Children's Books Search | F

Fabio The World's Greatest Flamingo Detective: The Case of the Missing Hippo book
#1
Fabio The World's Greatest Flamingo Detective: The Case of the Missing Hippo
Written by Laura James and illustrated by Emily Fox
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

This hilarious, brightly illustrated chapter book starring Fabio the flamingo detective and his sidekick Gilbert the giraffe is perfect for fans of CatStronauts and The Bad Guys. In a small town on the banks of Lake Laloozee lives the world's greatest flamingo detective. His name is Fabio. He's not tall or strong, but slight and pink. And he's very, very clever. When Fabio and his giraffe associate Gilbert drop in to the Hotel Royale for a relaxing glass of lemonade (pink, naturally), Fabio is persuaded to judge the hotel's talent contest. But when the most promising contestant--Julia the jazz-singing hippopotamus--goes missing, Fabio must put his thinking cap back on and solve the mystery! Don't miss these other books from Laura James! The Pug series Captain Pug Cowboy Pug Safari Pug

Fablehaven book
#2
Fablehaven
Written by Brandon Mull and illustrated by Brandon Dorman
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

When Kendra and Seth go to stay at their grandparents' estate, they discover that it is a sanctuary for magical creatures and that a battle between good and evil is looming.

Fables You Shouldn't Pay Any Attention To book
#3
Fables You Shouldn't Pay Any Attention To
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-10

In this new edition of the classic companion to Tales for the Perfect Child, Sergio Ruzzier lends his signature humor to Florence Parry Heide and Sylvia Worth Van Clief’s delectably subversive fables. Genevieve is careless. Muriel is discontented. Phoebe is always putting off until tomorrow what she should be doing today. And Chester is the laziest turkey you ever heard of. Caleb and Conrad, on the other hand, are polite and kind and thoughtful and gracious and truthful. But some good that does them! If the morals you find in these pages aren’t exactly, well, moral…just don’t pay any attention to them!

Faces for Baby book
#4
Faces for Baby
Written and illustrated by Yana Peel
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Presents simple works of art featuring the human face from prominent contemporary artists, intended to visually stimulate babies and very young children.

Face to Face With Cheetahs (Face to Face with Animals) book
#5
Face to Face With Cheetahs (Face to Face with Animals)
Written and illustrated by Chris Johns, Elizabeth Carney
picture book
Recommend Ages: 7-10

Chris Johns, Editor-in-Chief of National Geographic magazine, brings you face to face with a family of cheetahs. The story begins in Okavango Delta in Botswana—as the cheetah mother hunts her prey and the photographer tracks the elusive cat. After watching the family for four months, he is rewarded when a cheetah cub comes up and actually licks his hand—one of the most profound moments of his life. But the encounter brings a responsibility: to help save these endangered creatures and protect their habitat from one of their biggest threats, man. As Africa’s most endangered cat, the cheetah is in a race for survival. But the book gives us hope, too, detailing practical ways we can all help to protect them and ensure they have a future in the wild. Stunning photographs, action-packed stories, and thorough research complete the picture of these cagey cats.

Fairy Book book
#6
Fairy Book
Written and illustrated by Shirley Barber
picture book
Recommend Ages: 7-9

Fairies, elves, mermaids, and waterbabies inhabit the magical world created by Shirley Barber in her enchanting fairy book. Most of these charming verses were penned by Shirley herself, while some classic poems are also included. All are accompanied by the beautiful, playful, and animated illustrations that are a hallmark of Shirley’s inimitable style. Shirley Barber’s Fairy Book is a visual delight that introduces children to the charm and beauty of poetry.

Fairy Chase book
#7
Fairy Chase
Written by Debbie Dadey and illustrated by Tatevik Avakyan
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

With the help of her fintastic friends, Echo investigates whether or not fairies really DO exist in this sparkling Mermaid Tales adventure. Echo is excited when her Aunt Crabella and Uncle Leopold visit, especially since Aunt Crabella always has amazing stories about all of her many ocean travels. But when Aunt Crabella tells Echo about the Hairy Fairy—a fairy that visits mermaids while they sleep and purposely tangles their hair—Echo is all set to catch the fairy in the act. Shelly and Kiki tell Echo that fairies aren’t real, but Aunt Crabella says she believes they are. And what’s the harm in believing? When Echo can’t seem to catch the Hairy Fairy, she becomes determined to figure out if fairies really do exist! She teams up with Shelly and Kiki and makes “Fairy Juice” (via a recipe from Rocky Ridge) in order to go on a fairy hunt on Trident City’s majestic Sperm Whale Mountain. But what will they find on their fairy hunt? Will all of Echo’s magical fairy dreams come true?

