Discover

Company
Can Cat and Bird Be Friends? book
#61
Can Cat and Bird Be Friends?
Written and illustrated by Coll Muir
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Cats and birds can’t be friends! They have absolutely nothing in common. After all, cats are supposed to eat birds, not play with them! But there’s something special about this prey-and-predator pair…and they may just find that it’s our differences that bring us closer together. In a delightful picture book filled with pleasing banter and hilarious quips, rising talent Coll Muir creates the perfect unlikely friendship between unexpected creatures. Perfect for fans of Jon Klassen’s I Want My Hat Back, This Is Not My Hat, and We Found a Hat.

Black Cat, White Cat book
#62
Black Cat, White Cat
Written and illustrated by Silvia Borando
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Day and night, black and white—this playful tale of opposite personalities celebrates the adventure of sharing life’s discoveries with a friend. Black Cat—black from the tips of his ears to the tip of his tail—only ever goes out in the day. But White Cat—white from her whiskers to her four furry paws—only ever goes out at night. He picks daisies, while she gazes at the stars. When they both feel the urge to explore a world beyond their own, Black Cat and White Cat go on a journey of discovery and meet for the very first time. Vividly illustrated with bold black-and-white art, each page paves the way toward a surprise (and surprisingly colorful) ending.

Goodnight You book
#63
Goodnight You
Written and illustrated by Geneviève Côté
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-6

In this heartwarming title from the Piggy and Bunny picture book series, the two friends explore what scares them as they prepare for their first campout together. When Bunny admits to being frightened of monsters, Piggy responds that "even if there WAS a monster, I wouldn't scream like you!" When Bunny asks, "What if the monster GROWLS at you"? Piggy answers, "PWAAT! I can be loud, too!" Then, one by one, all of Bunny's questions about what to do if a monster came near are countered confidently by Piggy. Soon Bunny begins to feel differently about monsters, and says, "I can even turn off the light and wish that monster goodnight!" To which Piggy then admits, "NOOO!! I'm a wee bit scared of the dark." With Bunny on the left-facing page of every spread and Piggy on the right, the two create a rhythmic back-and-forth that is soothing yet fun. What Piggy and Bunny learn together is that everyone gets frightened sometimes, and having a good friend nearby is the perfect antidote. Children will appreciate that neither of them makes fun of the other's fears, and instead they find ways to comfort and reassure each other. With soft, gentle artwork and deceptively simple text, award-winning author-illustrator Geneviève Côtè has crafted a beautiful picture book that will be a regular favorite at storytime. This would also be a perfect title to begin classroom discussions about emotions, particularly fear, and how to identify, manage and express them.

Starring Me and You book
#64
Starring Me and You
Written and illustrated by Geneviève Côté
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-6

The two friends from Me and You and Without You have decided to put on a play. While Piggy and Bunny encourage each other's inner stars, they discover that the same feeling can be expressed in very different ways. This gently funny story sets the stage for preschoolers learning how to play together after years of being stars of their own show.

Chirri and Chirra, In the Tall Grass book
#65
Chirri and Chirra, In the Tall Grass
Written and illustrated by Kaya Doi, Yuki Kaneko
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-8

In their second adventure to reach the US market, Chirri & Chirra become very small, and so are able to explore the magical world hidden away in a mound of tall grass. Filled with friendly, industrious bees and equally inventive bugs, this is a book that brings the lovely particularity of life in Japan––marked by food and nature––to young readers here.

Gus book
#66
Gus
Written and illustrated by Olivier Dunrea
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Gus loves to be by himself. He explores the whole barnyard, taking in the world around him all on his own. Until he finds three small eggs. His perfect companions might be inside! How long will they take to hatch? The latest character to join Olivier Dunrea's growing gaggle of adorable goslings has a self-assured independence that preschoolers are sure to identify with!

Cat Knit book
#67
Cat Knit
Written and illustrated by Jacob Grant
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Cat and Yarn are the best of friends. They have so much fun playing together, the two are inseparable. Until the day Girl takes Yarn away. When Yarn Returns, he is completely changed, no longer Cat's bright and rolly friend. Cat is mad! Soon, Cat begins to miss his best friend, and he just might realize that a little change isn't so bad after all.

We Found a Hat book
#68
We Found a Hat
Written and illustrated by Jon Klassen
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

Hold on to your hats for the conclusion of the celebrated hat trilogy by Caldecott Medalist Jon Klassen, who gives his deadpan finale a surprising twist. Two turtles have found a hat. The hat looks good on both of them. But there are two turtles. And there is only one hat. . . . Evoking hilarity and sympathy, the shifting eyes tell the tale in this brilliantly paced story in three parts, highlighting Jon Klassen’s visual comedy and deceptive simplicity. The delicious buildup takes an unexpected turn that is sure to please loyal fans and newcomers alike.

Dandy book
#69
Dandy
Written by Ame Dyckman and illustrated by Charles Santoso
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

New from popular author Ame Dyckman and rising star Charles Santoso comes the laugh-out-loud story of a father desperate to destroy the dandelion marring his perfectly manicured lawn, and his daughter's fierce attempts to save it. When Daddy spots a solitary weed in his lawn, he's appalled (along with all of his neighborhood friends). But his daughter Sweetie has fallen in love with the beautiful flower, even going so far as to name it Charlotte. Racing against time and the mockery of his friends, Daddy has to find a way to get rid of the errant dandelion without breaking his little girl's heart.

The Explorers: The Door in the Alley book
#70
The Explorers: The Door in the Alley
Written and illustrated by Adrienne Kress
picture book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

This is one of those stories that start with a pig in a teeny hat. It’s not the one you’re thinking about. (This story is way better than that one.) This pig-in-a-teeny-hat story starts when a very uninquisitive boy stumbles upon a very mysterious society. After that, there is danger and adventure; there are missing persons, hired thugs, a hidden box, a lost map, and famous explorers; and there is a girl looking for help that only uninquisitive boys can offer. The Explorers: The Door in the Alley is the first book in a series that is sure to hit young readers right in the funny bone

Mr. Elephanter book
#71
Mr. Elephanter
Written and illustrated by Lark Pien
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

Come visit the Elephantery, where Mr. Elephanter looks after the peppy elephanties! A charming, quirky picture book debut by an acclaimed cartoonist. Early every morning, Mr. Elephanter arrives at the Elephantery to care for his diminutive charges, who greet him with toots and trumpets. There are hugs and hellos all around! They all eat pancakes, paddle and splash in the neighborhood pool, and parade through the bustling city. After naps, Mr. Elephanter pretends he’s a tunnel, tower, and bridge, while the elephanties play all around him. In fresh watercolors exuding warmth and whimsy, Lark Pien introduces the doting Mr. Elephanter — and the most adorable miniature creatures you’ll ever meet.

The Twelve Dancing Princesses book
#72
The Twelve Dancing Princesses
Written and illustrated by Rachel Isadora
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

A Caldecott Honor-winning illustrator gives this classic fairy tale a brand-new setting! Night after night, the twelve princesses mysteriously wear out their shoes. But how? The king promises a great reward to any man who can solve the mystery. Rachel Isadora has revitalized and reimagined this well-loved Brothers Grimm fairytale by bringing the story of the twelve princesses to Africa. The unique presentation of this classic tale is sure to enchant readers with its vibrant imagery.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected]!