Discover

Company

16 Compelling Picture Books About Chickens

Chicken Lily book
#1
Chicken Lily
Written by Lori Mortensen and illustrated by Nina Victor Crittenden
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

"Through puns and poetry, Chicken Lily overcomes her fears and reads a poem onstage at her school poetry jam"--

Chicks Rule book
#2
Chicks Rule
Written by Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen and illustrated by Renee Kurilla
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Nerdy Chick has been waiting all day for the Rocket Club meeting. But when she gets there, she finds a disturbing sign tacked to the door: “NO CHICKS ALLOWED!!!” Puzzled, then baffled, then just plain mad, Nerdy Chick sets out to change the rules. Along the way, she meets other chicks who are just like her: passionate and determined. From Soccer Chick to Science Chick and Wordy Chick to Yoga Chick, these chicks aren’t willing to take “NO” for an answer. They rally together, march to the barn at the center of town, and—when they hear “NO” once again—chart their own path forward (or, rather, up, up, and away!). A celebration of girl power and community action, Chicks Rule! is the playful, diverse, victorious anthem chicks everywhere will love.

Chicken Dance book
#3
Chicken Dance
Written by Tammi Sauer
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Determined to win tickets to an Elvis Poultry concert, hens Marge and Lola enter the Barnyard Talent Show, then, while the ducks who usually win the contest jeer, they test out their abilities.

Duck! book
#4
Duck!
Written by Meg McKinlay and illustrated by Nathaniel Eckstrom
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-9

In this funny nod to Chicken Little, a quiet afternoon on the farm might be the scene of a barnyard disaster waiting to happen. When Duck runs around the farm shouting "DUCK!" to the other animals, they grow exasperated as they haughtily explain to Duck which animal is which. Unfortunately, something is falling from the sky. But perhaps "DUCK!" isn't the best warning. Perhaps what Duck should have said is . . . "RUN!"

A Little Chicken book
#5
A Little Chicken
Written by Tammi Sauer and illustrated by Dan Taylor
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Dot is a small chick who's scared of lots of things: wolves, bears, the occasional lawn ornament. But when an egg rolls out of her mother's nest, Dot must pluck up her courage to save the day--and her new sibling! Perfect for kids who need some encouragement to face the challenging world, this story proves that sometimes a big hero is just a little chicken.

A Chicken Followed Me Home! book
#6
A Chicken Followed Me Home!
Written and illustrated by Robin Page
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-10

Why did the chicken cross the road? To follow you home! Learn all about a not-so-basic bird in this delightful nonfiction picture book. What’s that? A chicken followed you home? Now what do you do? Celebrated author-illustrator Robin Page leads a step-by-step, question-and-answer-style journey through the world of chickens. Along the way you’ll explore different breeds, discover different types of coops, and learn everything there is to know about chicken reproduction and hatching. Gorgeous, playful, and filled with facts, this engaging nonfiction picture book shines new light on a very familiar fowl!

Interrupting Chicken and the Elephant of Surprise book
#7
Interrupting Chicken and the Elephant of Surprise
Written and illustrated by David Ezra Stein
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

It’s homework time for the little red chicken, who has just learned about something every good story should have: an elephant of surprise. Or could it be an element of surprise (as her amused papa explains)? As they dive in to story after story, looking for the part that makes a reader say “Whoa! I didn’t know that was going to happen,” Papa is sure he can convince Chicken he’s right. After all, there are definitely no elephants in “The Ugly Duckling,” “Rapunzel,” or “The Little Mermaid”—or are there? Elephant or element, something unexpected awaits Papa in every story, but a surprise may be in store for the little red chicken as well. Full of the same boisterous charm that made Interrupting Chicken so beloved by readers, this gleeful follow-up is sure to delight fans of stories, surprises, and elephants alike.

