Best Kids Books About Anger

13 Kids Books About Anger

Updated Jan. 19, 2019
I Walk with Vanessa book
#1
I Walk with Vanessa
Written and illustrated by Kerascoet
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Inspired by real events and told only in pictures, this is an empowering picture book from a New York Timesbestselling husband-and-wife team about one girl who inspires a community to stand up to bullying. This simple yet powerful picture book tells the story of an elementary school girl named Vanessa who is bullied and a fellow student who witnesses the act and is at first unsure of how to help. I Walk with Vanessa explores the feelings of helplessness and anger that arise in the wake of seeing a classmate treated badly, and shows how a single act of kindness can lead to an entire community joining in to help. With themes of acceptance, kindness, and strength in numbers, this timeless and profound feel-good story will resonate with readers young and old.

No Fits, Nilson! book
#2
No Fits, Nilson!
Written and illustrated by Zachariah OHora
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Nilson and Amelia do everything together. But if one little thing goes wrong, Nilson throws the biggest, most house shaking-est fit ever! Amelia helps Nilson control his gorilla-sized temper by promising him banana ice cream and letting him play with her froggy coin purse. But, sometimes, Amelia needs to be calmed down, too. Inspired by Ohora’s own "negotiations" with his two sons, No Fits, Nilson! is a hilarious preschool pick for kids and parents navigating the treacherous tantrum phase.

Llama Llama Mad at Mama book
#3
Llama Llama Mad at Mama
Written and illustrated by Anna Dewdney
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Yucky music, great big feet. Ladies smelling way too sweet. Look at knees and stand in line. Llama Llama starts to whine. Does any child like to go shopping? Not Llama Llama! But Mama can’t leave Llama at home, so off they go to Shop-O-Rama. Lots of aisles. Long lines. Mama is too busy to notice that Llama Llama is getting m-a-d! And before he knows it, he’s having a full-out tantrum! Mama quickly calms him down, but she also realizes that they need to make shopping more fun for both of them. Parents and children are sure to recognize themselves in this fun-to-read follow-up to the popular Llama Llama Red Pajama.

The Bad Mood and the Stick book
#4
The Bad Mood and the Stick
Written by Lemony Snicket and illustrated by Matthew Forsythe
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

New York Times bestselling author Lemony Snicket sheds light on the way bad moods come and go. Once there was a bad mood and a stick.The stick appeared when a tree dropped it.Where did the bad mood come from?Who picked up the stick?And where is the bad mood off to now?You never know what is going to happen.

Grumpy Monkey book
#5
Grumpy Monkey
Written by Suzanne Lang and illustrated by Max Lang
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

A hilarious picture book about dealing with unexplained feelings…and the danger in suppressing them! Jim the chimpanzee is in a terrible mood for no good reason. His friends can’t understand it—how can he be in a bad mood when it’s SUCH a beautiful day? They encourage him not to hunch, to smile, and to do things that make THEM happy. But Jim can’t take all the advice…and has a BIT of a meltdown. Could it be that he just needs a day to feel grumpy? Suzanne and Max Lang bring hilarity and levity to this very important lesson. This picture book is an excellent case study in the dangers of putting on a happy face and demonstrates to kids that they are allowed to feel their feelings (though they should be careful of hurting others in the process!).

Attack of the 50-Foot Fluffy book
#6
Attack of the 50-Foot Fluffy
Written and illustrated by Mike Boldt
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Claire and Fluffy are best friends. When Claire is happy, Fluffy is happy. When Claire is sad, Fluffy is too. When Claire is mad? Well, we don’t want to go there with Fluffy... But as the day progresses, everything that can go wrong, DOES. Claire has tried to keep it all together. But now, her anger has got the best of her! And Fluffy is unleashed. Join Mike Boldt on a humorous, larger-than-life story of one of the tenets of being a kid: the TANTRUM.

Mad, Mad Bear! book
#7
Mad, Mad Bear!
Written and illustrated by Kimberly Gee
picture book
Recommend Ages: 0-8

Bear is very, very, very MAD! Will he ever feel better? Find out in this sweet and silly picture book about toddler tantrums that little ones—and their caretakers—are sure to relate to. Bear had to leave the park early for his nap. Then he fell and got an owie on the way home. And then he had to leave his favorite boots and stick outside. Bear feels like nothing is fair, and that makes him VERY, VERY, VERY MAD! Can he find a way to move through his emotions and get back to feeling better? Maybe…but not before having a major meltdown!

My Quiet Ship book
#8
My Quiet Ship
Written by Hallee Adelman and illustrated by Sonia Sanchez
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Whenever the yelling in his house starts, Quinn runs to a special hiding place. There he becomes captain of the Quiet Ship, where he can get far, far away from the yelling that hurts his ears and makes him feel scared. But one day the Quiet Ship is broken and Quinn needs a new plan, one that requires him to be brave. A thoughtful treatment of a difficult topic, this story is for any child who faces fighting in the home.

Allie All Along book
#9
Allie All Along
Written and illustrated by Sarah Lynne Reul
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

Poor Allie! She's in a rage, stomping and smashing, throwing a tantrum, and having a fit. Is there a sweet little girl hiding somewhere under all the angry layers? With the help of her understanding big brother, she's able to calm down, bit by bit, and become herself again. The illustrations' varying hues and vibrant colors capture the powerful feelings that young children can't always express in words.

Hold Your Temper, Tiger book
#10
Hold Your Temper, Tiger
Written by Carol Roth and illustrated by Rashin Kheiriyeh
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

A playful look at managing tempers for tigers of every age. Little Tiger has a temper! He stomps his paws, cries, and growls when he doesn't want to do something. But when his mom says, “Hold your temper or else,” Little Tiger has to make some changes. Where will he hold his temper? In his pocket . . . in his underwear?

People Don't Bite People book
#11
People Don't Bite People
Written by Lisa Wheeler and illustrated by Molly Idle
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

It’s good to bite a carrot. It’s good to bite a steak. It’s bad to bite your sister! She’s not a piece of cake. Cause… People don’t bite people! That’s what this book’s about. So if you find you’re tooth-inclined— you’d better check it out!

Bigger Than You book
#12
Bigger Than You
Written and illustrated by Hyewon Kyung
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Playground antics have never been so much fun! Young dinosaurs play together on the playground until one dinosaur gets angry and tries to ruin the game for everyone. This engaging tale is perfectly pitched for preschoolers and for fans of Byron Barton’s Dinosaurs, Dinosaurs and Jane Yolen’s How Do Dinosaurs Say Goodnight? A group of young dinosaurs builds a seesaw and takes turns playing on it until the bossy, big, and TERRIBLE Tyrannosaurus interrupts their game in a fit of temper. All ends well, though, when Mom steps in and encourages a peaceful and a productive end to the conflict. Hyewon Kyung’s detailed and humorous illustrations will capture the attention of dinosaur fans, and a dinosaur information chart and educational backmatter about simple machines make this perfect for classroom, family, and story-time sharing!

When I'm Feeling Angry book
#13
When I'm Feeling Angry
Written and illustrated by Trace Moroney
picture book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

The Feelings Series are beautifully produced picture books that cover different emotional concepts for young children. The Feeling series is especially designed to help children better understand their feelings and how to identify, manage and express those feelings in an appropriate and acceptable way, both to themselves and others. These books provide an invaluable tool to help build confidence, self-esteem and contribute to a healthy emotional foundation upon which children can thrive.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected] with your book and list suggestion.