At the Boardwalk

Written and illustrated by Kelly Ramsdell Fineman

1234567
5.0

From sunrise to sunset, the attractions of a beach boardwalk include popcorn, taffy, arcade games, and a dazzling amusement park.

A Stone for Sascha

Written and illustrated by Aaron Becker

A girl grieves the loss of her dog in an achingly beautiful wordless epic from the Caldecott Honor-winning creator of Journey. This year's summer vacation will be very different for a young girl and her family without Sascha, the beloved family dog, along for the ride. But a wistful walk along the beach to gather cool, polished stones becomes a brilliant turning point in the girl's grief. There, at the edge of a vast ocean beneath an infinite sky, she uncovers, alongside the reader, a profound and joyous truth. In his first picture book following the conclusion of his best-selling Journey trilogy, Aaron Becker achieves a tremendous feat, connecting the private, personal loss of one child to a cycle spanning millennia -- and delivering a stunningly layered tale that demands to be pored over again and again.

Sandcastle That Lola Built

Written by Megan Maynor and illustrated by Kate Berube

Lola is building her dream sandcastle—one with a tall, tall tower and sea glass that sends signals to mermaids. But the beach is crowded, and soon enough, a boy steps on her castle. Not to worry! Lola recruits him to build a wall. When a toddler with a bulldozer starts digging too close the walls, Lola decides he can be in charge of digging the moat. As the sandcastle grows, so does Lola’s friendly group of helpers. There’s only one thing that Lola doesn’t want near the sandcastle: a wave! Will the new friends be able to salvage the mermaids’ castle when their hard work is washed away?

Sea Star Wishes

Written by Eric Ode and illustrated by Erik Brooks

Selected as a Children's Poet Laureate Monthly Book Pick, Sea Star Wishes captures the varied and colorful world of our beautiful coastal shores. Discover the wonders of the sea and enjoy a day at the beach in playful and imaginative poetry and illustrations. In these coastal poems for kids, children meet sea lions, starfish, jellyfish, and other animals in the ocean, and dream about sandcastles and other beach activities. This fun, lyrical children's poetry collection by award-winning children's singer and songwriter Eric Ode features lively illustrations by Washington State Book Award recipient Erik Brooks.

Day at the Beach

Written and illustrated by Tom Booth

A day at the beach becomes a lesson in sibling bonding for Gideon in this magical picture book. Every summer, Gideon and his younger sister Audrey build a sand castle—together. But this summer, everything changes. Gideon is going to build the most spectacular sandcastle anyone on the beach has ever seen. And he’s going to do it on his own—without any help from his sister. But much to his surprise, Gideon discovers that building together is more fun and that everyone has their own unique talent when it comes to creativity and imagination, even Audrey.

The Uncorker of Ocean Bottles

Written by Michelle Cuevas and illustrated by Erin E. Stead

"The Uncorker of Ocean Bottles has a job of the utmost importance. It is his task to open any bottle found at sea and make sure that the message is delivered. He loves his job, although he always wishes that one of the letters would someday be addressed to him. Then one day he finds a bottle with the most intriguing note inside, and no name attached. As he devotes himself to the mystery, he ends up finding what his heart wanted all along."

If Wendell Had a Walrus

Written by Lori Mortensen and illustrated by Matt Phelan

A boy sets out to find a walrus only to make a new friend in this heartwarming, funny picture book by Lori Mortensen with art byMatt Phelan, creator of the New YorkTimes bestseller Snow White.Wendell is convinced that if he ever found a walrus, the twoof them would be the best of friends—they’d tell tons of jokes, ride bikes, and have the time of their lives. As Wendell begins his search, he soon realizes that walruses aren’t easy to come by. But looking for a walrus turns out to be its own adventure, one with an unexpected result.Matt Phelan’s gentle watercolor art complements Lori Mortensen’s charming story about the joy of finding new friends in this picture book perfect for fans of Strictly NoElephants by Lisa Mantchev and Billy Twitters and His BlueWhale Problem by Mac Barnett and Adam Rex.

The Storm Whale

Written and illustrated by Benji Davies

Every day, in a house by the sea, a little boy watches his father leave for work. One night, a storm washes a small whale onto the beach. The boy discovers the whale is a good listener, and the father discovers the boy is lonely. Together, they return the whale to the sea, and the boy realizes his father can be a good listener, too. Full color.

The Beach Trip

Written by Jacqueline Jules and illustrated by Kim Smith

The Martinez family is headed for a weekend at the beach, along with their friends, but Sofia has packed so many games that she does not have room for clothes.

Waiting for High Tide

Written and illustrated by Nikki McClure

For one young boy, it's a perfect summer day to spend at the beach with his family. He scours the high tide line for treasures, listens to the swizzling sound of barnacles, and practices walking the plank. But mostly he waits for high tide. Then he'll be able to swim and dive off the log raft his family is building. While he waits, sea birds and other creatures mirror the family's behaviors: building and hunting, wading and eating. At long last the tide arrives, and human and animal alike savor the water. Another beautiful ode to life lived in harmony with nature, and by the labor of one's own hands, from an artist of great warmth and clarity.

Join Our Kids Book Club
Learn More