An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

The Best British Kids Books

Looking for the best British books?
Share this list
Add to list
Pig War: How a Porcine Tragedy Taught England and America to Share
Written by Emma Bland Smith & illustrated by Alison Jay
picture book
Recommend Ages: 7-10
Here is a true story of how the great nations of America and England almost went to war in 1859 over a pig--but learned to share instead.
Buy book
$18.99
Bookshop
$16.14
Amazon
$18.99
Used $18.99
Prices as of Sep 18
Add to list
The Midwife's Apprentice
Written by Karen Cushman
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 10-12

From the author of Catherine, Called Birdy comes another spellbinding novel set in medieval England. The girl known only as Brat has no family, no home, and no future until she meets Jane the Midwife and becomes her apprentice. As she helps the sharp-tempered Jane deliver babies, Brat–who renames herself Alyce–gains knowledge, confidence, and the courage to want something from life: “A full belly, a contented heart, and a place in this world.” Medieval village life makes a lively backdrop for the funny, poignant story of how Alyce gets what she wants. A concluding note discusses midwifery past and present. A Newbery Medal book.

Buy book
$7.99
Bookshop
$6.79
Amazon
$7.99
Used $7.99
Prices as of Sep 18
Add to list
The Secret Staircase (Brambly Hedge)
Written & illustrated by Jill Barklem
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-7

Step into the exquisite, miniature world of the mice of Brambly Hedge in this beautiful new edition of the classic picture book.

It is Midwinter’s Eve and the mice of Brambly Hedge are very busy. This evening, after dark, they will all be gathering round a blazing fire for the traditional midwinter celebrations. A grand entertainment is planned and Primrose and Wilfred have chosen to recite a poem.

They go up to the attics to rehearse in pace and quiet but there are so many things to look at and places to explore, it is hard to concentrate. And when they stumble upon a dusty staircase, all thoughts of practising are put aside…

Buy book
$9.99
Bookshop
$8.49
Amazon
$9.99
Used $9.99
Prices as of Sep 18
Add to list
Shackleton's Journey
Written & illustrated by William Grill
picture book
Recommend Ages: 7-11

Young, up-and-coming illustrator William Grill weaves a detailed visual narrative of Shackleton’s journey to Antarctica.

Grill’s beautiful use of colored pencils and vibrant hues effortlessly evokes the adventure and excitement that surrounded the expedition. His impeccably researched drawings, rich with detail, fastidiously reproduce the minutiae of the expedition.

Children will love examining the diagrams of the peculiar provisions and the individual drawings of each sled dog and packhorse. This book takes the academic and historical information behind the expedition and reinterprets it for a young audience.

Buy book
$24.00
Bookshop
$20.40
Amazon
$15.19
Used $5.84
Prices as of Sep 18
Add to list
The Unicorn's Tale
Written by R. L. LaFevers & illustrated by Kelly Murphy
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

Beastologist-in-training Nathaniel Fludd and his Aunt Phil nurse a mysteriously ill unicorn, try to stop Obediah from taking the unicorn’s horn, and finally get a solid lead on the whereabouts of Nathaniel’s parents.

Buy book
$6.99
Bookshop
$5.94
Amazon
$6.99
Used $6.99
Prices as of Sep 18
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
  • There's a Tiger in the Garden - A gorgeous and imaginative debut picture book by author/illustrator Lizzy Stewart, perfect for fans of Emily Hughes, Peter Brown, and Julie Morstad. There’s nothing to do at Grandma’s house and Nora refuses to believe any outlandish tales of dragonflies as big as birds, grumpy polar bears who like to fish, or a magnificent tiger all allegedly residing in Grandma’s garden. Nora’s too old for silly games. But this charming picture book proves you are never too young or too old to dream–and adventure can find you when you least expect it. When Grandma says she’s seen a tiger in the garden, Nora doesn’t believe her. She’s too old to play Grandma’s silly games! Everyone knows that tigers live in jungles, not gardens. So even when Nora sees dragonflies as big as birds, and plants that try to eat her toy giraffe, and a polar bear that likes fishing, she knows there’s absolutely, DEFINITELY no way there could be a tiger in the garden . . . Could there?

  • Matilda Bone - Into the fascinating, pungent setting of Blood and Bone Alley, home of leech, barber-surgeon, and apothecary, comes Matilda, raised by a priest to disdain worldly affairs and spend all her time in study and prayer. To Matilda’s dismay, her new occupation will not involve Latin or writing, but practical tasks: lighting the fire, going to market, mixing plasters and poultices, and helping Red Peg the Bonesetter treat patients. She is appalled by the worldliness of her new surroundings, and the sharp-tongued saints she turns to for advice are no help at all.  Filled with witty dialogue and richly authentic detail, Matilda Bone is a compelling comic novel about a girl who learns to see herself and others clearly, to laugh, and to live contentedly in this world.

  • The Gremlins - Published in 1943 and long unavailable, Dark Horse Books is proud to present this landmark book from the author of such beloved tales as Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, James and the Giant Peach and Matilda. Digitally restored, this remarkable presentation of Dahl’s classic story, lavishly illustrated by the artists of the Walt Disney Studios, will delight readers of all ages! The Gremlins is the story of Gus, a British World War II fighter pilot, who during the Battle of Britain turned to look out on the wing of his plane only to see an amazing sight: a little man, no more than six inches tall with horns growing from his head, drilling a hole in the plane’s wing. Gus was the first man to ever see a Gremlin, and what happened after that would change the war, and the world, forever. Bought by Walt Disney to be produced as an animated motion picture (and considered to be the first story featuring the mythical airplane sabotaging creatures known as Gremlins), the project was ultimately shelved and is reprinted here for the first time in over 60 years.

  • Case of the Vanishing Emerald, Volume 2: The Mysteries of Maisie Hitchins Book 2 - "Isnt it a bit strange that all these horrible things are happening to Miss Massey now... Just in time to make her think that the curse is working."

Add to list
Catherine, Called Birdy
Written by Karen Cushman
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 10-12

A 1995 Newbery Honor Book

Catherine, a spirited and inquisitive young woman of good family, narrates in diary form the story of her fourteenth year--the year 1290. A Newbery Honor Book.

Buy book
$7.99
Bookshop
$6.79
Amazon
$6.59
Used $3.00
Prices as of Sep 18
Add to list
Case of the Secret Tunnel, Volume 5
Written by & illustrated by Marion Lindsay
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Mr. Fred Grange claims to work as a clerk for a biscuit company, but he’s out and about on the London streets at odd hours, and girl detective Maisie Hitchins soon discovers something very precious hidden in his rooms. Maisie is determined to unmask him as a thief, but the truth is far more complicated–and dangerous. Before long, Maisie and her friends are led into a web of mystery lurking in the London Underground. Like the other books in the series, <i>The Case of the Secret Tunnel </i>features black and white illustrations throughout. <p/>

Buy book
$15.99
Bookshop
$13.59
Amazon
$15.99
Used $15.99
Prices as of Sep 18

    Suggested Links