Two Brothers, One Tail book
#3985
Two Brothers, One Tail
Written by Richard T. Morris and illustrated by Jay Fleck
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

A sweet and charming picture book about the unending love between a boy and his dog. Two brothers, two hands Two brothers, four paws Two brothers, ten fingers Two brother, ten claws With simple rhyming text by Richard T. Morris and charming illustrations from Jay Fleck, Two Brothers, One Tail is a heart-warming story about a boy and his brother, who just happens to be a dog. Perfect for fans of Bad Dog, Marley and Harry the Dirty Dog!

Wake Up, Color Pup book
#3986
Wake Up, Color Pup
Written and illustrated by Taia Morley
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

A beautiful picture book about a little pup's colorful journey through the range of his emotions! A bright yellow bird promises to bring adventure to sleepy Pup's gray world. As Pup follows his new friend on a walk, each discovery ignites a new feeling and corresponding color, until Pup is saturated with them. But when a storm comes, Pup's color is drained as fear sweeps through him. Only his curious yellow friend remains bright, and encourages him to keep his chin up, play, and carry on! This is a remarkably simple and resonant examination of exploration and resilience, and introduces the idea of abstract association.

What a Waste book
#3987
What a Waste
Written and illustrated by Jess French
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

Everything you need to know about what we're doing to our environment, good and bad, from pollution and litter to renewable energy and plastic recycling. This environmental book will teach young ecologists about how our actions affect planet Earth. Discover shocking facts about the waste we produce and where it goes. Did you know that every single plastic toothbrush ever made still exists? Or that there's a floating mass of garbage twice the size of Texas drifting around the Pacific Ocean? It's not all bad news though. As well as explaining where we're going wrong, What a Waste shows what we're doing right! Discover plans already in motion to save our seas, how countries are implementing schemes that are having a positive impact, and how your waste can be turned into something useful. Every small change helps our planet!

What Are You Doing, Benny? book
#3988
What Are You Doing, Benny?
Written by Cary Fagan and illustrated by Kady MacDonald Denton
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Benny's little brother is really good at a lot of things - making potions and paper airplanes, building forts, putting on puppet shows, even petting the neighbours cat. But whenever he tries to join in Benny's activities, all Benny ever says is 'No'. Maybe his little brother can watch him do cool stuff, if he's lucky. What is a little fox to do, except give Benny a taste of his own medicine? Totally familiar yet fresh and original, tenderly told and consistently funny, this story perfectly captures the joys (and annoyances!) of sibling relationships.

What Kind of Car Does a T. Rex Drive? book
#3989
What Kind of Car Does a T. Rex Drive?
Written by Mark Lee and illustrated by Brian Biggs
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Uncle Otto is a used car salesman, who, with the help of his niece and nephew, finds the perfect vehicles for his dinosaur customers.

When Sadness Is at Your Door book
#3990
When Sadness Is at Your Door
Written and illustrated by Eva Eland
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

In the style of Harold and the Purple Crayon comes a picture-book primer in emotional literacy and mindfulness that suggests we approach the feeling of sadness as if it is our guest. Sadness can be scary and confusing at any age! When we feel sad, especially for long periods of time, it can seem as if the sadness is a part of who we are--an overwhelming, invisible, and scary sensation. In When Sadness Is at Your Door, Eva Eland brilliantly approaches this feeling as if it is a visitor. She gives it a shape and a face, and encourages the reader to give it a name, all of which helps to demystify it and distinguish it from ourselves. She suggests activities to do with it, like sitting quietly, drawing, and going outside for a walk. The beauty of this approach is in the respect the book has for the feeling, and the absence of a narrative that encourages the reader to "get over" it or indicates that it's "bad," both of which are anxiety-producing notions. Simple illustrations that recall the classic style of Crockett Johnson (Harold and the Purple Crayon) invite readers to add their own impressions. Eva Eland's debut picture book is a great primer in mindfulness and emotional literacy, perfect for kids navigating these new feelings--and for adult readers tackling the feelings themselves!

Where Do Speedboats Sleep at Night? book
#3991
Where Do Speedboats Sleep at Night?
Written by Brianna Caplan Sayres and illustrated by Christian Slade
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Illustrations and rhyming text reveal what sailboats, cruise ships, canoes, and other vessels do to get ready for bed after a hard day's work.

While Grandpa Naps book
#3992
While Grandpa Naps
Written by Naomi Danis and illustrated by Junghwa Park
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

A moving, funny, elegant meditation on love, childhood, and one's place in a family. Gilbert spends a sunny summer afternoon obediently keeping watch over his napping grandpa to shoo the pesky flies away. Unsure of exactly how long he's really supposed to sit there, watching for non-existent bugs, he passes time contemplating his ever-changing family: His grandma Sarah recently died, a new baby is on the way, his siblings and cousins race in and out. While the temptations to abandon his post beckon, Gilbert's loyalty to his grandpa stays true, and his quiet dedication finds a sweet reward.

Who Has Wiggle-Waggle Toes? book
#3993
Who Has Wiggle-Waggle Toes?
Written by Vicky Shiefman and illustrated by Francesca Chessa
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Preschoolers and kindergartners learn about their bodies in a joyous, playful, kinetic way! Who has wiggle-waggle toes? I do. Who has flip-flop feet? I do! The adorable characters in this book knock their knockabout knees, stomp their flip-flop feet, shimmy their big bold bottoms, and more! Illustrations place characters in cute costumes and fun settings that will fascinate and delight young children. A perfect preschool and kindergarten package!

Where Do Kisses Come From? book
#3994
Where Do Kisses Come From?
Written by Maria Fleming and illustrated by Janice Kinnealy
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Introduces some of the many reasons why parents kiss their children, including because they smile or because they are sick, and reveals where kisses come from.

Wilderness book
#3995
Wilderness
Written by Mia Cassany and illustrated by Marcos Navarro
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

This brilliantly illustrated book takes young readers to the planet's wild regions, including forests, jungles, tundras, and deserts to discover the animals that call it home. This captivating book brings the natural world into sharp focus. Beautifully colored and intricately detailed illustrations depict places as exotic and wide-ranging as Senegal's Niokolo-Koba National Park, Russia's Sikhote-Alin mountain range, the Sinharaja Forest Reserve in Sri Lanka, Daintree National Park in Australia, the Mexican desert, and China's bamboo forests. The animals that live in these remote places, cleverly hidden in the trees, plants, and flowers, create a marvelous challenge for young readers to find and identify. Each spread contains more than twenty different species including birds, snakes, frogs, iguanas, leopards, tigers, gorillas, pandas, and wolves. The back of the book is filled with additional information about the animals and their habitats. Young readers will find much to discover, explore, and learn in this absorbing celebration of our planet and the amazing creatures we share it with.

Wordy Birdy Meets Mr. Cougarpants book
#3996
Wordy Birdy Meets Mr. Cougarpants
Written by Tammi Sauer and illustrated by Dave Mottram
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Wordy Birdy and her pals are back, in a hilarious new story with a truly ridiculous villain—from beloved author Tammi Sauer. "When Wordy Birdy and her friends go on a camping trip, they get an unexpected visit from Mr. Cougarpants. Can Wordy Birdy talk herself out of a becoming dinner?"

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected] with your book and list suggestion.