Best Children's Books About Babies

93+ Children's Books About Babies

Updated Jan. 19, 2019
More Than Balloons book
#1
More Than Balloons
Written by Lorna Crozier and illustrated by Rachelle Anne Miller
board book
Recommend Ages: 1-4

Balloons love the moon, and a tuba loves a tune, but these don't compare to the love we have for you. Award-winning poet Lorna Crozier uses evocative rhyme, complemented by Rachelle Anne Miller's whimsical imagery, to provide babies and toddlers with common concepts that explain just how great love is.

Baby Be Kind book
#2
Baby Be Kind
Written and illustrated by Jane Cowen-Fletcher
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Easy-to-read, rhyming text provides examples of how to show kindness that even a baby will want to try.

Little Sleepyhead book
#3
Little Sleepyhead
Written by Elizabeth McPike and illustrated by Patrice Barton
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

A board book for the most cuddly bedtime ever! Tired little eyes, ready now for bed, Tired little everything, precious sleepyhead. By the end of a busy day, little knees are tired from crawling, little arms are tired from stretching—even little lips are tired from blowing kisses. But with the help of gentle verse, and art as sweet as a bedtime lullaby, tired little eyes will quickly give way to sleep. Shhh . . .

Foodie Babies Wear Bibs book
#4
Foodie Babies Wear Bibs
Written by Michelle Sinclair Colman and illustrated by Nathalie Dion
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

The sixth book of the Urban Babies board book series finds Foodie Babies browsing the farmers' market and dining with their favorite finger foods.

Rocket Science for Babies book
#5
Rocket Science for Babies
Written and illustrated by Chris Ferrie
board book
Recommend Ages: 1-3

Ages 0 to 3 years Rocket Science for Babies by Chris Ferrie is an introduction to aerospace engineering (also known as rocket science). Baby will learn the principles of lift and thrust, the forces responsible for flight. This is the first in a series of books designed to stimulate your baby and introduce them to the world of science. Also coming in May are: Newtonian Physics for Babies General Relativity for Babies Quantum Physics for Babies

Daddy Honk Honk! book
#6
Daddy Honk Honk!
Written and illustrated by Rosalinde Bonnet
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

An arctic fox adopts a baby goose in this heartwarming read-aloud perfect for dads and their little ones When Aput the fox finds an abandoned goose egg, he has no idea what’s in store for him. He doesn’t know anything about babies and he certainly doesn’t know what to do when the gosling hatches and mistakes him for its daddy. So he decides to find the gosling a home. But with each page turn, Aput learns more about caring for a baby and, with a little help from his friends, he discovers what a baby needs most is love.

Mustache Baby book
#7
Mustache Baby
Written by Bridget Heos and illustrated by Joy Ang
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

When Baby Billy is born with a mustache, his family takes it in stride. They are reassured when he nobly saves the day in imaginary-play sessions as a cowboy or cop and his mustache looks good-guy great. But as time passes, their worst fears are confirmed when little Billy’s mustache starts to curl up at the ends in a suspiciously villainous fashion. Sure enough, “Billy’s disreputable mustache led him into a life of dreadful crime.” Plenty of tongue-in-cheek humor and cartoonish illustrations make this the perfect baby-shower gift for a mustachioed father-to-be.

A Book of Babies book
#8
A Book of Babies
Written and illustrated by Il Sung Na
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-6

When the flowers begin to bloom and the world starts turning green, animals everywhere are born . . . including the noisy ducklings! From the creator of A Book of Sleep and Snow Rabbit, Spring Rabbit comes a beautiful book of baby animals. Travel with the curious duck and visit babies around the world on their very first day of life. The Boston Globe calls Il Sung Na’s art “so joyous, so jubilantly colorful, it feels celebratory and poetic even when the story is simple and spare.”

Baby Love book
#9
Baby Love
Written by Angela DiTerlizzi and illustrated by Brooke Boynton Hughes
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-4

This cozy and cuddly picture book celebrates all the most wonderful things about babies and is perfect for reading aloud to little ones. Rosy cheeks. Button nose. Little fingers. Tiny toes. Sweet kiss. Warm hug. Yes, it must be baby love. Anyone who has ever delighted in a baby’s bright smile or darling toes will instantly connect to this adorable picture book with simple text and adorable illustrations. With just the right balance of sweetness and humor, this is a soothing ode to all the wonderful bits and pieces that make up a cuddly, snuggly baby.

Mockingbird Song book
#10
Mockingbird Song
Written and illustrated by Carol Thompson
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-2

In an updated version of the old lullaby, a baby is promised an assortment of presents from its adoring parent.

These Words I Shaped for You book
#11
These Words I Shaped for You
Written by Megan Merchant and illustrated by Basak Agaoglu
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

A loving, lyrical ode to the bond shared between mother and child in the tradition of You Are My I Love You and On the Night You Were Born. Before you were born, you fit into the round fullness of my belly and when I dreamt I sent words like love to keep you safe. And when I first touched your tiny hand to mine, I drew a heart inside your palm for you to hold. There is no love more beautiful, more pure, than the deep-rooted love shared between parent and child. Told with vivid, poetic language, and accompanied by Basak Agaoglu's adorable, child-friendly art, Megan Merchant infuses genuine warmth and compassion in this celebration of a mother's heartfelt affection for her child. Whether it's Mother's day, Valentine's Day, graduation, or just an ordinary day, this is the perfect book to share with the people in our lives we cherish most.

