tom D. Fitzgerald--better known as The Great Brain--has turned thirteen, and pretty Polly Reagan has put a spell on him. But when it comes to swindling his younger brother J. D., and all the other kids in Adenville, Tom hasn't changed a bit. The Great Brain is back one more time, and he's at the top of his form with his money-making schemes and getting into big trouble. As always, life is more exciting when this brain's around!

The Return of the Great Brain book
#41
The Return of the Great Brain
Written by John D. Fitzgerald and illustrated by Mercer Mayer
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Tom Fitzgerald, alias The Great Brain, is back, struggling to stay reformed now that his friends have threatened to ostracize him if he puulls even one more swindle. But his brother J.D. knows Tom's reformation is too good to be true, and as a reformed Great Brain makes for a dull life, J.D. is not altogether unhappy--or blameless--when his brother's money-loving heart stealthily retums to business as usual. Under the watchful eyes of parents and friends, Tom has to be craftier than ever, and indeed he is. Whether he's cleverly pulling an out-and-out swindle so as not to be caught or solving a train robbery and murder, Tom's Great Brain never fails.

The Great Brain Reforms book
#42
The Great Brain Reforms
Written by John D. Fitzgerald and illustrated by Mercer Mayer
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

During summer vacation in 1898, J. D. arrives at a means of reforming his older brother, The Great Brain, and ending his career as a swindler.

The Great Brain at the Academy book
#43
The Great Brain at the Academy
Written by John D. Fitzgerald and illustrated by Mercer Mayer
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Everyone knew that Tom Fitzgerald, alias The Great Brain, would get into trouble when he went off to school at the strict Catholic Academy for Boys in Salt Lake City. But no one—including Tom—knew just how much. His tongue got him into fifteen demerits worth of difficulty the very first day, but his great brain refused to be defeated as Tom set out to outwit the eighth grade, the superintendent, and finally the bishop of the state of Utah. Whether it's running an illegal candy store or earning a reputation as the fastest potato peeler in the world or introducing the newfangled sport of basketball at the academy, Tom's great brain never falters. And his money-making schemes rise to new heights—or depths—faced with the challenge of rigorous boarding-school life.

Me and My Little Brain book
#44
Me and My Little Brain
Written by John D. Fitzgerald and illustrated by Mercer Mayer
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

This third book in the series is a great combination of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl. Tom a.k.a. the Great Brain, is off to boarding school. Now his little brother, J.D., is free to follow in Tom's ingenious, conniving, and profitable footsteps. All of J.D.'s attempts at turning a profit fail miserably, and he soon realizes that he just doesn't have that crafty Great Brain knack. But when his younger brother is kidnapped, J.D. finds that his little brain may not be so ordinary after all . . .

The Great Brain book
#45
The Great Brain
Written by John D. Fitzgerald and illustrated by Mercer Mayer
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

This first book in the series is a great combination of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl. The best con man in the Midwest is only ten years old. Tom, a.k.a., the Great Brain, is a silver-tongued genius with a knack for turning a profit. When the Jenkins boys get lost in Skeleton Cave, the Great Brain saves the day. Whether it's saving the kids at school, or helping out Peg-leg Andy, or Basil, the new kid at school, the Great Brain always manages to come out on top-and line his pockets in the process.

More Adventures of the Great Brain book
#46
More Adventures of the Great Brain
Written by John D. Fitzgerald and illustrated by Mercer Mayer, John D. Fitzgerald
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

This second book in the series is a great combination of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl. Has Tom, a.k.a. the Great Brain, given up his con-artist ways for a bicycle? Not for long. Soon the Great Brain is back to his old tricks, swindling and trading, and even convincing the whole town there's a prehistoric monster on the loose. But when someone robs the bank, even the police are stumped. Can the Great Brain solve the crime and put the crooks behind bars?

Hello, Peter! book
#47
Hello, Peter!
Written and illustrated by Beatrix Potter
board book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

This book introduces very young children to the charming world of Peter Rabbit. The chunky, padded format and gentle, rhyming text are perfect for babies, who will love finding out about Peter and how he spends his day.

The Field book
#48
The Field
Written by Baptiste Paul and illustrated by Jacqueline Alcantara
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

A soccer story—for boy and girls alike—just in time for the World Cup! “Vini! Come! The field calls!” cries a girl as she and her younger brother rouse their community—family, friends, and the local fruit vendor—for a pickup soccer (futbol) game. Boys and girls, young and old, players and spectators come running—bearing balls, shoes, goals, and a love of the sport. “Friends versus friends” teams are formed, the field is cleared of cows, and the game begins! But will a tropical rainstorm threaten their plans? The world’s most popular and inclusive sport has found its spirited, poetic, and authentic voice in Baptiste Paul’s debut picture book—highlighting the joys of the game along with its universal themes: teamwork, leadership, diversity, and acceptance. Creole words (as spoken in St. Lucia, the author’s birthplace island in the Caribbean) add spice to the story and are a strong reminder of the sport’s world fame. Bright and brilliant illustrations by debut children’s book illustrator Jacqueline Alcántara—winner of the We Need Diverse Books Illustration Mentorship Award—capture the grit and glory of the game and the beauty of the island setting where this particular field was inspired. Soccer fan or not, the call of The Field is irresistible.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected]!