Pip & Pup book
#8
Pip & Pup
Written and illustrated by Eugene Yelchin
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

An adorable baby chick and puppy become barnyard friends in this wordless picture book from Newbery Honor author Eugene Yelchin. Across the barnyard, Pip the chick spots a new friend to play with—Pup! But Pup isn't sure he likes how Pip plays—too rough. These two friends will weather the storm though. A bright, fun celebration of spring and friendship! - GODWIN BOOKS -

Chicken Story Time book
#9
Chicken Story Time
Written by Sandy Asher and illustrated by Mark Fearing
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

A wonderfully silly take on library story time that’s perfect for children, chickens, and everyone in between Why did the chicken cross the road? To get to story time at the library, of course! The children like the chicken, the chicken likes the children, and everyone loves story time. So it’s no surprise that more children (and more chickens!) get in on the fun until there are more kids and critters than the librarian knows what to do with. Luckily, she comes up with a creative solution and manages to find little R & R for herself. Fans of Bats in the Library and Library Lion will fall in love and story time will never be the same!

Medio Pollito book
#10
Medio Pollito
Written by Amanda StJohn and illustrated by Sue Todd
picture book
Recommend Ages: 8-9

The story of Medio Pollito, a chicken born with only half of his body, is one of inspiration and purpose. He travels to find adventure, and with the help of the wind, finds his true calling as a weather vane.

Chicks! book
#11
Chicks!
Written by Sandra Horning and illustrated by Jon Goodell
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

When a family brings home chicks from a local farm, they must do everything they can to make sure their feathered friends thrive in their new environment. With the help of their knowledgeable parents, the children provide the baby chicks with food, water, warmth, and proper shelter. Young readers will chirp along happily page after page, learning to read as they watch the fuzzy little chicks grow into downy adult chickens, who will eventually lay eggs of their own!

Interrupting Chicken book
#12
Interrupting Chicken
Written and illustrated by David Ezra Stein
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Little Red Chicken wants Papa to read her a bedtime story, but interrupts him almost as soon as he begins each tale.

The Great Chicken Escape book
#13
The Great Chicken Escape
Written and illustrated by Nikki McClure
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

A wordless picture book in which chickens flee their coop at an Alaskan monastery and four, eluding the nuns, enjoy a day in the forest before returning home to roost. Features cut-paper artwork and a die-cut cover.

Peep and Egg: I'm Not Taking a Bath book
#14
Peep and Egg: I'm Not Taking a Bath
Written and illustrated by Laura Gehl
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-6

"Egg doesn't want to take a bath, until Peep convinces her to"--

Cinders book
#15
Cinders
Written and illustrated by Jan Brett
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Jan Brett sets her Cinderella story in a snowy Russian winter where one magical night, Cinders, the most picked upon hen in the flock, becomes the most loved by Prince Cockerel when she arrives at his ball looking so beautiful that even her bossy sisters don’t recognize her. Jan travelled to Russia and readers will be in awe of the Ice Palace aglow under a deep blue moonlit sky, exquisite ball gowns on the comely pullets, uniforms with gold braids and buttons on the cockerels, striking Russian architecture transformed into ice in the borders, and a very funny flock of chickens who provide an appealing, original look at this snowy Cinderella. Readers will find these dressed up chickens comical as they pour over the extravagant setting, including a “WOW”-inducing double gatefold of chicken couples whirling around the ballroom. A feast for the eyes sure to become a perennial favorite.

Pirate Chicken: All Hens on Deck book
#16
Pirate Chicken: All Hens on Deck
Written by Brain Yanish and illustrated by Jess Pauwels
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Lily is no ordinary chicken. She dreams of a life off the farm, where she can put her grand plans into action. Her wish is granted when pirates recruit her and her fellow chickens and whisks them away to the open seas. Soon, Lily has taken charge and becomes captain of an allchicken crew as the feared chicken pirate Redfoot. But when Lily faces a mutiny, will she change her ways, or be forced to squawk the plank?

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected]!