Fairy Friends: A Colors Primer book
#8
Fairy Friends: A Colors Primer
Written and illustrated by Merrilee Liddiard
board book
Recommend Ages: 1-4

From the creators of BabyLit(R) . . . Parents and children alike will be swept away by the whimsical imaginings of Merilee Liddiard's board book Fairy Friends: A Colors Primer. Sunny fairy is yellow like a canary; Violet fairy is purple like a floral ring; Armanth fairy is pink like roses; Persimmon fairy is orange like a monarch. What color of fairy would you be? Merrilee Liddiard grew up in a splendid home filled with delightful artistic chaos and ample creativity. She spent most of her youth making things like lions out of oatmeal boxes and drawing little humans or animals and telling the tales that went along with them. She is known in the blog world for her love of kids design, toys and DIY crafts via her popular blog mermagblog.com. She has authored and illustrated the book PLAYFUL: Fun Projects to Make With + For Kids and sells many of her illustrations and designs as prints, and paper play things in her online shop.

Fairy Friends: A Counting Primer book
#9
Fairy Friends: A Counting Primer
Written and illustrated by Merrilee Liddiard
board book
Recommend Ages: 1-4

From the creators of BabyLit(R) . . . Parents and children alike will be swept away by the whimsical imaginings of Merilee Liddiard's board book Fairy Friends: A Counting Primer. One acorn for wearing, two friends for tea, four petals for twirling, eight icicles to gather; and more! Discover, play, and spark your imagination with Fairy Friends' enchanting illustrations to lead the way. Merrilee Liddiard grew up in a splendid home filled with delightful artistic chaos and ample creativity. She spent most of her youth making things like lions out of oatmeal boxes and drawing little humans or animals and telling the tales that went along with them. She is known in the blog world for her love of kids design, toys and DIY crafts via her popular blog mermagblog.com. She has authored and illustrated the book PLAYFUL: Fun Projects to Make With + For Kids and sells many of her illustrations and designs as prints, and paper play things in her online shop.

Fairy Friends: An Opposites Primer book
#10
Fairy Friends: An Opposites Primer
Written and illustrated by Merrilee Liddiard
board book
Recommend Ages: 1-4

From the creators of BabyLit(R) . . . Parents and children alike will be swept away by the whimsical imaginings of Merilee Liddiard's board book Fairy Friends: An Opposites Primer. Reaching high and low; feeling hot and cold; dressing simple or fancy: discover, play, and spark your imagination with the Fairy Friends series enchanting illustrations to lead the way. Merrilee Liddiard grew up in a splendid home filled with delightful artistic chaos and ample creativity. She spent most of her youth making things like lions out of oatmeal boxes and drawing little humans or animals and telling the tales that went along with them. She is known in the blog world for her love of kids design, toys and DIY crafts via her popular blog mermagblog.com. She has authored and illustrated the book PLAYFUL: Fun Projects to Make With + For Kids and sells many of her illustrations and designs as prints, and paper play things in her online shop.

Fairy Friends: Seasons book
#11
Fairy Friends: Seasons
Written and illustrated by Merrilee Liddiard
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-4

Fairy Friends Be the first to review this product From the creators of BabyLit® . . . Parents and children alike will be swept away by the whimsical imaginings of Merilee Liddiard’s Fairy Friends: A Seasons Primer. Springtime fairies are robed in flower petals, summer sprites float on leaves, autumn fairies gather falling leaves, and winter fairies skate on ice. Discover, play, and spark your imagination at any time of year with Fairy Friends' enchanting illustrations to lead the way.

Fairy's First Day of School book
#12
Fairy's First Day of School
Written by Bridget Heos and illustrated by Sara Not
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

In this humorous and reassuring picture book from the author of Mustache Baby, a sweet fairy has a fun-filled first day at school. Her experience is remarkably similar to the first day of preschool for human children. From circle time (sitting crisscross berry sauce) to center time (art, spells, tooth), all the activities one might encounter at school are explored, with sweet fairy-like touches. Best of all is the kind, warm teacher and plenty of new friends. The perfect story to ease fears and build anticipation for any child—human or fairy—starting school for the first time.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected]!