A Crack in the Sea book
#1
A Crack in the Sea
Written by H. M. Bouwman and illustrated by Yuko Shimizu
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 10-14

"Pip, a young boy who can speak to fish, and his sister Kinchen set off on a great adventure, joined by twins with magical powers, refugees fleeing post-war Vietnam, and some helpful sea monsters"--

Vilonia Beebe Takes Charge book
#2
Vilonia Beebe Takes Charge
Written by Kristin L. Gray
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

"Vilonia must prove she is responsible enough to get a dog in order to help her mom get over her grief"--

My Big Fat Zombie Goldfish book
#3
My Big Fat Zombie Goldfish
Written by Mo O'Hara and illustrated by Marek Jagucki
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-10

A first entry in a new chapter book series finds Tom's goldfish horrifically transformed after his evil scientist big brother's experiment goes wrong, an accident that imbues the goldfish with hypnotic powers and a thirst for revenge.

Pax book
#4
Pax
Written by Sara Pennypacker and illustrated by Jon Klassen
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

From bestselling and award-winning author Sara Pennypacker comes a beautifully wrought, utterly compelling novel about the powerful relationship between a boy and his fox. Pax is destined to become a classic, beloved for generations to come. Pax and Peter have been inseparable ever since Peter rescued him as a kit. But one day, the unimaginable happens: Peter's dad enlists in the military and makes him return the fox to the wild. At his grandfather's house, three hundred miles away from home, Peter knows he isn't where he should be—with Pax. He strikes out on his own despite the encroaching war, spurred by love, loyalty, and grief, to be reunited with his fox. Meanwhile Pax, steadfastly waiting for his boy, embarks on adventures and discoveries of his own. . . .

My Fox Ate My Homework book
#5
My Fox Ate My Homework
Written and illustrated by David Blaze
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

My name is Jonah Johnson, and I'm in the 6th grade - but please call me Joe. My whole world just got turned upside down. It's my first day at a new school and I've already got to deal with the bully. If that wasn't bad enough, there's a talking fox that keeps getting me into trouble at my new house in the country. I know it sounds crazy, but it's true! To top it all off, I've got to help save my mom's house!

All Four Stars book
#6
All Four Stars
Written and illustrated by Tara Dairman
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

A zesty new series for fans of MasterChef Jr. and Kids Cook-off! It's "lights, camera, cook!" for four tween contestants--energetic Tate, charming Rae, worldly Caroline, and hyper-competitive Oliver--who are all about to enter a televised cooking competition. What will the kids cook up? How will they all get along on and off camera? Which junior chef will have the grit--and maybe the grits--to make it through each elimination challenge? And which junior chef will have to hang their apron up for good?

Lights, Camera, Cook! book
#7
Lights, Camera, Cook!
Written by Charise Mericle Harper and illustrated by Aurelie Blard-Quintard
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-10

A zesty new series for fans of MasterChef Jr. and Kids Cook-off! It's "lights, camera, cook!" for four tween contestants--energetic Tate, charming Rae, worldly Caroline, and hyper-competitive Oliver--who are all about to enter a televised cooking competition. What will the kids cook up? How will they all get along on and off camera? Which junior chef will have the grit--and maybe the grits--to make it through each elimination challenge? And which junior chef will have to hang their apron up for good?

Junie B., First Grader book
#8
Junie B., First Grader
Written by Barbara Park and illustrated by Denise Brunkus
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-8

Junie, an outspoken, sometimes exasperating, first grader is thrilled when she is told she can help out Mrs. Gutzman in the school cafeteria and imagines what it will be like to be a professional lunch lady. Reprint.

Call It Courage book
#9
Call It Courage
Written by Armstrong Sperry
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 10-14

A legend of a Polynesian boy, who, called a coward for being afraid of the sea, sets out to overcome his fears

The Matchlock Gun book
#10
The Matchlock Gun
Written by Walter D. Edmonds and illustrated by Paul Lantz
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-10

The story of Edward, a child in 1756 colonial New York State, whose father, called away to watch for raids, entrusts him to defend his family from the constant threats of warring French and Indians. Winner of the Newbery Medal. Reissue.

Adam of the Road  book
#11
Adam of the Road
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Eleven-year-old Adam loved to travel throughout thirteenthcentury England with his father, a wandering minstrel, and his dog, Nick. But when Nick is stolen and his father disappears, Adam suddenly finds himself alone. He searches the same roads he traveled with his father, meeting various people along the way. But will Adam ever find his father and dog and end his desperate search?

Johnny Tremain book
#12
Johnny Tremain
Written and illustrated by Esther Hoskins Forbes
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 10-12

This striking 75th Anniversary edition of this Newbery Medal-winning historical fiction classic is updated with new jacket art and an illustrated foreword from author-illustrator Nathan Hale. Johnny Tremain is one of the finest historical novels ever written for children. To read this riveting novel is to live through the defining events leading up to the American Revolutionary War. Fourteen-year-old Johnny Tremain, an apprentice silversmith with a bright future, injures his hand in an accident, forcing him to look for other work. In his new job as a horse boy, he encounters John Hancock, Samuel Adams, and Dr. Joseph Warren. Soon Johnny is involved in pivotal events from the Boston Tea Party to the shots fired at Lexington. For this anniversary edition, Nathan Hale brings his distinct graphic-novel storytelling to a new foreword.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected] with your book and list suggestion.