Dough Knights and Dragons

Written by Dee Leone and illustrated by George Ermos

1234567
6.3

In a mythical kingdom, a knight and a dragon cook up a delicious plan to save their friendship! In Dough Knights and Dragons, a curious knight and an amiable dragon meet serendipitously, and instantly bond over their shared love of baking. But the friends are filled with sadness when, according to the law, the two must duel one another. Can the unlikely pair find a way to evade the law, save their friendship, and spread good throughout the land? Kids will devour this scrumptiously clever tale!

Dress Up and Let's Have a Party

Written and illustrated by Remy Charlip

John puts a pot on his head while his mother bakes a cake. The next thing we know, he invites his friends over for a costume party. What will they wear? With each page turn, we wait to see. Vera arrives tangled up in string, a “meatball covered in spaghetti.” And Sarah, as a mountain, inching across the floor under a carpet. First published in 1956, Dress Up and Let’s Have a Party is a pleasing and thought-provoking book about impulse and ingenuity.

Rabbit Pie: The Perfect Recipe for Bedtime

Written and illustrated by Penny Ives

A bedtime story about six adorable rabbits.

Marigold Bakes a Cake

Written and illustrated by Mike Malbrough

For fans of Mo Willems’ Don’t Let the Pigeon… series. Baking the perfect cake is how Marigold spends Mondays. Being messy, noisy, and disruptive in Marigold’s kitchen are how one finch, two pigeons, and three loons spend their Mondays! Marigold the cat loves Mondays, for that is when he bakes cakes! With his favorite recipe in front of him, he rolls up his sleeves and gets down to it. He whips up egg whites . . . Easy. He adds a cup of milk . . . Peasy. Then he sprinkles in just a pinch of . . . of finch?! That’s not right at all! Neither are the smidgeons of pigeons or the spoonsfull of loons. Clearly a chase is in order! Yet all that leads to is a spectacularly messy kitchen. And no cake. With a recipe comprised of equal parts humor and charm, author-illustrator Mike Malbrough has cooked up a scrumptious laugh-out-loud addition to the great tradition of interruption books. Perfect for fans of Mo Willems’ Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus and David Ezra Stein’s Interrupting Chicken.

Baking with Dad

Written and illustrated by Aurora Cacciapuoti

Today we're baking with Dad! We have everything we need, including the most important ingredient - Dad himself! But who are we baking for? And who's going to do the clearing up?

The Cherry Thief

Written and illustrated by Renata Galindo

Chef Armand's cakes are famous for the delicious red cherries that adorn each one. But when the cherries start disappearing, he sets a trap to catch the thief, with unexpected results! What will he do with the culprit, and is there a long-term solution that will make everyone happy? A charming debut picture book filled with very visual humour.

Froggy Bakes a Cake

Written by Jonathan London and illustrated by Frank Remkiewicz

It’s Froggy’s mother’s birthday, and Froggy wants to bake her birthday cake all by himself. He gathers the chocolate, the sugar, the eggs, the flour, and pretty soon, Froggy has all the ingredients he needs to make?a big mess! Jonathan London and Frank Remkiewicz have collaborated on the six previous Froggy books, and they’ve cooked up another winner here, sweetened with generous helpings of Froggy humor and charm.

Bagel in Love

Written by Natasha Wing and illustrated by Helen Dardik

Poor Bagel! He dreams of entering the Cherry Jubilee dance contest . . . but no one wants to be his partner! Can he find a sweet-tart who doesn't think his steps are half-baked? Bagel loved to dance. It made him happier than a birthday cake! And more than anything, he wants a partner who will spin and swirl, tap and twirl with him in the dance contest. But Pretzel sniffs that he doesn't cut the mustard, Croissant thinks his moves are stale, and Doughnut's eyes just glaze over. Can a cute cupcake save the day for our would-be Fred clair? Witty and pun-filled, this picture book really takes the cake.

Angel & Elf: Christmas Cookies

Written and illustrated by Sam Williams

What could be a nicer gift than sparkling, sweet-smelling cookie ornaments? That's what Angel and Elf give to their good friend Christmas Tree to trim her beautiful branches. Now she looks good enough to eat! Unfortunately, when baby snowbear sniffs that delicious scent of nutmeg and cinnamon, he thinks so too. But not only does he take the cookies, he also grabs Christmas Tree's shiny star. Will Angel and Elf find it in time for Christmas?

Pies from Nowhere: How Georgia Gilmore Sustained the Montgomery Bus Boycott

Written by Dee Romito and illustrated by Laura Freeman

This stunning picture book looks into the life of Georgia Gilmore, a hidden figure of history who played a critical role in the civil rights movement and used her passion for baking to help the Montgomery Bus Boycott achieve its goal. Georgia decided to help the best way she knew how. She worked together with a group of women and together they purchased the supplies they needed-bread, lettuce, and chickens. And off they went to cook. The women brought food to the mass meetings that followed at the church. They sold sandwiches. They sold dinners in their neighborhoods. As the boycotters walked and walked, Georgia cooked and cooked. Georgia Gilmore was a cook at the National Lunch Company in Montgomery, Alabama. When the bus boycotts broke out in Montgomery after Rosa Parks was arrested, Georgia knew just what to do. She organized a group of women who cooked and baked to fund-raise for gas and cars to help sustain the boycott. Called the Club from Nowhere, Georgia was the only person who knew who baked and bought the food, and she said the money came from "nowhere" to anyone who asked. When Martin Luther King Jr. was arrested for his role in the boycott, Georgia testified on his behalf, and her home became a meeting place for civil rights leaders. This picture book highlights a hidden figure of the civil rights movement who fueled the bus boycotts and demonstrated that one person can make a real change in her community and beyond. It also includes one of her delicious recipes for kids to try with the help of their parents!

Join Our Kids Book Club
Learn More