Mama Loves You So book
#12
Mama Loves You So
Written by Terry Pierce and illustrated by Simone Shin
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-2

With lilting lullaby text and lovely illustrations, the New Books for Newborns stories are the perfect first books for new parents to share with their little ones right from the start! Start here. If only raising a child was that easy. It can be difficult in the first year to figure out what’s just right for your baby. But with this new line of books—New Books for Newborns— story time is really that simple. Designed as the first books to start reading with your baby, these just-right stories hit all the right notes with soothing texts, lovely art, and, most importantly, stories meant for sharing any time of the day. Start here. Snuggle up. It’s story time! This book celebrates a mother’s love trumping even majestic mother nature…a mama’s love is higher than a mountain and deeper than any stream.

Baby Sitter book
#13
Baby Sitter
Written by Jess Stockham and illustrated by Jan Lewis
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

The story of a young boy and his babysitter.

Blankies book
#14
Blankies
Written and illustrated by Carol Thompson
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-2

Every baby's blankie or cuddly is different, but they are all just as special! Find out what makes them unique, and why babies love them. With a high emotional content reflecting a child's own life and experiences, this is perfect for sharing during a special quiet time.

The Bunny Book book
#15
The Bunny Book
Written by Patsy Scarry and illustrated by Richard Scarry
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Each member of the rabbit family has a different idea about what the baby should be when he grows up, but he has already decided.

Climb! book
#16
Climb!
Written and illustrated by Carol Thompson
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Small children celebrate the joy of climbing.

Crawl! book
#17
Crawl!
Written and illustrated by Carol Thompson
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Depicts infants exploring their world as they crawl over, under, and through.

Indestructibles: Baby Babble book
#18
Indestructibles: Baby Babble
Written by Amy Pixton and illustrated by Kate Merritt
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-2

Indestructibles are the books built for the way babies read. They are 100 percent baby-proof, chew-proof, rip-proof, and drool-proof. Printed on a unique nontoxic, paperlike material that holds up to anything babies can throw at it—gumming, spilling, dragging across the floor— Indestructibles are the little books that could. They’re indestructible. And if they get dirty, just throw them in the washing machine or dishwasher. Baby Babble is a first vocabulary book, featuring baby at the table: spoon, banana, cheese. Baby at play: blocks, teddy bear. Inside baby’s house: lamp, socks, crib. Outside baby’s window: cloud!

Babies Can Sleep Anywhere book
#19
Babies Can Sleep Anywhere
Written by Lisa Wheeler and illustrated by Carolina Búzio
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

What better way to encourage a little one to sleep than with a soothing rhyme and image after image of sleeping animals! This gentle picture book introduces the sleeping habits of many animals—from puppies to whales—and compares them to the sometimes-unusual habits of human babies. In backpacks, on knees, in cradles or trees, sweet babies can sleep anywhere!

Bounce and Jiggle book
#20
Bounce and Jiggle
Written and illustrated by Sanja Re
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-2

Features five songs and activities that encourage interaction between parent and baby. On board pages.

Touch & Tickle book
#21
Touch & Tickle
Written and illustrated by Sanja Re
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-2

Features special activities to promote feelings of security and confidence and encourage interaction between parent and baby. On board pages.

Elvis Presley's Love Me Tender book
#22
Elvis Presley's Love Me Tender
Written by Elvis Presley and illustrated by Stephanie Graegin
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

The king of rock-and-roll’s #1 hit song “Love Me Tender” is now an endearing picture book Adapted from the unforgettable classic song, Elvis Presley’s Love MeTender is a heartwarming ode to the special bond between children and the adults who love and care for them–be they parents, grandparents, adoptive parents, aunts, uncles, or guardians. With its simple, timeless message, Elvis Presley’s Love Me Tender is destined to join Guess How Much I Love You as a baby shower staple. And the sweet, inclusive illustrations make it a book every family will treasure “all through the years, ’till the end of time.”

Calm and Soothe book
#23
Calm and Soothe
Written and illustrated by Sanja Re
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-2

Features five songs and activities that encourage interaction between parent and baby, and helps to build a sense of security and confidence. On board pages.

Snug book
#24
Snug
Written and illustrated by Carol Thompson
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-2

Encourages positive reading habits and concentration from an early age.

Leo Can Swim book
#25
Leo Can Swim
Written by Anna McQuinn and illustrated by Ruth Hearson
picture book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Leo, Lola’s little brother from Leo Loves Baby Time, is back in a new adventure at the pool. Leo and Daddy go to swim class where they kick, bounce, and dive like little fish. Joining other babies and their caretakers in the pool is a guarantee for unforgettable fun.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected] with your book and list suggestion.