Best Kids Books About Camping

15 Kids Books About Camping

Updated Jan. 19, 2019
Camp Rex book
#1
Camp Rex
Written and illustrated by Molly Idle
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

What could be more fun than a camping trip with a good friend? When that friend is T. Rex! It’s important to set a few wilderness safety guidelines first. . . like making sure he stays on the trail. And does not disturb the local wildlife. And knows how to build a safe campfire. But sometimes dinosaurs have a different way of doing things, and that’s why it’s best to be prepared . . . for anything! Following in the extremely large and funny footsteps of Tea Rex, Camp Rex is for anyone who loves to roast a marshmallow or two around the campfire . . . or the whole bag at once!

Maisy Goes Camping book
#2
Maisy Goes Camping
Written and illustrated by Lucy Cousins
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

When Maisy sets off to go camping in the country, it’s only natural that all her friends come along, too. But they soon find that pitching a tent is not an easy thing to do. Even if they do manage to keep the tent up, there’s the matter of fitting them all in — Maisy, Charley, Cyril, Tallulah, and finally, the huge elephant, Eddie. What a squeezy squish-squash! Good night, campers! Uh-oh-what’s that popping sound?

The Grand Expedition book
#3
The Grand Expedition
Written and illustrated by Emma Adbage
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

They have made a very serious decision—they are going on an adventure. All by themselves. Just the two of them. They will bring coffee and blankets and a cozy tent. They will pack a backpack with a flashlight and something to cuddle. And, just in case, a jump rope to use as a lasso. They set up camp in the lee of a small mountain (e.g. their backyard) and get ready for an evening of independence and adventure. But when the pickles are gone and the mosquitoes come out, what’s to be done? The Grand Expedition is the quietly comic story of two kids and their dad and the everyday adventures that make life great.

Hello Kitty Goes to Camp book
#4
Hello Kitty Goes to Camp
Written and illustrated by Sanrio
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-6

It’s summer vacation and Hello Kitty is excited to go to camp for the first time. Mimmy and Hello Kitty pack up all the things they’ll need, like their camping clothes, backpacks, and bathing suits, and head off with their friends for a summer of fun! At camp, Hello Kitty and her friends do so many fun things like swim, bake cookies, read stories, have campfires, and go on adventures. Even though she’s having a great time, Hello Kitty misses home and Mama and Papa. Luckily, Mama and Papa have a wonderful surprise for Hello Kitty that makes her feel right at home.

The Jellybeans and the Big Camp Kickoff book
#5
The Jellybeans and the Big Camp Kickoff
Written by Nate Evans, Laura Numeroff and illustrated by Lynn Munsinger
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-7

Read this sweet New York Times bestselling series from the author of If You Give a Pig a Pancake, If You Give a Mouse a Cookie, If You Give a Mouse a Brownie, and other beloved books. The Jellybeans are off to summer camp to enjoy ghost stories around the campfire, roasting marshmallows, and swimming in the lake. Each girl finds her own favorite activity: Emily goes to the dance studio, Bitsy does arts and crafts, and Anna reads about nature. But Nicole can't find anything that's just right for her. So she decides to start a soccer team and teach her friends her favorite game. Will the Jellybeans be able to win the big match against a neighboring camp? Once again, the girls use their different strengths and talents to work together and have the best summer ever. This third book in the successful New York Times bestselling series shows that, whether readers are girly girls, bookworms, artists, or tomboys, there is a Jellybean for everyone.

The Camping Trip That Changed America book
#6
The Camping Trip That Changed America
Written by Barb Rosenstock and illustrated by Mordecai Gerstein
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-8

Caldecott medalist Mordicai Gerstein captures the majestic redwoods of Yosemite in this little-known but important story from our nation’s history. In 1903, President Theodore Roosevelt joined naturalist John Muir on a trip to Yosemite. Camping by themselves in the uncharted woods, the two men saw sights and held discussions that would ultimately lead to the establishment of our National Parks.

The Night Before Summer Camp book
#7
The Night Before Summer Camp
Written by Natasha Wing and illustrated by Mindy Pierce
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

The first day of summer camp is almost here, and one little camper doesn’t know what to expect. For a while everything is hunkydory . . . until rest time rolls around and he gets a bad case of nervous butterflies. But an unlikely friend appears out of the crowd and reassures him that the best cure for the summertime blues is tons of summertime fun! A sweetly reassuring story, once again told in verse to the meter of Clement Moore’s classic.

