A Girl and Her Gator

Written by Sean Bryan and illustrated by Tom Murphy

1234567
5.8

One day, a girl discovers an alligator on her head and, although she is afraid her friends will laugh, the 'gator soon convinces her that she can still give her brother a scare, eat an eclair, and choose anything to wear as long as he is there.

The Christmas Crocodile

Written by Bonny Becker and illustrated by David Small

1234567
4.3

From Caldecott-winning illustrator David Small and bestselling author Bonny Becker, an unforgettable Christmas story that will leave the whole family giggling. When Alice Jayne finds a crocodile under the tree on Christmas Eve, her family goes into an uproar! The Christmas Crocodile doesn't mean to be bad, not really, but soon he is eating up Christmas--from the dinner roast to the left stove-top burner...even the Christmas tree! Everyone has an opinion about what to do with him. Uncle Theodore suggests they send him to Africa, Father recommends the zoo, and Aunt Figgy mentions an orphanage. But Alice Jayne thinks the Christmas Crocodile deserves a real family. Can she find him a new home? And will she and the family survive till Christmas morning, with that naughty crocodile gobbling up everything in sight?

What's Next Door?

Written and illustrated by Nicola O'Byrne

The crocodile from "Open Very Carefully" is back, and all he wants is to find his way home, but he can't get there by himself. In this unique interactive book, children can take part in the story and use their imaginations to guide him door-to-door on his journey. Full color.

Snappsy the Alligator (Did Not Ask to Be in This Book)

Written by Julie Falatko and illustrated by Tim J. Miller

Snappsy the alligator is having a normal day when a pesky narrator steps in to spice up the story. Is Snappsy reading a book … or is he making CRAFTY plans? Is Snappsy on his way to the grocery store … or is he PROWLING the forest for defenseless birds and fuzzy bunnies? Is Snappsy innocently shopping for a party … or is he OBSESSED with snack foods that start with the letter P? What’s the truth? Snappsy the Alligator (Did Not Ask to Be in This Book) is an irreverent look at storytelling, friendship, and creative differences, perfect for fans of Mo Willems.

Snappsy the Alligator and His Best Friend Forever (Probably)

Written by Julie Falatko and illustrated by Tim J. Miller

Snappsy (begrudgingly!) returns in this clever and hilarious follow-up to the critically-acclaimed Snappsy the Alligator (Did Not Ask to Be in This Book). Snappsy the alligator wants nothing more than a quiet evening to himself, but a pesky chicken who insists he’s Snappsy’s best friend won’t leave him alone. Friendship bracelets? Matching shirts? The sleepover of the century? Snappsy did not ask for any of the activities the chicken—his best friend forever?—is planning. This pitch-perfect sequel to Snappsy the Alligator (Did Not Ask to Be in This Book) explores all the ways we get friendship wrong (and why it feels so magical when we get it right!).

Alan's Big, Scary Teeth

Written and illustrated by Jarvis

A goofy and lonely denizen of the jungle has just one talent — scaring other creatures with his big, scary teeth! What would he do without them? Deep in the jungle lurks Alan the alligator, descended from a long line of very scary alligators. He prepares carefully — polishing his scales, brushing each of his big, scary teeth, and practicing his frightening faces — then sneaks into the jungle to terrorize the jungle critters. ("I’m big, scary Alan! Fear my razor-sharp teeth!") But after a long day of scaring, Alan likes nothing better than to enjoy the crossword, run a warm mud bath, and take out his teeth, which nobody else knows are false. Until one morning, when Alan wakes up and finds that his teeth are gone! Without those teeth, he’s just not very scary, and scaring is the only thing he knows how to do. Or is it? Witty, charming, and playful storytelling will have preschoolers cheering for Alan as he discovers a new way to fit in.

My Lucky Birthday

Written and illustrated by Keiko Kasza

A hilarious trickster tale companion to the story time hit My Lucky Day. Just as Alligator Al is planning the perfect birthday dinner for himself, there is a knock on his door. It’s a delicious-looking piglet—how lucky! But as Al prepares his feast, the piglet makes some suggestions. Shouldn’t Al have a big birthday cake? Piglet can tell him how to make one. And wouldn’t the celebration be more fun with fancy decorations and party guests? Piglet would be happy to ask some friends to come over. Al is so lucky that Piglet is there to help…or is he? Could Piglet have a clever party trick up his sleeve? Fans of trickster tales, rooting for the underdog, and the proven crowd favorite My Lucky Day will be thrilled to see who turns out to have the luckiest birthday of all.

Monkey's Clever Tale

Written by Andrew Fusek Peters and illustrated by Amanda Montgomery-Higham

The mischievous Ameerah Monkey promises Crocodile her tail and those of her parents, brothers, and sisters in exchange for a ride across the river in this version of a Jataka tale from India.

The Elephant's Child

Written by Rudyard Kipling and illustrated by Jonas Laustroer

The tale of how the elephant got its trunk is one of the most beloved of the Just So Stories Rudyard Kipling wrote for children. The insatiably curious elephant's child peppers every animal he meets with questions about the mysterious crocodile who lives on the banks of the Lompopo River. When he finally meets the crocodile, he nearly becomes dinner. This rollicking story and Jonas's Laustroer's vibrant art have the makings of a modern classic.

The Crocodile Skin

Written by Jose Carlos Roman and illustrated by Paolo Domeniconi

According to an African legend, many many years ago crocodiles had smooth skin of a beautiful golden color. So why is their skin now rough and dark? To find out what happened, just open this book and let José Carlos Román and Paolo Domeniconi tell you.

Join Our Kids Book Club
Learn More