Discover

Company
Dirt + Water = Mud book
#26
Dirt + Water = Mud
Written and illustrated by Katherine Hannigan
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

This exuberant picture book by Katherine Hannigan, the acclaimed and bestselling author of Ida B, is about math concepts, friendship, and imaginative play, and is told entirely in equations! A young girl and her dog spend the day playing in her backyard, where with her imagination—and a few helpful props—anything can happen. What do you get when you combine dirt and water? Mud! What do you get when you take a sheet, a flowerpot, and a stick and make a costume? You transform yourself into Her Majesty, the queen! A cape and a strong breeze turn the treehouse into an airplane. A sheet, a stick, and a pair of well-placed cat’s ears turn the girl into a pirate! At least until mutiny leaves her alone in her kiddie pool . . . surrounded by sharks! Cheerful and action-packed illustrations and a combination of comic-like panels, conversation bubbles, sound effects, and full-page illustrations make Dirt + Water = Mud particularly appealing for new readers.

A Greyhound, a Groundhog book
#27
A Greyhound, a Groundhog
Written by Emily Jenkins and illustrated by Chris Appelhans
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

From a heavyweight author and illustrator duo comes a delicious tongue twister of a picture book that features a little round greyhound and a little round groundhog. With very spare, incredibly lively language, this is an entertaining read-aloud, with two amazing—and oh-so-adorable—characters at its heart. When a greyhound meets a groundhog, wordplay and crazy antics ensue. The two animals, much like kids, work themselves into a frenzy as they whirl around and around one another. (Around, round hound. Around, groundhog!) The pace picks up (Around and around and astound and astound!), until they ultimately wear themselves out.

The Almost Impossible Thing book
#28
The Almost Impossible Thing
Written and illustrated by Basak Agaoglu
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Nothing is so impossible that it shouldn't be tried. Even if you're a bunny hoping to fly. A tribute to teamwork, big dreams, perseverance, and those who don't listen when others say their goals are unreachable. The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it.--Chinese Proverb Most of us want to fly--even if we know we're rooted to the ground. Especially if we know we're rooted to the ground! So when a rabbit spots a bird soaring in beautiful, colorful loop-de-loops, a dream is born. Though her friends tell her "You can't do that!" our rabbit is undeterred. Through comical ski jumps, trampoline bounces, swings on the trapeze, and experiments with kites . . . somehow, some way, there must be a way to fly. And there is! Teamwork. Debut author/illustrator Basak Agaoglu delivers a story of faith, persistence, and humor--along with some of the most adorable, child-friendly art ever seen. For fans of Extremely Cute Animals Operating Heavy Machinery.

Where Is Bear? book
#29
Where Is Bear?
Written and illustrated by Jonathan Bentley
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Perfect for fans of the classic We’re Going on a Bear Hunt, this adventurous and endearing picture book follows a little boy searching high and low for his missing bear. Features a surprise ending! Where is Bear? Is Bear in the dresser? Is Bear in the bathroom? Is Bear on the swing? It’s almost bedtime, and a little boy can’t seem to find his beloved Bear! Children will love joining in the irresistible search for Bear and finding where he is on every page . . . and they will love the surprise ending even more! Praise for Where is Bear! "Giggle-inducing clues make this book an interactive reading delight . . . Reminiscent of a Mo Willems story." - School Library Journal "An inventive twist on the familiar lost-teddy story." - Kirkus Reviews

Wee Sister Strange book
#30
Wee Sister Strange
Written by Holly Grant and illustrated by K. G. Campbell
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

With a lyrical text and gorgeous, ethereal illustrations, here is a mesmerizing and magical original bedtime fairy tale reminiscent of Emily Winfield Martin’s Dream Animals, and perfect for reading aloud. They say there's a girl Who lives by the woods In a crooked old house With no garden but gloom. She doesn't have parents. No one knows her name. But the people in town Call her Wee Sister Strange. Like Emily Winfield Martin’s bestselling Dream Animals, here is a bedtime read-aloud sure to entrance young listeners. Each evening, as the shadows grow long, Wee Sister Strange climbs from her window and runs into the woods. She talks to the owls and rides on a bear. She clambers up trees and dives into the bog. She is searching for something.... She looks far and wide, over forest and marsh. What is it she seeks? Why, it's a wee bedtime story to help her fall asleep!

Flo book
#31
Flo
Written by Kyo Maclear and illustrated by Jay Fleck
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

A witty picture book, starring an adorable panda, that celebrates relaxing, stopping to smell the roses, and being yourself! Meet Flo! Flo is the littlest panda. She likes to explore, relax, and enjoy everything around her. She is never in a hurry. But . . . sometimes she takes too much time, and the other pandas get impatient. One day they find themselves in trouble. Can Flo’s floppy ways save the day? With Kyo Maclear’s sweet, spare text and Jay Fleck’s bold, bright illustrations, Flo is sure to be a favorite for even the busiest little pandas!

What I Love About You book
#32
What I Love About You
Written and illustrated by Susan Farrington
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

A sweet and funny "I Love You" picture book about everything a parent loves about his or her child—from acclaimed artist Susan Farrington. Do you know what I love? So many things! When you smile, When you’re brave, When you hold my hand, And a million more things, too many to list, All the things I love—about you!

Blue vs. Yellow book
#33
Blue vs. Yellow
Written and illustrated by Tom Sullivan
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

From Tom Sullivan, author-illustrator of I Used to Be a Fish, comes a high-concept picture book about a battle between primary colors, for fans of The Day the Crayons Quit, Red: A Crayon’s Story, and Mix It Up! Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, welcome to the Clash of the Colors! BLUE VS. YELLOW! Which one will be declared the best color of all? Will they join forces and be mightier together? Or . . . will another color challenge them for the title? Ding! Ding! Let the battle begin!

Confiscated! book
#34
Confiscated!
Written and illustrated by Suzanne Kaufman
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Confiscated! is a hilarious tale of sibling conflict and cooperation between two dinosaur brothers that all kids will relate to. When Mama hears Brooks and Mikey fighting over yet another toy, it gets CONFISCATED! (In other words, taken away.) It's only when ALL the toys are confiscated that Brooks and Mikey finally learn how to work—and play—together nicely. (But not before creating a whole heap of trouble . . . )

My Little Book of Big Freedoms book
#35
My Little Book of Big Freedoms
Written and illustrated by Chris Riddell
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

A classic picture book edition of My Little Book of Big Freedoms illustrated by award-winning illustrator Chris Riddell, published in partnership with Amnesty International. We all want a good life, to have fun, to be safe, happy, and fulfilled. For this to happen, we need to look after each other and stand up for the basic human rights that we often take for granted. This book features 16 different freedoms, each accompanied by beautiful illustrations. It shows why our human rights are so important--they help to keep us safe. Every day.

Peedie book
#36
Peedie
Written and illustrated by Olivier Dunrea
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Peedie is a small yellow gosling who sometimes forgets things. But he never forgets to wear his lucky red baseball cap. He wears it everywhere. Until he puts it in a secret place.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected]!