Discover

Company
Peterrific book
#13
Peterrific
Written and illustrated by Victoria Kann
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

The #1 New York Times bestselling author-artist of the Pinkalicious series, Victoria Kann, is back with an imagination-sparking new book starring Pinkalicious’s brother, Peter. In Peterrific, readers can follow Peter's own adventures as he builds a tower of blocks all the way to the moon. Peter loves to build with blocks. One day, he decides to build a tower that will reach the moon, and he wants to do it all by himself. Will the moon be made of cheese? Can he catch a shooting star? As Peter climbs higher and higher into space, he discovers he doesn’t have a way down! He’ll have to figure out what to do next—all by himself.

Mr. Biddles book
#14
Mr. Biddles
Written and illustrated by Kristine A Lombardi
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

A funny picture book about friendship, in the tradition of Arnold Lobel’s Frog and Toad. Mr. Biddles is a cat inventor, and Hobson is a lobster that is left on his front porch. An odd pair indeed, but when Hobson joins Biddles in the lab (where he invented not only his catnip diffuser but also his automatic mail retriever!), they discover that Hobson has a gift: two super-useful claws. Mr. Biddles always needed help in the lab, but he hadn’t known how much until Hobson came along. The two enjoy one another’s company and work well side by side, but one day, Hobson begins to miss home. Biddles badly wants to invent a way to get his friend home safely. But how? Hobson is from the faraway coast, and can travel only in five gallons of water! Kristine A. Lombardi meticulously created convincing worlds for both Mr. Biddles and Hobson using collaged ephemera from years of collecting old receipts, postcards, photos, diner bills, business cards, blueprints, and everything else you can think of!

Oopsie-do! book
#15
Oopsie-do!
Written by Tim Kubart and illustrated by Lori Richmond
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

“Cheery and affirming.” —Kirkus From Grammy Award–winning musician and TV host Tim Kubart and illustrator Lori Richmond comes a lively picture book debut that reassures children that it’s okay to make mistakes! When a girl drops her snack or scrapes her knee, does she get upset? No! She says, “Oopsie-do!” Readers will delight as they follow along and call out the OOPSIE-DO! refrain throughout the story. This delightful picture book also includes the link to a free original song by Grammy winner Tim Kubart, available for download and sure to be a part of every repeat reading.

Where's the Knight? book
#16
Where's the Knight?
Written and illustrated by Keith Moseley
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

Do knights in shining armor still exist? Grandfather, George, and Meg the dog are on the hunt to find out. Even though the three manage to wander through a spooky old castle without seeing a single medieval warrior, sharp-eyed kids will see them everywhere. Over 100 knights are leaning out of the slit windows, hiding behind drawbridges, and even jousting! Little hands will have lots of fun seeking out the tactile spots on these embossed pages as they count the knights.

Dirt + Water = Mud book
#18
Dirt + Water = Mud
Written and illustrated by Katherine Hannigan
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

This exuberant picture book by Katherine Hannigan, the acclaimed and bestselling author of Ida B, is about math concepts, friendship, and imaginative play, and is told entirely in equations! A young girl and her dog spend the day playing in her backyard, where with her imagination—and a few helpful props—anything can happen. What do you get when you combine dirt and water? Mud! What do you get when you take a sheet, a flowerpot, and a stick and make a costume? You transform yourself into Her Majesty, the queen! A cape and a strong breeze turn the treehouse into an airplane. A sheet, a stick, and a pair of well-placed cat’s ears turn the girl into a pirate! At least until mutiny leaves her alone in her kiddie pool . . . surrounded by sharks! Cheerful and action-packed illustrations and a combination of comic-like panels, conversation bubbles, sound effects, and full-page illustrations make Dirt + Water = Mud particularly appealing for new readers.