Ladybug Girl and Bingo book
#8
Ladybug Girl and Bingo
Written by Jacky Davis and illustrated by David Soman
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

This hardcover picture book in the New York Times bestselling Ladybug Girl series explores the theme of responsibility for a pet and the fun of a first camping trip. Lulu and her dog Bingo the basset hound are best friends. Whenever they play outside, Bingo always stays close by Lulu’s side. When they go camping for the first time, Lulu does her best to be responsible and hold tight to Bingo’s leash. But what happens when Bingo wants to explore the forest on his own and runs off? This is a job for Ladybug Girl! She will find Bingo in time for toasting marshmallows at the campfire. For fans of Fancy Nancy and Toot and Puddle, the Ladybug Girl series honors a love of the outdoors, family, and creativity!

Monster and Mouse Go Camping book
#9
Monster and Mouse Go Camping
Written by Deborah Underwood and illustrated by Jared Chapman
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

It takes a little convincing, but with the promise of food, Monster decides to join Mouse on a camping trip. Things quickly go awry when Mouse takes off to explore, because, well, Monster gets hungry. He starts with just a little snack—the lantern. And the sleeping bags are hard to resist. Then the tent . . . Stranded in the wild with no supplies, what are a monster and a mouse to do? Join these friends on an unforgettable camping trip, perfect for reading snuggled in a sleeping bag or curled on a couch.

Lulu & Pip book
#10
Lulu & Pip
Written by and illustrated by Stephanie Rausser, Jess Brown, Nina Gruener
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Lulu takes her doll Pip on a camping trip, where they make friends with an old donkey, build a tent, eat dessert over a campfire, and fall asleep underneath the stars.

A Campfire Tale book
#11
A Campfire Tale
Written by Sarah Glenn Marsh and illustrated by Ana Gomez
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

"Ever been stuck with a friend who’s totally uncool—and worried that it will rub off on you? Welcome to Camp Wildwood! It’s Dragon’s first day, and his buddy would LIKE to show him a good time. But Dragon doesn’t seem to fit in with the boys and girls. He overturns the boat, ruins the puppet show, and even sets the tent on fire. Then, just as his buddy is about to give up, Dragon comes through in a pinch. This sweet, funny picture book teaches an important lesson about the true meaning of friendship—and in accepting the strengths and weaknesses of others."

Koala Is Not a Bear book
#12
Koala Is Not a Bear
Written by Kristin L. Gray and illustrated by Rachel McAlister
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

It's Koala's first day at camp, and she thinks she's found her place in the Bear Cabin--until know-it-all Kangaroo tells Koala that she is not a bear. Koala lists all the ways in which she resembles her new friend, Grizzly, but Kangaroo isn't buying it. As Koala tries to find her place, alert readers will recognize clues about where Koala belongs.

A Girl's Guide to the Wild book
#13
A Girl's Guide to the Wild
Written by Ruby McConnell and illustrated by Teresa Grasseschi
picture book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

Girls belong outdoors! This handbook covers everything you need to get outside, including ideas for what to do, camping and hiking basics, body stuff in the wilderness, advanced skills like maps, weather, and first aid, as well as recipes, projects, activities, and profiles of inspiring outdoorswomen. Your definitive guide to getting outside--for girls ages 9-12! In addition to basic outdoor skills, this entertaining guidebook includes easy camping recipes, outdoor projects including science experiments and crafts, fun activity suggestions, and inspiring stories of diverse historical and contemporary outdoorswomen (such as Arunima Sinha, an amputee mountain climber and first Indian woman to summit Mount Everest; Juliette Gordon Low, founder of the Girl Scouts; and Libby Riddles, first woman to win the Iditarod). The goal is to improve the quality of girls' outdoor time by increasing participation and independence, making them feel comfortable and safe, and giving them essential skills and knowledge. Charming and approachable, this book will encourage both reluctant campers and budding naturalists to go wild and embrace the outdoors.

Camp Tiger book
#14
Camp Tiger
Written by Susan Choi and illustrated by John Rocco
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-6

A talking tiger approaches a family during their annual end-of-summer camping trip and is befriended by the youngest, a boy who does not feel ready for first grade.

Wordy Birdy Meets Mr. Cougarpants book
#15
Wordy Birdy Meets Mr. Cougarpants
Written by Tammi Sauer and illustrated by Dave Mottram
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Wordy Birdy and her pals are back, in a hilarious new story with a truly ridiculous villain—from beloved author Tammi Sauer. "When Wordy Birdy and her friends go on a camping trip, they get an unexpected visit from Mr. Cougarpants. Can Wordy Birdy talk herself out of a becoming dinner?"

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected] with your book and list suggestion.