The Easter Egg book
#3169
The Easter Egg
Written and illustrated by Jan Brett
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Jan Brett’s lovable bunny hero, Hoppi, and her remarkable Easter Rabbit will enchant readers as they pore over illustrations filled with dazzling eggs made by Flora Bunny, Aunt Sassyfrass and others. If Hoppi can make the best Easter egg, he will get to help the Easter Rabbit with his deliveries on Easter morning. But it is not so easy. Discouraged, he goes into the woods to think when a blue robin’s egg tumbles out of its nest. Hoppi keeps it safe and warm until the baby bird hatches, and when the Easter Rabbit arrives, he declares the empty blue eggshell the very best one to reward Hoppi for his kindness. Spring is everywhere in gorgeous illustrations framed with pussy willows, flowering vines and flowers. Side borders feature busy rabbits making their unusual eggs and, in a border above, the Robin’s family drama unfolds. A gatefold surprise reveals the Easter Rabbit.

Betty Bunny Loves Easter book
#3170
Betty Bunny Loves Easter
Written by Michael Kaplan and illustrated by Stephane Jorisch
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Nobunny does an Easter egg hunt quite like Betty Bunny! For fans of Ladybug Girl and Fancy Nancy, check out the loveable handful from the creator of Disney’s T.V. series Dog with a Blog. Yes, Betty Bunny loves Easter. She loves it so much that she just knows when she grows up, she will be the Easter Bunny. So it comes as quite a shock when she learns that her brothers and sister have been helping her in the egg hunt every year. Determined to find eggs on her own, this time, Betty Bunny also finds out a thing or two about the satisfaction of accomplishment. Going it alone, Betty Bunny strikes again in the latest in her series, a funny Easter tale of independence.

The Twelve Days of Christmas book
#3171
The Twelve Days of Christmas
Written by and illustrated by Laurel Long
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

The astounding talent of Laurel Long brings this beloved song to life with breathtaking style. Set against a lush countryside, each day brings a new gift elegantly rendered. And like in the verses of the song, the previous gifts are repeated in every illustration, giving this striking artwork a hidden aspect, culminating in a staggering spread featuring them all. Readers will pore over every page, searching for golden rings, turtledoves, and all the rest, secretly tucked into each stunning painting. Laurel Long’s unparalleled style makes this exquisite volume a treasure that will be cherished for years to come.

The Twelve Days of Christmas book
#3172
The Twelve Days of Christmas
Written and illustrated by Emma Randall
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

With art so stunning it glistens like freshly fallen snow, this cozy Christmas tale is an essential treasure for anyone celebrating the holiday season! Bursting with gorgeous illustrations that accompany the lyrics to this classic carol, the festive artwork and jolly characters capture all the merriment of the popular Yuletide tune. Randall’s style feels charmingly classic while also strikingly contemporary, making this particular partidge in a pear tree the perfect one for the modern reader. The joyful pictures and beloved song are sure to make this a recurring holiday favorite.

Strega Nona's Gift book
#3173
Strega Nona's Gift
Written and illustrated by Tomie dePaola
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

In Strega Nona’s village, the holiday season is a time of celebrations – and nothing says celebration like a feast! All the kitchens are bustling from the Feast of San Nicola, when the children choose the food, to the Feast of Epiphany, when someone gets to be king or queen for the day. Even the animals share in the holiday spirit, and when Big Anthony smells the delicious treats Strega Nona is cooking for them, he decides that just a taste couldn’t hurt, right? Wrong! Big Anthony gets his just desserts, while Strega Nona surprises everyone with a special gift. Starring two of Tomie dePaola’s best-loved characters, this funny story features beautiful art, introduces young readers to Italian holiday traditions, and lands Big Anthony in yet another silly predicament that will delight fans young and old.

Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening book
#3174
Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening
Written by Robert Frost and illustrated by Susan Jeffers
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Ever since it was published in 1978, the picture-book presentation of Robert Frost’s poem “Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening” has been an enduring favorite. For this special edition with a new design, trim size, and three new spreads, Susan Jeffers has added more detail and subtle color to her sweeping backgrounds of frosty New England scenes. There are more animals to find among the trees, and the kindly figure with his “promises to keep” exudes warmth as he stops to appreciate the quiet delights of winter. The handsome new vellum jacket will attract new and old fans as it evokes a frost-covered windowpane. This celebration of a season makes an ideal holiday gift for a child, a teacher, or a host.

The Night Before the Night Before Christmas book
#3175
The Night Before the Night Before Christmas
Written by Natasha Wing and illustrated by Mike Lester
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

It’s December 23, and Christmas is just around the corner. But one family is having trouble getting its act together. Once again, Natasha Wing follows the rhythms and meter of Clement Moore’s classic Christmas poem, yet gives it her own entirely original twist.

Mr. Noisy and the Silent Night book
#3176
Mr. Noisy and the Silent Night
Written and illustrated by Adam Hargreaves
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

In this Christmas-themed Mr. Men book, Mr. Quiet might get the peaceful Christmas he’s always wanted! Poor Mr. Quiet doesn’t look forward to Christmas—it’s too noisy for him! Noisy decorations, noisy carol singers, a noisy postman delivering Christmas cards, and, noisiest of all, an annual visit from Mr. Noisy himself! But this Christmas, a snowstorm might give Mr. Quiet the silence he so desperately craves.

Merry Christmas, Peanut! book
#3177
Merry Christmas, Peanut!
Written and illustrated by Terry Border
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

A sweet (or is it salty?) Christmas story with heart, humor, and plenty of punny holiday cheer. Peanut is going over the river and through the woods to his grandmother’s house for Christmas, but getting there is a food-filled adventure for this little nut! First he gets stuck in a traffic jam (make that a traffic jelly), then the bridge is closed so he has to take a (gravy) boat across the river, where he gets lost in a forest of (cookies shaped like) Christmas trees! But while the delays dismay his friends and family, Peanut embraces his role as the Merry Christmas Nut to cheer them up. In this heart-warming and humorous Christmas tale based on the real-life adventures of one peanut — including ice-skating on popsicles and making snow angels in powdered-sugar snow — our food friends know that the true meaning of Christmas is joining with our loved ones to celebrate the joy of being together. From the creator of Peanut Butter & Cupcake, tihs book is perfect for every family who wants to giggle together this holiday season.

Merry Christmas from the Very Hungry Caterpillar book
#3178
Merry Christmas from the Very Hungry Caterpillar
Written and illustrated by Eric Carle
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Join The Very Hungry Caterpillar for a celebration of all that is festive during the holiday season. This beautiful book features Eric Carle’s bright, colorful artwork of Christmas delights—from presents to snowflakes and even Santa Claus—with The Very Hungry Caterpillar making an appearance alongside each one. This sweet little book is the perfect Christmas present for readers young and old.

Maple & Willow's Christmas Tree book
#3179
Maple & Willow's Christmas Tree
Written and illustrated by Lori Nichols
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Lori Nichols’s delightful book celebrates the bond of two nature-loving sisters, and their ability to find fantastic kid-powered solutions to any problem—and it will give allergy sufferers an extra reason to celebrate. Maple and Willow love trees—and now they are getting their first real Christmas tree. It is going to be the best Christmas ever! After a snowy expedition to pick out the perfect tree, it’s time to decorate. But whenever Maple gets near the tree, she starts sniffling and sneezing. Could she really be allergic to the perfect Christmas tree? And if so, how will the girls find a way to make this the best Christmas after all?

Madeline's Christmas book
#3180
Madeline's Christmas
Written and illustrated by Ludwig Bemelmans
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Everyone gets her Christmas wish when Madeline’s in charge! Something is not right with the famous “twelve little girls in two straight lines.” All are sick in bed except brave Madeline, who must run the school, for even Miss Clavel is not feeling very well. But when Madeline finds help from a magical merchant, the girls embark on a Christmas journey that will surely make them forget their sniffles and sneezes.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected] with your book and list suggestion.