A Greyhound, a Groundhog book
#19
A Greyhound, a Groundhog
Written by Emily Jenkins and illustrated by Chris Appelhans
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

From a heavyweight author and illustrator duo comes a delicious tongue twister of a picture book that features a little round greyhound and a little round groundhog. With very spare, incredibly lively language, this is an entertaining read-aloud, with two amazing—and oh-so-adorable—characters at its heart. When a greyhound meets a groundhog, wordplay and crazy antics ensue. The two animals, much like kids, work themselves into a frenzy as they whirl around and around one another. (Around, round hound. Around, groundhog!) The pace picks up (Around and around and astound and astound!), until they ultimately wear themselves out.

The Almost Impossible Thing book
#20
The Almost Impossible Thing
Written and illustrated by Basak Agaoglu
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Nothing is so impossible that it shouldn't be tried. Even if you're a bunny hoping to fly. A tribute to teamwork, big dreams, perseverance, and those who don't listen when others say their goals are unreachable. The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it.--Chinese Proverb Most of us want to fly--even if we know we're rooted to the ground. Especially if we know we're rooted to the ground! So when a rabbit spots a bird soaring in beautiful, colorful loop-de-loops, a dream is born. Though her friends tell her "You can't do that!" our rabbit is undeterred. Through comical ski jumps, trampoline bounces, swings on the trapeze, and experiments with kites . . . somehow, some way, there must be a way to fly. And there is! Teamwork. Debut author/illustrator Basak Agaoglu delivers a story of faith, persistence, and humor--along with some of the most adorable, child-friendly art ever seen. For fans of Extremely Cute Animals Operating Heavy Machinery.

Where Is Bear? book
#21
Where Is Bear?
Written and illustrated by Jonathan Bentley
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Perfect for fans of the classic We’re Going on a Bear Hunt, this adventurous and endearing picture book follows a little boy searching high and low for his missing bear. Features a surprise ending! Where is Bear? Is Bear in the dresser? Is Bear in the bathroom? Is Bear on the swing? It’s almost bedtime, and a little boy can’t seem to find his beloved Bear! Children will love joining in the irresistible search for Bear and finding where he is on every page . . . and they will love the surprise ending even more! Praise for Where is Bear! "Giggle-inducing clues make this book an interactive reading delight . . . Reminiscent of a Mo Willems story." - School Library Journal "An inventive twist on the familiar lost-teddy story." - Kirkus Reviews

Wee Sister Strange book
#22
Wee Sister Strange
Written by Holly Grant and illustrated by K. G. Campbell
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

With a lyrical text and gorgeous, ethereal illustrations, here is a mesmerizing and magical original bedtime fairy tale reminiscent of Emily Winfield Martin’s Dream Animals, and perfect for reading aloud. They say there's a girl Who lives by the woods In a crooked old house With no garden but gloom. She doesn't have parents. No one knows her name. But the people in town Call her Wee Sister Strange. Like Emily Winfield Martin’s bestselling Dream Animals, here is a bedtime read-aloud sure to entrance young listeners. Each evening, as the shadows grow long, Wee Sister Strange climbs from her window and runs into the woods. She talks to the owls and rides on a bear. She clambers up trees and dives into the bog. She is searching for something.... She looks far and wide, over forest and marsh. What is it she seeks? Why, it's a wee bedtime story to help her fall asleep!

Flo book
#23
Flo
Written by Kyo Maclear and illustrated by Jay Fleck
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

A witty picture book, starring an adorable panda, that celebrates relaxing, stopping to smell the roses, and being yourself! Meet Flo! Flo is the littlest panda. She likes to explore, relax, and enjoy everything around her. She is never in a hurry. But . . . sometimes she takes too much time, and the other pandas get impatient. One day they find themselves in trouble. Can Flo’s floppy ways save the day? With Kyo Maclear’s sweet, spare text and Jay Fleck’s bold, bright illustrations, Flo is sure to be a favorite for even the busiest little pandas!

What I Love About You book
#24
What I Love About You
Written and illustrated by Susan Farrington
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

A sweet and funny "I Love You" picture book about everything a parent loves about his or her child—from acclaimed artist Susan Farrington. Do you know what I love? So many things! When you smile, When you’re brave, When you hold my hand, And a million more things, too many to list, All the things I love—about you!

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected]!