Harold Finds a Voice

Written and illustrated by Courtney Dicmas

1234567
5.0

Harold is an amazing mimic, and can imitate the sound of everything in his home. Tired of repeating the same old noises, he yearns to find out what other voices there are in the big, wide world. But what happens when he suddenly realises that he doesn’t yet have a voice of his own?This fantastic debut by author/illustrator Courtney Dicmas recounts Harold’s hilarious tale. It’s full of colour, humour and invention, and children will love to join in with Harold as he mimics everyday noises.

Bertie Wings It!

Written by Leslie Gorin and illustrated by Brendan Kearney

1234567
5.0

Bertie the birdie knows: he's ready to fly from the nest and into the sky. But whenever he's about to take wing, his fellow feathered friends squawk at him to STOP and follow their advice instead. But not one of these "experts"--the persuasive penguin, the emu, or the kiwi--has ever actually flown! Will Bertie learn to trust his own instincts . . . and soar?

Ponk!

Written and illustrated by Edwina Wyatt

Ponk can't fly, but he lives at the top of a tree because the view is so exciting. The trouble is, when Ponk gets excited, he gets dizzy . . .and tumbles out of the tree. PONK! Even so, he always climbs back up again despite what the neighbours think. Will Ponk find a way to cling to the top, or will he settle for the lower branches?

Marigold Bakes a Cake

Written and illustrated by Mike Malbrough

For fans of Mo Willems’ Don’t Let the Pigeon… series. Baking the perfect cake is how Marigold spends Mondays. Being messy, noisy, and disruptive in Marigold’s kitchen are how one finch, two pigeons, and three loons spend their Mondays! Marigold the cat loves Mondays, for that is when he bakes cakes! With his favorite recipe in front of him, he rolls up his sleeves and gets down to it. He whips up egg whites . . . Easy. He adds a cup of milk . . . Peasy. Then he sprinkles in just a pinch of . . . of finch?! That’s not right at all! Neither are the smidgeons of pigeons or the spoonsfull of loons. Clearly a chase is in order! Yet all that leads to is a spectacularly messy kitchen. And no cake. With a recipe comprised of equal parts humor and charm, author-illustrator Mike Malbrough has cooked up a scrumptious laugh-out-loud addition to the great tradition of interruption books. Perfect for fans of Mo Willems’ Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus and David Ezra Stein’s Interrupting Chicken.

Always Come Home to Me

Written and illustrated by Belle Yang

A moving and uplifting tale of two children and their parents, and the beloved pet doves that help them to understand one another. "Fei, fei — fly, fly, little birds, but always come home to me!" Mei-Mei and Di-Di are head-over-heels in love with their new doves. Like devoted parents, the siblings tenderly nurture Butterfly and Squeaky as they grow from chicks to fledglings to birds. But when Mei-Mei and Di-Di arrive home to find that the doves have disappeared, their young hearts break into a thousand pieces — and they run away, determined to reclaim their beloved birds. Will Mei-Mei and Di-Di return home with the doves before they break their own parents’ hearts?.

Borka

Written and illustrated by John Burningham

Odd appearances don't get in the way of adventure in a jubilant new edition of John Burningham's very first picture book, back by popular demand. Mr. and Mrs. Plumpster are delighted when their six eggs hatch into adorable baby goslings. But one has them worried: Borka, who was born without feathers. The doctor encourages Mrs. Plumpster to knit Borka a fuzzy sweater, but while it helps keep out the cold, it doesn't keep all the other young geese from teasing Borka -- until, come migration day, her siblings fly off without her. What is the tearful goose to do? In a brand-new edition of his debut book for children --awarded a prestigious Kate Greenaway Medal in 1963 -- the incomparable John Burningham turns a sad beginning into a whimsical tale of pluck and serendipity, kindness and kindred spirits, as he celebrates the rare birds among us.

The Message of the Birds

Written and illustrated by Kate Westerlund

A timeless message of how peace can spread from one person to another, ideal for Christmas time, and throughout the year. Long ago a special child was born, and the animals heard a song of blessing and good will for all the creatures of the earth. But now the birds wonder why no one sings the song anymore. The old owl tells them, -People don't listen. Some think the message is not for them.- The birds are determined to bring the message to those who will listen--the children. And so they fly far and wide, each singing the song of joy and peace, passing it on from bird to bird and from child to child. Here is a beautiful story about the powerful role we all play in passing on the timeless message: -Let there be peace. Peace on Earth.-

Elwood Bigfoot

Written by Jill Esbaum

Elwood Bigfoot is big, LOUD . . . and lonely. It's hard for him to make friends especially with the tiny birdies whose chirps and cheerful songs help him feel less alone. But whenever a hopeful Elwood hollers at a birdie to STAY, the scared creature flies away. Will Elwood "ever" find a way to befriend the birdies?"

The Big Bird Spot

Written and illustrated by Matt Sewell

Travel the world to a variety of amazing locations - from jungle to desert to woodland to ocean and see if you can spot the birds that are hiding there. It's harder than you think! The brilliant and highly successful wildlife artist, Matt Sewell has now created his first ever children's book and it's amazing! The locations and birds are brought to life in wonderful detail, and there's so much to see on every page. As well as having fun spotting the birds, you'll also learn about the different species and where they live - then maybe you'll also spot them in real life on your travels! Get twitching, get spotting, have fun!

Who's at the Window?

Written and illustrated by Agnese Baruzzi

Quick—who’s at the window? Could it be a drooling, hungry WEREWOLF? No! Turn the page and you’ll find a nest of adorable baby birds. Nothing is what it first seems in Agnese Baruzzi’s fun novelty book, which has a die-cut windowpane that shows just a glimpse of what lies beyond. Children will love this guessing game that’s full of surprises!

Join Our Kids Book Club
Learn More