Christmas Tapestry book
#49
Christmas Tapestry
Written by Patricia Polacco
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

A tapestry that is being used to cover a hole in a church wall at Christmas brings together an elderly couple who were separated during World War II.

The Legend of the Poinsettia book
#50
The Legend of the Poinsettia
Written and illustrated by Tomie dePaola
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

When Lucida is unable to finish her gift for the Baby Jesus in time for the Christmas procession, a miracle enables her to offer the beautiful flower we now call the poinsettia.

The Runaway Hug book
#51
The Runaway Hug
Written by Nick Bland and illustrated by Freya Blackwood
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

"Mommy," said Lucy. "Can I have a hug before I go to bed?" When Mommy jokes that she only has one hug left, Lucy decides she must keep Mommy's last hug safe. As Lucy shares the hug with everyone in her large and loving family, she is always careful to get it back . . . until the canine member of the family refuses to play along! Highly acclaimed, internationally bestselling picture-book creators Nick Bland and Freya Blackwood collaborate for the first time on this charming story, which celebrates the imaginative powers of children and the extraordinary love to be found in ordinary bedtime routines.

Stand Tall, Molly Lou Melon book
#52
Stand Tall, Molly Lou Melon
Written by Patty Lovell and illustrated by David Catrow
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Even when the class bully at her new school makes fun of her, Molly remembers what her grandmother told her and she feels good about herself.

The Art of Miss Chew book
#53
The Art of Miss Chew
Written and illustrated by Patricia Polacco
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

After spending the summer with her artist grandmother, Trisha knows she wants to be an artist, too. She’s thrilled when her sketches get her into Miss Chew’s special art class at the high school. A substitute teacher tells her she’s wasting time on art when she should be studying – but fortunately, this is one battle that Miss Chew and Trisha are up for! This true story shows just how important a teacher can be in a child’s life – and celebrates the power of art itself.

The Bear Ate Your Sandwich book
#54
The Bear Ate Your Sandwich
Written and illustrated by Julia Sarcone-Roach
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Bear meets sandwich, adventure ensues. . . . A sly classic-in-the-making for fans of Jon Klassen, Peter Brown, and Mo Willems. By now I think you know what happened to your sandwich. But you may not know how it happened. So let me tell you. It all started with the bear . . . So begins Julia Sarcone-Roach’s delicious tale of a bear, lost in the city, who happens upon an unattended sandwich in the park. The bear’s journey from forest to city and back home again is full of happy accidents, funny encounters, and sensory delights. The story is so engrossing, it’s not until the very end that we begin to suspect this is a TALL tale. The wonderfully told story, spectacular illustrations, and surprise ending make this Julia Sarcone-Roach’s best book to date. You’ll want to share it with your friends (and keep a close eye on your lunch).

Wolf Won't Bite book
#55
Wolf Won't Bite
Written by Emily Gravett
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-6

can stand him on a stool! I can dress him in a bow... I can ride him like a horse but WOLF WON’T BITE! Come along on a wild circus adventure about three little pigs who have captured a wild wolf. They can make him do all sorts of tricks, but don’t worry—he would NEVER bite. From award-winning and beloved creator Emily Gravett, Wolf Won’t Bite! contains charming text that begs to be read aloud, and quirky humor fills every page of this playful take on “The Three Little Pigs.”

Pirate Nap book
#56
Pirate Nap
Written by Danna Smith and illustrated by Valeria Petrone
picture book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Two brothers use their imaginations to turn their surroundings--from a white bandana and yellow coins to a red blanket and even their baby sister-- into a colorful pirate adventure before naptime.

Three Little Words book
#57
Three Little Words
Written by Clemency Pearce and illustrated by Rosalind Beardshaw
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Perfect for Valentine's Day, graduation, birthdays, or anytime a hug is required, this beautiful book lets children know their parents will always be there for them! What are the three little words that make everything better? I Love You! Preschoolers will love snuggling with their families and counting all the ways that the three little words “I love you” can solve most every childhood concern. With warm, cuddly, reassuring illustrations of adorable animal families, this book lets children know that their parents will always be there with lots of hugs and kisses. "Each time the phrase I love you is introduced, Pearce describes it with a different adjective, such as mighty, friendly, or winning, which emphasizes the myriad ways unconditional love can rescue upsetting moments.... The bouncy rhythm makes it fun to read aloud, especially since little ones will easily catch on to the repeated refrain. Great for any time a kiddo needs a boost of confidence."—Booklist

Even Aliens Need Snacks book
#58
Even Aliens Need Snacks
Written and illustrated by Matthew McElligott
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

In the follow up to his breakout picture book, Even Monsters Need Haircuts, Matthew McElligott brings back the young monster barber in a new tale where his culinary concoctions bring him galaxy-wide fame. Creating snacks that make most humans queasy, this chef has found a new clientele--aliens. Readers will delight in McElligott's gently offbeat humor and unique artistry as spaceships full of hilarious creatures line up for a taste of the intergalactic cuisine.

The Princess Who Had No Kingdom book
#59
The Princess Who Had No Kingdom
Written by Ursula Jones and illustrated by Sarah Gibb
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

There once was a princess without a kingdom. All she had was a pony and cart and a red umbrella to keep her dry from the rain. Though she lacked worldly possessions, she made up for it in kindness, cleverness, and beauty—qualities that made all the rich princes with kingdoms want to marry her. A wise and witty modern-day fairy tale brought magically to life through Sarah Gibb's exquisite art.

Bijou, Bonbon and Beau book
#60
Bijou, Bonbon and Beau
Written by Joan Sweeney and illustrated by Leslie Wu
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Three little kittens create a sensation when they join dancers onstage of a Parisian theater known for its ballet and for the artist who paints there.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected]!